We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent City retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
Ranked #18 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Stratford upon Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent City retreat”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We had a one bed apartment with sofa bed, perfect for kids but maybe not for adults , though the bed in the main room was lovely.
The apartment had everything you need and you could easily cook a meal there.
The private balcony was lovely overlooking the harbour.
The pool, Jacuzzi and sauna were a welcome addition after some city walking.,
We would love to stay here again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali-Henrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShawnWAM, Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Ali-Henrik

It is great to know that you stayed in one of amazing one bedroom apartments and had such a lovely stay.
Thank you again and we will welcome you back in the near future

Kind Regards

Shawn Wei
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    224
    74
    17
    11
See reviews for
180
207
21
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We had a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom apartment on the 16th floor which had lovely views of Auckland CBD and of the harbour. They were nice spacious suites with 1 queen size bed and 2 single beds. The kitchen was a good size with basic needs included. The laundry appliances were all good quality. We did have some problems with the electricals but they were very quick to come and replace the toaster and also solve the problem with the power outage. The front desk staff were very helpful and it was handy having the free wi-fi (would be nice to have in the rooms though). Great location near shops, supermarkets and public transport. Great for a family holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjjadelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShawnWAM, Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear cjjadelaide

Thanks for your comments and it is great to receive such a great comment
The in room internet has become free for all our Le Club members and it has also doubled its speed. And the membership is free to join and you will receive lots of great benefits along the way
Thank you again

Kind Regards

Shawn Wei
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
609 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed a few nights on business on the 18th floor and had a good experience. Nice girl at check in was very accommodating as room wasn't available but helped me to find another. 18th floor apartment was very quiet and had great views (as all apartments do) over the harbour. Comfy bed, nice bathroom and kitchenette - sofa bed if needed in the lounge room. Very big apartment which made a comfortable stay. Great location to city and viaduct. Cheaper serviced apartments exist in Auckland but for views, size and convenience this is a good option if your budget extends to mid $250's.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor as city location could be busy lower down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuckinBangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShawnWAM, Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear StuckinBangers

It is great to receive positive feedback and also we offer very competitive price in this particular market
Thank you and hope to see you again

Kind Regards

Shawn Wei
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I've stayed here quite a few times and its been good. The rooms are apartment style and are large! with balconies. Two bedroom apartments are spacious and some have wrap around balconies with a nice view of the harbour. Location is great, with a short walk to Queen Street and the Viaduct. Like most people I think that the rooms are a little outdated and need some upgrading.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kattymae26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShawnWAM, Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear kattymae26

Thanks for your feedback
It is great to know you have enjoyed the prime location of the hotel and its room size and the view
Room upgrade is certainly in our agenda in the near future
Thank you again for the positive comments

Kind Regards

Shawn Wei
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We had a 2 night stay in a 2 bedroom apartment and can't fault this place. The service straight from check in was brilliant. We were lucky enough to have an apartment on the 23rd floor and the views were amazing! The apartment was spacious and well equipped. Everything in the CBD is in walking distance, including the Britomart, harbour/viaduct area and Sky City.
Would well recommend for groups/families especially if you can split the cost a few ways it makes it worth paying the bit extra for the space.
Only thing it was lacking was a decent room service menu and bar/restaurant on site but there are plenty of great places to eat close by.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lucylincoln86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShawnWAM, Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear lucylincoln86

It is fantastic to know that you have really enjoyed your stay and it was wonderful
It is always great to receive positive feedback and I will share this with the team
Thank you again

Kind Regards

Shawn Wei
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Sadly 2 bedroom apartments are hard to find in central Auckland. The staff were very helpful, however it is just old and tired and really needs money spent on it, Wifi kept dropping out and if possible I wont stay there again. The furniture is old fashioned and I am surprised it is an accor member hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShawnWAM, Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Maddie M

Thanks for your feedback
First of all, it is great to know that our staff was being helpful
Secondly, we are talking to our partners in regards to the room upgrade.
Lastly, the hotel has already rolled out the faster wifi in our guests rooms since early July and it is free to all our Le Club member which is free to sign up upon your check in
Once again, thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to see you again

Kind Regards

Shawn Wei
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felton, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Awesome view of the harbor! The location was great; we were walking distance to most everything we wanted to see in Auckland. The staff was helpful and accommodating.

Really, our only complaint is that our room needed a little attention! Our shower was quite moldy, the title around the tub was broken and the floor was dirty! (see photos) The drapes in the bedroom were tattered and needed to be replaced.

For the price, I would have expected things to be in better shape, which is why I only gave it an average rating; however, due to the location and the kitchen, the hotel worked well for us. And again, the staff was helpful.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a harbor view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2catravelbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShawnWAM, Manager at The Sebel Quay West Auckland, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear 2catravelbugs

Thanks for your recent comments
It is great to know that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the staff was being helpful
In regards to room condition, we have identified the room number and I have asked my Housekeeping Manager to fix all of them
Thanks for letting us know and we would like to see you again

Kind Regards

Shawn Wei
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Stamford Plaza Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland
1,829 reviews
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
2,399 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Quay West Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Quay West Auckland

Property: The Sebel Quay West Auckland
Address: 8 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Quay West Suites Auckland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#17 Family Hotel in Auckland
#17 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#19 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Quay West Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sebel Quay West Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Quay West Hotel Auckland
Quay West Auckland
The Sebel Quay West Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing