We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Stamford Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Grand Mercure Auckland(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Grand Windsor(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Internet
M Social Auckland(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Pool
  • Fitness centre
Hotel DeBrett(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
CityLife Auckland(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (631)
Filter reviews
631 results
Traveller rating
265
247
79
27
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
265
247
79
27
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseparate laundrylarge balconygreat locationhigh floorcorner suitethe sofa bedone bedroom apartmentaccor memberlaundry roomalbert stfull kitchensky towergreat apartmentwasher and dryerroad workslonger stayapartment hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
552 - 557 of 631 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2009

I use TripAdvisor frequently to seek out the best hotels, but rarely leave a comment. After my Quay West experience however, I feel compelled to submit a review as our stay has been nothing short of wonderful.

Although it appears to be a big property (30+ floors) you feel as though you're among very few guests due to the personal attention from the staff, in particular Adam on the front desk and Amanda in the restaurant. We really feel at home here - nothing is too much trouble.

When I first checked in with two colleagues, we found that there was only one ethernet port for our three laptops. We called through to Adam who confirmed that he'd have IT on the case first thing in the morning. The following evening, we received a 'courtesy call' from Adam to check that everything was in order and we'd settled in okay. Brilliant.

Amanda is only too happy to help in the restaurant. They do great room service coffees and brekkys, which has been a real blessing when we're locked away in our rooms focused on work.

If I was to criticise anything, it would be the pokey gym, although it does have a great view. Also, the room decor isn't amazing, but I can assure you it's comfortable.

Enjoy your stay here - we will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2009

I stayed here with my wife and two small children as a stopover on the way to Cook islands. The location in the centre of Auckland allowed us to have a quick look around the centre of Auckland - we spent most of the time at the nearby Maritime museum which is well worth a visit.
Although we didn''t get the chance to use many of the facilities in the short time we were there, there was certainly no shortage of luxuries available.
The suite was immaculate and very stylish. The pull out sofa and portacot were all made up ready for us when we arrived, and we weren't charged extra for these, which was a nice surprise.
The view from our window over the harbour was great.
Service at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. The guy behind the desk helped us with bags into the shuttle and helped in booking it.
Minibar was expensive, but no more than any other similar place.
So in summary there was nothing to criticise about this place.
For a stopover the cost of getting from the airport does add to the cost (taxi is about $70-80 each way, shuttle was about $50 there $45 back, but skybus is a cheaper option if you can carry your luggage around 300 - 500m or so at the hotel end).

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cellofellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2009

lovely views...had a good time...decent rooms...great for a night or two...might look for better options next time around..

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2009

My partner and I had to travel to Auckland for a funeral over this past weekend. Arrived at midnight on Friday night and left on Sunday afternoon. Night staff were fairly aloof and were unorganised - room keys didn't work and we had to go back down to reception to get the keys re-swiped.

We had a one bedroom "high floor" - inital impressions was that the apartment and contents were fairly dated. The apartment is also quite narrow. TV's were flat screen and were sufficient, although the TV in the bedroom was barely audible (was pre-programmed to not go up too loud). Room service selection was very limited and was overpriced i.e. $8 for a bowl of fries, and a dinner of butter chicken @ $28. Breakfast was included in our rate however wasn't the best we have had. The internet didn't work in our room either and no one appeared to know how to resolve.

Not bad but not the best - don't know how these guys scored a 5 star Qualmark rating. If your used to "proper" 5 star, then go to the Hilton or the Westin. This was a little dissapointing.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haydensydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2009

We had asked for early check in as we were arriving at 5am from SFO but they denied receiving that and I had made sure my travel agent had asked as well. We actually arrived at 4am and were sitting in the lobby at 5am. We asked for the early check in and were denied.
Yes the suites were large and high up but I didn't expect worn out furniture in the suite.
Staff were a bit aloof and stand offish but gave standard service, nothing extra.
The hotel was certainly not 5 star by a distance but had a great location to the port although in a struggling area!
We didn't eat there at all so we cannot comment on that.
Housekeeping had a lack of detail, missing soap and dirty glasses left on the balcony.
I would return as it was functional as a night stop for entry or exit of NZ

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank croakies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews