We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings about this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights whilst in Auckland. The apartment itself was very well presented and ideal for a family traveling with children or friends staying together. We stayed in a high-floor corner suite with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. We had an amazing view of the city, from the bridge and harbour, to the tower and city skyline. The swimming pool, spa and gym were also fantastic.

My problem arose when the hotel failed to arrange a babysitter, which I had arranged prior to my arrival. It was only upon checking with the hotel staff on the day I required the babysitter that I discovered that they had not done anything about it. So they had to arrange it at the last minute. I also had to ask for the complimentary bottle of champagne I was to be given as they had also failed to organise this. The manager on duty took care of both of these requests. However there was no follow-up the next day to ensure everything worked out OK even though we saw the manager on atleast two occasions in the lobby the following day.

Lastly, whilst the room was serviced to a very good level, it was not done so until very very late in the day, being 2:30 or 3:30pm. By this time we had gone out for some morning sight seeing and were returning to our room to shower and rest before heading out to dinner in the evening. However we had to work around the cleaners servicing our room and could not fully relax as we would have liked to during this time. This late servicing was a huge inconvenience.

I was left feeling that the staff who work there do not really care about their guests needs.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling_mum035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (608)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

505 - 511 of 608 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2010

The Suites are in a great location, one block from the water in the center if the city. Very comfortable, spacious. Hosted another couple plenty of room

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrankRSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

First impression of our 1br apartment (2305) was of its spotless appearance and roominess (although not spacious). We had a large balcony which enjoyed the morning sun and overlooked Viaduct Bay and the very busy ferry terminal - an attraction in itself. Bedroom had great QS bed with full mirror doors on b-in robe and blockout curtains. Sleeping was something to look forward to as it was exceptionally quiet - although we were opposite the lifts we rarely heard a thing other than an occasional flush of the cistern in the room next door. The nice compact kitchen lacked a few items that we would consider essential, e.g., microwave cookware, oven cookware, dish cloths/towelettes. A full separate laundry lacked nothing. Sofa bed in lounge not very comfortable for sitting - didn't try sleeping - but nothing a strategically placed cushion couldn't fix. The dining room suite chairs were too low for us and we are both nearly 6 footers so a cushion once again did the trick.A couple of minor issues were fixed promptly by contacting reception. All in all we would not think of staying anywhere else after our recent 6 night stay - we only hope its namesake in Sydney at The Rocks is as good as this as we are there over Xmas.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tappy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

I came to Auckland for 3 nights as the starting point of a quick 9 day trip to celebrate my 50th birthday, before flying to the south island to meet up with friends. The hotel was in a very good location being only one block back from the harbour. There is a small Westfield shopping centre across and Queen Street (which everyone raves over and is a waste of time) is also one street over. The suite was a really good size and the kitchen was well stocked with crockery, pots, pans etc. My room was on the 14th floor and I had a harbour view. There was very little noise coming up from the street. The hotel itself was very quite. The only down side was that the bed was like sleeping on a brick and one parent was more interested in talking on their cell phone than supervising their child in the pool who was being a nuisance. The staff were very helpful. If i every came back to the city and had to stay overnight I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sydney85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2010

We arrived on Good Friday and just about everything was closed. Wish the hotel had advised us when we called the day before. We had a very nice suite on the 26th floor facing the harbor with a nice size balcony(could use a lounger), great views and the fridge had a bottle of wine, which was the only way we could have a drink other than in a full service restaurant. All the stores were closed and when we got in it was really too late in the day to go out to one of the islands. We went to the museum but although okay, the one in Wellington was far superior. The sofa bed in this unit was awful but sleeping on it as a sofa was okay as long as you are short. The bedroom and bathroom were very nice but Sydney had us spoiled.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelmystic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Quay West Apartments are located 1 block from Harbour, 1 block from Queen St shops, close to Sky Tower and buses / trains.
Full width balcony to make the most of the great view over Viaduct Harbour.
Good sized lounge/dining room, plenty of room in bedroom, functional kitchen. Shower was cosy (small) - but at least it wasn't over the bath.
Staff were generally good, but breakfast was a la carte (not buffet) and the wait staff were slow.
We were on 23rd floor and there was very little road noise.
Nice indoor pool.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie_PwMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

We stayed overnight with three teens and two adults. Great central location - just three minutes walk to harbour, pubs, bars and fantastic restaurants. Rooms were very clean, loads of room, quiet and comfortable - good views of water and ferries. Huge balcony. Mid winter and very warm. Bathrooms well appointed with lots of hot water. Comfy king, sofa bed and twins beds - all in separate rooms. Practical kitchenette - clean.
Staff very helpful and friendly. We would stay here again and recommend for location, room and value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ottobottodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbo...
#17 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,165 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,935 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,832 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Quay West Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Quay West Auckland

Address: 8 Albert Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Quay West Suites Auckland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#15 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#18 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#21 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £116 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Quay West Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Sebel Quay West Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Quay West Hotel Auckland
Quay West Auckland
The Sebel Quay West Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing