We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
Ranked #21 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Ballarat, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous location”
Reviewed 26 January 2013

My husband and I stayed here in January 2013 whilst attending (as spectators) the Ironman Triathlon held in Auckland. The location could not be faulted. Only one block back from the harbourside and an easy walk to Skytower. The ferry terminus was only a 5 - 7 minute walk and we connected with the airport bus there and the hop-on/hop-off bus to tour the city.
The accommodation was spotlessly clean and the staff were very attentive, friendly & helpful. The hotel is getting just a little bit tired and could use a face lift in the next two or three years. (a couple of cracked tiles in the bathroom, the mirror sliding door to the wardrobe was unstuck etc). I liked having the kitchenette and the laundry in our mini-apartment. The airconditioning worked well, the bed was extremely comfortable and the balcony offered tremendous views. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Better views from higher rooms - our view was restricted due to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GayeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    232
    74
    19
    13
See reviews for
186
213
22
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I have recently stayed at this hotel, as I have on many other occasions and find it to be a brilliant place to stay. The rooms are very large, and they mostly have great views of Auckland Harbour as mine did from a balcony (a great place to relax after a hard day). The rooms include dining room, lounge, and bedroom, with televisions in the lounge and bedroom. The rooms are clean and have great room controlled heaters for the cold winter nights. It is close to almost everything in Auckland, especially the business district. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Get a view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

stayed recently at Quay West Auckland, left Jan 9th after a 2 night stay. We booked the 2 bedroom apartment and although the location of this hotel is great, and the views are great also, the room itself was disappointing. There were handels hanging off sliding doors, tiles loose, cupboard doors not shutting properly, just very very tired. They did offer to move us to another room but as we had one night to go, we put up and left.

also, our kids suffered flea bites all over their body staying in this hotel, a lot. Not any of the other hotels we stayed at on our NZ trip did this, so be AWARE !

the service of the hotel is fine, and firendly, the pool and spa is great also, but the rest somewhat disappointing

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013 via mobile

Quay West combines the services of a hotel and the convenience of an apartment. Our unit had a large balcony overlooking Auckland harbor, a living room, a bedroom, a kitchen, and a laundry room. Located just two blocks from the ferry building, this is a great choice.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joelaustin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013 via mobile

Spent 4 nights with my family in a double corner room overlooking the harbour. The view of the harbour is down a street so its a chanelled view but still good. We were lucky to see a cruiseliner dock in and leave. The rooms are good and spacious as with all Quay West Suites that we have used. The breakfast we had included in our stay was with a small cafe within the hotel. Not much variety so i wudnt suggest it esp if u looking for halaal. Halaal food can be found but u have to be cautious on establishments just stating they are halal. Look for official signage. Across the road is a Food Alley with many types of food stalls. There is a muslim owned store there but the curries are rather sweetishly prepared. The pool is refreshing and includes a hot tub which was relaxing. Wifi is free in lobby only. U have to keep asking reception for codes. I agree with others views that wifi shud be free for the prices we pay for these hotels even if it has data limitation.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naseem786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We had a spacious one bedroom property overlooking Auckland Harbour with a large balcony, accessed from both bedroom and living areas.

The apartment comprised a well equipped kitchen with all mod cons, a spacious bedroom with built in wardrobes and luxury bed linens and in rom TV. The lounge area had a large dining table and plenty comfy seating to relax on.

The bathroom had shower and separate bath and was immaculate and well presented.

Ideally located for transport, with the station 2 minutes walk away as well as ferries etc. 2 minutes walk to the main shopping districts and plenty restaurants and eateries close by.

Staff were friendly and professional and there was free internet in the foyer.

Excellent property and will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: High floor facing the waterfront is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glennharrold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#26 of 67 in Auckland
33 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,752 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland
1,247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Stamford Plaza Auckland
#14 of 67 in Auckland
2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Quay West Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Quay West Auckland

Property: The Sebel Quay West Auckland
Address: 8 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Quay West Suites Auckland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#16 Family Hotel in Auckland
#18 Business Hotel in Auckland
#20 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Quay West Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Sebel Quay West Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Quay West Hotel Auckland
Quay West Auckland
The Sebel Quay West Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing