We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home - Almost”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
Ranked #21 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Pacific Palisades, CA
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home - Almost”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

A high-rise apartment complex about one block from harbor side and the Ferry Building where the Airport Shuttle Bus stops. Friendly and very helpful front desk staff. Spacious lobby with available computer and free wi-fi connection. The small cafe on the mezzanine floor was disappointing with very little to offer. We were in a large one-bedroom with twin beds. The bathroom had separate bathtub and shower. The washer/dryer was in a different room. The large sitting area was adjacent to a completely furnished kitchen and a large balcony with small table and chairs. The view facing Auckland Harbor was lovely.

Room Tip: Room 1105 has a lovely harbor view and is high enough so traffic noise isn't too bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kanda84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShaneE174, General Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Kanda84,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel, it is important to receive feedback from our guests to make improvements. With regards to the Cafe, this is something we are investigating to continue due to the well-equipped apartments.We have found many of our guests choosing to do their catering in their rooms. The location of Quay West is another draw card to experience the many restaurants in the close vicinity.

Kind regards

Shane Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    232
    74
    19
    13
See reviews for
186
213
22
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My husband and I loved the convenience and spaciousness of these immaculately clean apartments with great views and all the trimmings. It allowed us to get over our jet lag in comfort. We had the one-bedroom apartment, which also has a sofa bed in the living room if one of us starts snoring (wink, wink), a fully furnished kitchen, which we made regular use of, plus with the convenience of a dishwasher. In-apartment laundry, a great spacious bath (we never used the tub, just the shower but it was a nice touch), and both the living room and bedroom had sliding doors leading to the spacious deck. You had to go to the lobby to use wi-fi, which was not a problem for us. Staff were courteous and always helpful - getting us in when we arrived an hour before check-in time, booking a prompt early morning cab service to the airport, staffing the much thankful-for coffee shop on the second floor, etc... An impossibly easy two-block walk to the harbour, right to the ferries which we took to Devonport and Waiheke (book early in summer for Waiheke!!) and a grocery store with decent options, including a gluten-free option, is within a 15 minute walk. There's a smaller grocery store a few minutes away, and convenience stores across the street. Definitely stay here!

Room Tip: higher floors for quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShaneE174, General Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear fievel1079,

Thank you for your recent comments on Tripadvisor, it is great to here you enjoyed your time in Auckland.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Shane Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed at the Quay West Apartments in Auckland for 4 nights in March 2014. The apartments are in a top location - just one block back from the harbour's edge and a very easy walk to the central CBD area, and just around the corner from the Viaduct which is great for trendy little cafe's and restaurants.
The apartments are very nicely fitted out with granite bench-tops in the kitchen and bathroom as well as what looked like polyurethane cupboards in both. The fittings and furnishings were all lovely but they're starting to look a little old and the apartments could probably do with refurbishment; however that didn't detract from the overall experience. The place was very clean and the front desk staff, especially Kay, was excellent and went out of her way for us more than once.
When booking we asked for a high floor and a harbour view which they wouldn’t guarantee but we did end up being allocated exactly that - we were on the 22nd floor in suite 2206, which had a direct view of the harbour with a very large balcony. The apartment had a full kitchen and laundry which was great - the only fault with the whole experience was that the bathroom light must have been faulty because it kept on blowing out the power in the bedroom, bathroom and laundry. When I reported it the staff just advised me to reset the fuse and told me where the fuse box was. This worked fine but when it kept on happening it was obvious this was a known issue and one that was not going to be attended to which was unfortunate because it could end up a safety issue.
We didn't eat there or use the pool so cannot comment on those. The apartments I think were a little pricey, but overall it was a great choice in a great location. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Request a room on one of the higher floors as there is much less street noise at this level. Try for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blantyreSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShaneE174, General Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear blantyreSydney,

We are very fortunate to be so close to everything in the CBD; thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Shane Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Situated conveniently for ferries and lots of restaurants and bars. Decent rooms. Friendly and helpful check in staff. Cafe on first floor was dead but lots of options nearby. Pool and hot tub were nice.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShaneE174, General Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Stephen T

Thank you for your recent comments on Tripadvisor.

With the hotel situated in a fantastic location the options for restaurants and cafe’s is endless.

Kind regards

Shane Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed here for one night on March 24, 2014 passing through Auckland. Excellent one bedroom suite. Spacious, with all the amenities you'd need: stove, fridge, dishwasher, laundry (washer/dryer) etc. Comfortable bed, great balcony and well located downtown- walking distance to transportation, sites, shops & restaurants. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were just ending a five week vacation, and thought this was the overall nicest hotel we stayed at. Highly recommended for Auckland!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShaneE174, General Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Jack025,

It always gives me pleasure to hear what our guests have to say about our hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback.

Kind regards,

Shane Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Really enjoyed the Quay West. Was in short walking distance to the viaduct, wynyard quarter, ferries, britomart and shops so great place to be . The accommodation was well priced and the pool and spa were great and never too busy. The fittings are a bit dated but all was comfy and clean. Would definately stay again and recommend to others.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view and a high floor to avoid the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShaneE174, General Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear MagFamily,

Thank you for your recommendation we really appreciate it. We look forward to welcoming you back to Quay West.

Kind regards

Shane Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#26 of 67 in Auckland
33 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,752 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland
1,247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Stamford Plaza Auckland
#14 of 67 in Auckland
2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Quay West Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Quay West Auckland

Property: The Sebel Quay West Auckland
Address: 8 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Quay West Suites Auckland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#16 Family Hotel in Auckland
#18 Business Hotel in Auckland
#20 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Quay West Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Sebel Quay West Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Quay West Hotel Auckland
Quay West Auckland
The Sebel Quay West Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing