We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but over priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
Ranked #21 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Ok but over priced”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The one bedroom apartment was small but well equiped. Little was explained at reception and they wanted to charge $70 to make up the couch for us so we did ourselves. Parking was on the street which is again a little disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeDean2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    231
    74
    19
    13
See reviews for
186
212
22
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We were given a one bedroom apartment on the 24th floor so we were well above any noise from the road. We had a good view of the harbour, only obscured by the bank buildings which couldn't be avoided. Our travel agent had provided us with a NZD50 credit to be used in the Up Cafe on the first floor. This was enough to cover breakfast for our 3 night stay and the breakfast wraps and sandwiches were delicious.
The apartment was very well equipped and even had a washing machine, tumble dryer and dish washer. The tea, coffee and milk were all provided in the room charge. The Food Alley across the road from the hotel was a great place for a cheap evening meal with a choice of dishes from all around the world and there is also a bar in there. It closes about 9pm.
Our only complaint would be that the bed was a bit uncomfortable as the mattress had a dip in the middle, otherwise we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Auckland.
If you want to explore the city, the intercity buses are easy to use and are more frequent and cheaper than the Hop On Hop Off Bus.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwyndolen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShaneE174, General Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Hi Gwyndolen,

Thank you for your recent comments on Trip advisor, we will look into the comments regarding the bed. I appreciate the time taken to make a comment about our hotel and I hope you had a safe trip home to the UK.

Kind regards

Shane Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waikato
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Great spacious apartments with everything there that you need. Love the fact you have a kitchenette. Parking is limited downstairs and could be an issue. We stayed mid week so were OK. But I love the fact that there was lots of room, even the bathroom is nicely laid out. Clean and nicely maintained. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwidaisyWaikato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShaneE174, General Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Hi Kiwidaisywaikato,

Thank you for your recent feedback regarding Quay West Suites. We are fortunate to have some of the largest apartments in Auckland which gives our guests the opportunity to spread out and relax. With regards to parking let the reception know as we have several parking options available.

Thank you once again for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Auckland.

Kind regards,

Shane Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I booked a ‘2 bedroom grand corner suite on the high floor’ as friends of ours had booked this before and had a spacious apartment style room with 180 degree views of the harbour/city. However, when we arrived we were given room 704 (on the 7th floor).
I asked why we were on the 7th floor and was told that it was the best room and had great views – this was not the case. We couldn’t leave the doors open due to the traffic noise and the views were blocked by surrounding office buildings. The room was dated, couches ripped and the beds were uncomfortable and lumpy.
I went back down to reception and asked the staff member to put us in the room we originally booked and paid for however she said she had already spoken to the manager and that the high floor rooms (which we had booked) were already full and that they couldn't’t do anything.
The manager did not come out to apologise and we were told that there was nothing that they could do. I asked if they could follow up with the manger and let me know why we didn’t get the room however no-one got back to me.
Parking is expensive ($27.00) and the service is substandard.
I definitely won’t be using this property again. On a positive note, the hotel is in a great location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danlAKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShaneE174, General Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear danlAKl,

I am sorry to hear of your recent experience at the hotel, I will follow up with my team to investigate what has happened this week. I would appreciate if you could call me at your earliest convenience on 09 309 6000 to discuss further.

Thank you for your feedback as it is important that we can meet and ideally exceed our guest expectations.


Kind regards,

Shane Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#28 of 67 in Auckland
19 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Stamford Plaza Auckland
#14 of 67 in Auckland
1,962 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Quay West Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Quay West Auckland

Property: The Sebel Quay West Auckland
Address: 8 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Quay West Suites Auckland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#16 Family Hotel in Auckland
#18 Business Hotel in Auckland
#20 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Quay West Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Sebel Quay West Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Quay West Hotel Auckland
Quay West Auckland
The Sebel Quay West Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing