We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality accomodation in heart of city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed for one night at the end of June 2012 in a one bedroom apartment with a city view in a high floor. Apartments are beautifully decorated with quality furnishings. Spacious apartment, big balcony which is enclosed. Staff helpful, parking on site and of course close to town. You do get the city traffic/pedestrian noise but it is muffled. I really like the apartments at the Quay West, we stayed here a few years ago and the apartments are still well furnished and spacious. We did not dine at the hotel, limited dining options in the cafe which is probably a result of few patrons for dinnner due to the close proximity to restaurants. I would recommend a stay here. We will stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tourleaderAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (606)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

405 - 411 of 606 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2012

My kids and I stayed in a 2 bedroom grand corner suite on the 21st floor for 6 nights. The apartment was large, has a beautiful wrap around balcony and Quay West is right in the heart of the city. The pool area is absolutely gorgeous. The front counter staff were lovely and so helpful. The coffee shop is the best! It's run by the nicest girl!! The faults were: I had booked 2 single beds in second bedroom but when we arrived there was a double bed only(2 unhappy children) but the staff solved the problem by putting an extra bed in the lounge room. And the kitchen is small and the fridge was full of their drinks and chocolates(which can be purchased for a high price). It would be nice if they left the fridge empty, instead of me having to empty it so that we could put our own food and drinks in.

Room Tip: Get a grand corner suite on a high floor as the city is noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mummybear67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Hotel is in very good location. Reception staff was very friendly, efficient and professional.
Room was quite big, very clean but bathroom looked a little bit worn; there were a lot of chipped tiles.
The balcony is very big and can be enjoyed with nicer weather.
The only issue I had was with the heating. It worked for 15 minutes the first night. Asked the reception to fix-it and this was apparently done the following day, however the heating worked only for a couple of hours. In the morning was broken again.
They don't have a in house restaurant, however a very nice bar situated at the first floor serves breakfast, drinks, food. Very good quality and service.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spietros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

The location was ideal, and having an actual apartment instead of just a single room was wonderful -- in fact I was so spoiled that even a very nice hotel in Rotarua did not compare and I wished I had stayed in Auckland longer and just made my Rotarua stay a day-trip. The staff was helpful and informative, the place was immaculate. There was a coffee shop in the hotel, and there were plenty of restaurants in the immediate area. I could not have chosen better! Thank you TripAdvisor!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinBinNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Stayed at The Quay West for 3 nights in there 2bed corner apartment, clean / roomy & what great views, the staff could not have been more helpful, very friendly. We enjoyed our nightly swim in the lovely pool with great views. Very handy to down town Auckland. We would love to stay here again for some more R & R

Room Tip: Higher floor corner suite great for 2 couples 2 bedroom & roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Nice room, very good location in city but service not up to scratch, limited in hotel dining options.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Excellent location, friendly staff, nice big rooms, and a reasonable price. Decent sized kitchen and own laundry were a plus.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbo...
#17 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,911 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#12 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,823 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,366 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#16 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Quay West Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Quay West Auckland

Address: 8 Albert Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Quay West Suites Auckland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#16 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#18 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#21 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £144 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Quay West Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Sebel Quay West Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Quay West Hotel Auckland
Quay West Auckland
The Sebel Quay West Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing