We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
Ranked #26 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Situated conveniently for ferries and lots of restaurants and bars. Decent rooms. Friendly and helpful check in staff. Cafe on first floor was dead but lots of options nearby. Pool and hot tub were nice.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShaneE174, General Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Stephen T

Thank you for your recent comments on Tripadvisor.

With the hotel situated in a fantastic location the options for restaurants and cafe’s is endless.

Kind regards

Shane Edwards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (622)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

283 - 289 of 622 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed here for one night on March 24, 2014 passing through Auckland. Excellent one bedroom suite. Spacious, with all the amenities you'd need: stove, fridge, dishwasher, laundry (washer/dryer) etc. Comfortable bed, great balcony and well located downtown- walking distance to transportation, sites, shops & restaurants. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were just ending a five week vacation, and thought this was the overall nicest hotel we stayed at. Highly recommended for Auckland!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShaneE174, General Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Jack025,

It always gives me pleasure to hear what our guests have to say about our hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback.

Kind regards,

Shane Edwards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Really enjoyed the Quay West. Was in short walking distance to the viaduct, wynyard quarter, ferries, britomart and shops so great place to be . The accommodation was well priced and the pool and spa were great and never too busy. The fittings are a bit dated but all was comfy and clean. Would definately stay again and recommend to others.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view and a high floor to avoid the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShaneE174, General Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear MagFamily,

Thank you for your recommendation we really appreciate it. We look forward to welcoming you back to Quay West.

Kind regards

Shane Edwards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank ChristineWalker1978
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ShaneE174, General Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Booked to stay here for one night to celebrate our wedding anniversary. On arrival our room had a terrible smell and when we complained a staff member came with air freshener which made no difference. We were then moved to another room which was not clean and had stained bedding.
To top it all off our credit card was charged twice and we were told to wait two days to get our money back!! Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShaneE174, General Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Annie lane,

Thank you for your recent comments on Tripadvisor. I am sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations on this occasion. I have passed your comments on to our Executive Housekeeper to review with her team as we receive many great comments regarding cleanliness. With regards to charging your credit card twice; the second pending amount which would have shown up on your statement is the security deposit we hold which is released by the bank usually after several days.. I am sorry that this was not explained clearly from my team and passed these comments on to my Front Office Manager for follow up.

Once again I would like to take this opportunity to apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay.

Kind regards

Shane Edwards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ShaneE174, General Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Our suite on the fifth floor was very spacious and comfortable. The traffic was a bit noisy in the morning and afternnon peak so would recommend staying on a higher floor. One disappointing aspect was that there was no free wi-fi in the room. Free wi-fi was only available in the foyer by asking for a password at reception. I have generally found that in room wi-fi is free in New Zealand so this arrangement was surprising. I really think in these times hotels should provide at least 1 Gig per day of in room internet free of charge as a standard part of the room charge.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShaneE174, General Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Barry R,

Sorry for the delay in getting back to you. Thank you for comments we appreciate your feedback.

With regards to internet we are currently working through offering a more guest friendly option.

Kind regards,

Shane Edwards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbo...
#19 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
215 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
3,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
AVANI Metropolis Auckland Residences
AVANI Metropolis Auckland Reside...
#29 of 66 in Auckland Central
131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,487 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Quay West Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Quay West Auckland

Address: 8 Albert Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Quay West Suites Auckland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#15 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#18 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#25 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £146 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Quay West Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Sebel Quay West Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Quay West Hotel Auckland
Quay West Auckland
The Sebel Quay West Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing