We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with great views over Auckland Harbour.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
Ranked #21 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with great views over Auckland Harbour.”
Reviewed 11 January 2009

Great hotel with some lovely views over Auckland Harbour. We had opted for a room high up in the hotel which cost a little more but had a lovely view. The suite was like having a home away from home with all the facilities you could want, including a dishwasher (!) and the staff in the hotel were all very friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — Great facilities in the room and a lovely view.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank napurpleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    231
    74
    19
    13
See reviews for
186
212
22
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
RI
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2008

What a nice hotel. We stayed in the one of the apartment like rooms. It had everything! It had a small kitchen area with a fridge, microwave, sink, even a dishwasher. The living room area had a dining room table and a couch, chairs and a tv. We had a huge balcony, that connected the living room and bedroom. We even had a laundry room with washer and dryer right in the room. The bedroom was nice and the bathroom also. It was very quiet also, they give your room key which also activates the elevator so that you cant just roam on any floor. We only stayed 2 nights, but it was great. Auckland is a great city!

  • Liked — the laundry room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank alb76ri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2008

The room was excellent, and the view was terrific (22nd floor, 19th+ is extra).

The hotel staff were very helpful, even when I demanded that the internet charge (that was clearly wrong) was removed from the bill due to a) the connection being slow and unhelpful for one day and b) not working the next.

We ended up having to buy an $8 connection card for the lobby computer which would then not print a simple PDF. I can imagine that I would have been on fire had I been there for business and needed the connection to be, well, functional.

Car parking for $25 is a bit steep, especially as it was self-park in a fairly dingy car park.

Great location for the city.

If they fix the internet connection it would have been a perfect stay.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gr_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2008

We were traveling with the kids (15 &12) and wanted some place that was conveniently located and didn't skimp on the quality. Quay
West Auckland was clean, comfortable, quiet and a great place to relax when we weren't out sightseeing. The pool was lovely and a perfect place to unwind at the end of the day.

Auckland is an easy city to use public transportation and Quay West is located 1 block from both the train and the ferry, with buses just across the street. It made things super simple and great with the kids.

  • Liked — cleanliness & location
  • Disliked — price for internet connection
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tammydownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2008

Stayed here a few times in last year mainly for location and accessibility to business orientated events.

It would appear this complex is for a more permanent resident base as opposed to visiting "hotel' guests which contributed to an overall lack of atmosphere in particular in the Lobby, Reception and Bar areas..there wasn't the pleasent Hotel "hum" of a busier premise.

The room was adequate in size but clearly a little outdated...however it had all we needed. Cleanliness wasn't particularly great (I am fussy about this in foreign places such as hotels and motels etc). Servicing of the room was also poor. car parking was first in first serve so we were lucky to find a park in the actual hotel building (the next option being down the street in a public car parking building which would have been a real hassle).

Noise wise it was loud (even on the top floors) and doors had to be closed at night due to traffic etc. Pool area was ok but looked to be under some sort of renovation.

View from room was lovely out over viaduct harbour.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — General Hotel atmosphere lacking
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TEAM-GEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2008

My husband and I recently stayed at Quay West, Albert St, for three and a half days, after arriving on a cruise ship.

We loved this hotel. The location could not have been more perfect to access the harbor and CBD; and our view of the harbor from the ample balcony was exquisite. The staff stored our luggage until check in and were extremely accommodating in all ways. Especially helpful was a man at the front desk, named Venu. He was extraordinarily informative, friendly and with a very gracious attitude.

The rooms were great. I had arrived from the cruise ill and having a separate bedroom, as well as a nice kitchenette, was perfect. Also, the walk-in clinic and pharmacy immediately next door came in very handy. This hotel was a bit higher in price and standard than we usually book but was worth every penny. We even booked an extra night in order to rest as long as possible before our 10:45PM international flight.

If I ever have the good fortune to visit Auckland again, this is where I will stay.
JAH, Palm Beach Gardens, FL

  • Liked — Separate bedroom, kitchenette, laundry in suite, view, location.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JennyLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2008

These are nice units in downtown Auckland.

They are spacious, clean, well located, and equiped with full kitchen and laundry.

  • Liked — Convenient location, nice well equiped units.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank n219ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Stamford Plaza Auckland
#14 of 67 in Auckland
1,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,451 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,231 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Quay West Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Quay West Auckland

Property: The Sebel Quay West Auckland
Address: 8 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Quay West Suites Auckland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#16 Family Hotel in Auckland
#18 Business Hotel in Auckland
#20 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Quay West Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Sebel Quay West Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Quay West Hotel Auckland
Quay West Auckland
The Sebel Quay West Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing