We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly located hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
Ranked #21 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfectly located hotel”
Reviewed 14 January 2013 via mobile

Spent 4 nights with my family in a double corner room overlooking the harbour. The view of the harbour is down a street so its a chanelled view but still good. We were lucky to see a cruiseliner dock in and leave. The rooms are good and spacious as with all Quay West Suites that we have used. The breakfast we had included in our stay was with a small cafe within the hotel. Not much variety so i wudnt suggest it esp if u looking for halaal. Halaal food can be found but u have to be cautious on establishments just stating they are halal. Look for official signage. Across the road is a Food Alley with many types of food stalls. There is a muslim owned store there but the curries are rather sweetishly prepared. The pool is refreshing and includes a hot tub which was relaxing. Wifi is free in lobby only. U have to keep asking reception for codes. I agree with others views that wifi shud be free for the prices we pay for these hotels even if it has data limitation.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naseem786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    233
    74
    19
    13
See reviews for
186
214
22
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We had a spacious one bedroom property overlooking Auckland Harbour with a large balcony, accessed from both bedroom and living areas.

The apartment comprised a well equipped kitchen with all mod cons, a spacious bedroom with built in wardrobes and luxury bed linens and in rom TV. The lounge area had a large dining table and plenty comfy seating to relax on.

The bathroom had shower and separate bath and was immaculate and well presented.

Ideally located for transport, with the station 2 minutes walk away as well as ferries etc. 2 minutes walk to the main shopping districts and plenty restaurants and eateries close by.

Staff were friendly and professional and there was free internet in the foyer.

Excellent property and will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: High floor facing the waterfront is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glennharrold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Just returned from a 10 night stay at Quay West Apartments. Stayed in a Superior 1 bedroom apartment on 15th floor. THE BEST VIEWS!! I'm pretty sure the views are even better on the higher floors but ours was still great for watching the harbour and the cruise liners coming and going every day. The apartments are very spacious, clean, tidy and actually quite large (even with a fully equiped laundry) so it was quite surprising and kind of like being a home away from home. Everything you could need was in the kitchen, not that we cooked at all. Very impressed. The apartments are serviced every day also which is great. Check in was very smooth and all staff were very helpful with anything you required tourist wise. There was a PC in the lobby for guests to use for email, Facebook etc which was handy. The internet charges in the apartments weren't too bad either and straight forward to set up. If you hire a car from the airport, be aware that Quay West charges you NZ$26 per day for parking which is a little steep, but if you need a car, you have to pay it. Hint, take a look around the car park at some of the luxury cars there!!! Impressive. There is a supermarket close by, DFS Galleria, Queen Street and the harbour itself - all in all a very central location. I must admit we only used the room service once and that wasn't too bad a meal. Would highly recommend this hotel as an option for couples and families alike.

Room Tip: The higher you go the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnetic Island, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the Quay West Apartments on 2 separate nights in December 2012. The service was first class. We were welcomed warmly by lovely smiling reception staff. Check in was a breeze. The apartments were lovely and well appointed. The view was great and the proximity to everything was so helpful. On the first stay we were upgraded to a 2 bedroom apartment which was lovely. The second stay we were in the 1 bedroom apartment as we had booked but it was still perfect for our needs. When we asked to have the sofa bed made up for our daughter, housekeeping arrived so fast it was incredible! Even more amazing was the fact that not only were the beds comfortable, but so was the sofa bed! It had a really good mattress and not one of those thin foam ones. The staff are lovely and couldnt be more helpful and so prompt with everything. The cafe was great too with really reasonable prices and the food just lovely. The only drawback is the distance from the Airport. It cost $85 in a taxi to get to the hotel the first time.The taxi driver then told us that you could get a $49 special if you ring and book in advance with one taxi company. Check with the hotel for cheaper options with transfers. Next time we travel to Auckland we will definitely stay here again. We would love to stay a week!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggie_girl26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

The hotel is nicely located in Auckland. We had a very nice suite with a good view of the harbor. The higher your room, the better the view as there are a few buildings between the suites and the water. The staff was very helpful. There is a daily fee for car parking and for internet access. The room was comfortable but the bathroom a bit dated.
It was a good location to relax at the end of the day.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank RelaxingVisit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

(Stayed one night, Superior One Bedroom Apartment)

A night away from home. This was booked a week before we went as it was a last minute decision. The rate is very reasonable for the location and services available. There is a pool, free car park, large rooms with a sofa bed and kitchen. Even laundry room complete with all appliances.

The beds are comfortable and the facilities seemed clean. There is plenty of cutlery and plates, but it might be best to rinse them before use as the glasses we had seemed a little dirty, I wouldn't deduct 'points' for this though. For those looking for a tub, my room didn't have one.

The view is great, especially if you get it looking to the harbour, a friend had a view going out West which wasn't as nice. The overall size of the room is very big and can easily fit four people as we did.

I recommend this place to those who want a night away from home or those visiting, especially if you can get a good rate. Staff are friendly and there appears to have tourist information for those not familiar with Auckland. Located a couple minutes walk from the main transport center Britomart and across the road from the Downtown Shopping Center (formerly Westfield). McDonalds is at Britomart and is 24/7 just in case you're hungry.

Room Tip: A North-pointed apartment provides excellent breezes and a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwipino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#26 of 67 in Auckland
35 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,764 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Stamford Plaza Auckland
#14 of 67 in Auckland
2,027 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Quay West Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Quay West Auckland

Property: The Sebel Quay West Auckland
Address: 8 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Quay West Suites Auckland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#16 Family Hotel in Auckland
#18 Business Hotel in Auckland
#20 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Quay West Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Sebel Quay West Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Quay West Hotel Auckland
Quay West Auckland
The Sebel Quay West Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing