We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasteful large rooms, fabulous views.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2010

We spent five nights at Quay West for a sightseeing holiday with family. We stayed in a high floor one bedroom suite. My sister and her children stayed in a 2 bedroom suite on the same floor. Both rooms had spectacular views over Auckland harbour. The suites were perfect for a relaxed family stay - spacious, comfortable and well-presented, with large balconies. Clean, large white bathrooms, rather modest hotel toiletries (no shower cap). We found the laundry and kitchen added value. There is a low key atmosphere to Quay West: it does not have in-your-face branding, the reception area is quite small, no glitzy hotel bars or 'five star' pampering. The hotel has a small gym area, with reasonable equipment and a decent-sized pool area, which kids loved. We ordered room service several times: very generous food servings, good breakfasts, not so lucky with one dinner. The location was great for shopping, strolling the Viaduct and close to really good restaurants. This hotel is perfect for families or others who like a really spacious suite with gorgeous harbour views and a low key atmosphere in a central location. The 2 bedroom suite cost us $250 per night through Hotels.com, which was really amazing value.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RulyTruly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (608)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

523 - 529 of 608 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2010

We had only very limited time in Auckand, and needed to stay somewhere close to the action with enough space for a family with 2 kids.

Our 1 bedroom, high floor suite was perfect - with heaps of room, a nice balcony and a sensational view over Auckland harbour from the bridge to the heads! The hotel is a very short walk to the docks for a harbour cruise and is also very close to Viaduct Harbour and CBD shops.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiger05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2010

We stayed here for one night on Christmas day to relax.... It turned out to be a great choice. The views were enjoyable, and the 2 bedroom apartment we had was spacious and nicely decorated. It definitely accommodated 4 people easily. The staff were helpful as well, promptly delivering our requested extra tea and coffee to us.
No complaints, and would recommend. I only wished we'd packed our togs, the pool looked gorgeous!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarnsdubya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

I stayed at the Quay West for 5 nights over new year. The apartment was adequate, no real complaints, but it is not 5 star. The housekeeping was ok, but I couldnt get over the finger marks of jam etc left by previous guests, which I ended up cleaning off myself! Bathroom is adequate, except for awful hairdryer - the hotel kind with no power. The laundry facilities were great, as was the bed. Towels were average. Room service was excellent, the scrambled eggs are magnificent and huge portions for each meal. No complaints there. Cable TV was good and the large balcony is nice to sit on. I would give this hotel a good rating, and it would be really suitable for families. The staff were great and very friendly. Anyone from overseas planning on visiting Auckland, don't stay for longer than 1-2 days - it is so boring!!!

Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
1  Thank Kramax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

Quay West .....What a joke...... for a 5 star aprtment hotel it is more of a up market Best Western Hotel...... The only good here was the view over the harbour....The rooms were old , tired and for the price very very over priced...... We checked out after one day and went and stayed at the westin for $10 more......

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanAndMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2010

We stayed at th Quay West for four nights in December 2009 and thoroughly enjoyed it. The suits are very clean, spacious (with separate lounge and kitchenette) and are located around 200m from the harbour. Ideal for most of the sights and attractions inthe centre of the city.

Another excellent Trip Advisor recommendation.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inky2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2010

Arrived early, early check was not available. No problem!
We were allowed to relax in the executive lounge with tea and coffee until room was ready.
Staff at check in exceptionally helpful and courteous.
Wonderful large 2 bedroom suite for family of four. Washer and Drier in room very convenient.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TMS1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbo...
#17 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,165 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,935 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,832 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Quay West Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Quay West Auckland

Address: 8 Albert Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Quay West Suites Auckland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#15 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#18 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#21 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £116 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Quay West Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Sebel Quay West Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Quay West Hotel Auckland
Quay West Auckland
The Sebel Quay West Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing