We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely harbour views, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2011

This hotel is in the perfect location for exploring Auckland. Shops, harbourside restaurants and Sky Tower are all within walking distance and the harbour views from our room were spectacular. The room was spacious and well appointed and we appreciated the complimentary bottle of champagne as we were on our honeymoon. Shawn at reception was very helpful, though the other guy working there was not. Only complaint would be that several pubic hairs from the last customers stay were on the bathroom floor, which is disgusting. The room was otherwise very clean.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VicTraveller2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (606)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

500 - 506 of 606 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2011

If I returned to Auckland, I wouldn't stay here again. This hotel was in a great location and the view of the harbour was great. It stopped about there. The 'apartment' was very spacious for a family of four but very dated and even though it was clean it didn't feel clean -furniture was old and a bit smelly. Bed was very uncomfortable and bathrooms basic. We only had 2 nights there and just didn't spend any time in the rooms as they were so grim.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank insearchofpeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2010

Suites-hotel down-town, Albert Street. In Auckland we stayed already in the Hilton, Hyatt, Stamford, etc., this time we chose the Quay West for 4 days. We had a corner suite on the 23rd floor with great harbour view. Very nice furnished, big living room, small kitchen, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, 1 of them with shower, the other with bathtub and shower. Big flat screens in the bedrooms and the livingroom, washing maschine and tumble dryer in a separate small room.
Small pool and gym on the 5th floor.
We enjoyed our stay here. Queenstreet and harbour with restaurants and shopping possibilities are only a few steps away. The restaurant on the 1st floor offers only breakfast. Parking in a car park around the corner, entry by hotel elevator, 26$/day, Internet per cable from the reception is 25/day. Favourable prices at the low seasons.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voyager-liese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights whilst in Auckland. The apartment itself was very well presented and ideal for a family traveling with children or friends staying together. We stayed in a high-floor corner suite with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. We had an amazing view of the city, from the bridge and harbour, to the tower and city skyline. The swimming pool, spa and gym were also fantastic.

My problem arose when the hotel failed to arrange a babysitter, which I had arranged prior to my arrival. It was only upon checking with the hotel staff on the day I required the babysitter that I discovered that they had not done anything about it. So they had to arrange it at the last minute. I also had to ask for the complimentary bottle of champagne I was to be given as they had also failed to organise this. The manager on duty took care of both of these requests. However there was no follow-up the next day to ensure everything worked out OK even though we saw the manager on atleast two occasions in the lobby the following day.

Lastly, whilst the room was serviced to a very good level, it was not done so until very very late in the day, being 2:30 or 3:30pm. By this time we had gone out for some morning sight seeing and were returning to our room to shower and rest before heading out to dinner in the evening. However we had to work around the cleaners servicing our room and could not fully relax as we would have liked to during this time. This late servicing was a huge inconvenience.

I was left feeling that the staff who work there do not really care about their guests needs.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling_mum035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

The Suites are in a great location, one block from the water in the center if the city. Very comfortable, spacious. Hosted another couple plenty of room

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrankRSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

First impression of our 1br apartment (2305) was of its spotless appearance and roominess (although not spacious). We had a large balcony which enjoyed the morning sun and overlooked Viaduct Bay and the very busy ferry terminal - an attraction in itself. Bedroom had great QS bed with full mirror doors on b-in robe and blockout curtains. Sleeping was something to look forward to as it was exceptionally quiet - although we were opposite the lifts we rarely heard a thing other than an occasional flush of the cistern in the room next door. The nice compact kitchen lacked a few items that we would consider essential, e.g., microwave cookware, oven cookware, dish cloths/towelettes. A full separate laundry lacked nothing. Sofa bed in lounge not very comfortable for sitting - didn't try sleeping - but nothing a strategically placed cushion couldn't fix. The dining room suite chairs were too low for us and we are both nearly 6 footers so a cushion once again did the trick.A couple of minor issues were fixed promptly by contacting reception. All in all we would not think of staying anywhere else after our recent 6 night stay - we only hope its namesake in Sydney at The Rocks is as good as this as we are there over Xmas.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tappy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

I came to Auckland for 3 nights as the starting point of a quick 9 day trip to celebrate my 50th birthday, before flying to the south island to meet up with friends. The hotel was in a very good location being only one block back from the harbour. There is a small Westfield shopping centre across and Queen Street (which everyone raves over and is a waste of time) is also one street over. The suite was a really good size and the kitchen was well stocked with crockery, pots, pans etc. My room was on the 14th floor and I had a harbour view. There was very little noise coming up from the street. The hotel itself was very quite. The only down side was that the bed was like sleeping on a brick and one parent was more interested in talking on their cell phone than supervising their child in the pool who was being a nuisance. The staff were very helpful. If i every came back to the city and had to stay overnight I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sydney85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbo...
#17 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,163 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,915 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#11 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,824 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,368 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#15 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Quay West Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Quay West Auckland

Address: 8 Albert Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Quay West Suites Auckland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#16 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#18 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#21 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £138 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Quay West Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Sebel Quay West Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Quay West Hotel Auckland
Quay West Auckland
The Sebel Quay West Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing