We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay, Great Location, Great Sights” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SKYCITY Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Stay, Great Location, Great Sights”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

We stayed here for 2nights when we missed a connecting flight to Hawaii
It was a great welcome - as soon as we arrived we were greeted by the concierge team - of which our son is one even though he wasn't working while we stayed there - thank you Jim for looking after him! and us!.
At the reception desk, they had nothing but smiles, Bridget made us feel very welcome.
Our room was great - Spacious, great view, and clean.
The location of the hotel is perfect for all the sights and activities and the internal access to the Casino is a bonus.

We were quite suprised at the price which we considered very reasonable at $179 for a 5 star hotel.

Will come again!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in the final stages of the sign off process for a full hotel room refurbishment – we are very excited about this and hope to welcome you back in the future to experience our new rooms. We are also pleased to announce that we offer complimentary WIFI access to all hotel guests.

Kind Regards,

Alison Borland I Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,353
    711
    207
    68
    25
See reviews for
219
1,304
136
442
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

SKY CITY TOWER is one of the most awesome destinations to stay in ..Its a fabulous luxury hotel with casinos,restaurants, clubs etc ... tHe place is buzzing with Life and people and is located absouletely int he midst of all action !! Surprisinly for all the amenities, the place is fairly affordable and a great place to rub shoulders with people from different parts of the world...

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bpb_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in the final stages of the sign off process for a full hotel room refurbishment – we are very excited about this and hope to welcome you back in the future to experience our new rooms. We are also pleased to announce that we offer complimentary WIFI access to all hotel guests.

Kind Regards,

Alison Borland I Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

We were able to book a last minute offer, therefore we got a fairly good (but still expensive) price for a ninth floor room with good views of the harbour and Sky Tower! Very spacious with huge bathroom and sitting area.

We didn't eat there so cannot comment on the food, but judging by the menus it was expensive - typical city centre rates.

Check in was pleasant but the concierge we found was a little condescending and sarcastic. We asked if he had a street map of Auckland. His comments went along the lines of - "well what you do want to see? Just follow your nose, you can't go wrong". He did pass us a map eentually all folded up and didn't attempt to show us where the hotel was in relation to the rest of the city (which is normal practice at most hotels). We went over the road to the other Skycity hotel i-site. They are much helpful.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaybly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelteamAuckland, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2011
Dear 'Jaybly'

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the room and bathroom facilities and managed to get a room, last minute.

I have passed on your feedback regarding the service you received from the Concierge team, to the Chief Concierge, Jim Tully, and he is going to use youtr feedback to re-train the team in the hospitality manner in which we should be treating our guests. We certainly do not tolerate sacarism towards our guests, and I thank you for advising me of such behaviour.

I trust that you will enjoy the rest of your time in our beautiful country New Zealand, and we look forward to welcoming you back to SKYCITY Grand Hotel on your next holiday.

Best wishes and thanks again
Caureen McAtee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2011

Location is good with casino accross street along with the Skytower. Breakfast was excellent, Internet $30 NZ daily. Few selections on tv. Had issues on getting room service twice, maid on my floor stated twice my room is not her area, had to call front desk to get rooom serviced. Overall would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Papawillie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelteamAuckland, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2011
Dear 'Papawillie'

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Terrace Buffet Breakfast and pleased to advise that Award Winning Chef Steve Santamorito is now Head Chef of our restaurant, so if you loved our buffet before, its going to be sensational now with lots of new offerings.

We look forward to welcoming you back to SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

Best wishes
Caureen McAtee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2011

The Skycity Grand Hotel is a good 5 star city hotel-ideally located near the shopping areas-with a spectacular view of the Skytower. The size of the Hotel brings along a certain anonymity. Our room was clean and comfortable with a convenient bathroom. The room was quiet. The Skycity Grand Hotel is very good value for your money and can be recommended for short city breaks.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tom11004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelteamAuckland, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2011
Dear Tom

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I am pleased to read that you and your family had a lovely time with us, is certainly was our pleasure looking after you.

We are very proud of the sound proofing of the hotel, that you mentioned, when you are in your room it is hard to believe that you are in the heart of the city and entertainment district due to the quietness.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel in the near future.

Best wishes
Caureen McAtee
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Münster
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2011

The Skycity Hotel is a decent, maybe even good hotel right in the heart of Auckland. It is part of the Skycity complex and right next to the Sky Tower (the tallest building of the southern hemisphere) and a giant casino.
Maybe the "Grand" part of the name made us expect a little more. We found the rooms a little generic and lacking charm and personality. Everything was there, of course, but then it lacked the special something to make it a truly great hotel. Further, we found the walls of the room rather thin: Whenever the family next door had some difference of opinion we would know about it. Our room was facing another hotel; we thus had a direct view into loads of rooms - and they into our room...
The staff was friendly and helpful.
One of the good things about the hotel is that it is right in the middle of Auckland and about every attraction and sight is close by. We did the Skywalk and would have expected some kind of a discount as we stayed in the Skycity Grand Hotel but that was an illusion.
Generally, the Skycity Grand Hotel is a not too bad a choice but do not expect anything out of the very ordinary. The rooms are adequately priced but a lot of the services in the Skycity complex are not.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreatPac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelteamAuckland, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2011
Dear 'Greatpac'

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

On reading your comments, I am pleased to advise that SKYCITY Grand Hotel rooms are planned for a soft refurbishment this year, with lots of layered luxurious fabrics and colour palate.

The first planned step in this is the re-carpeting of the entire hotel, which shall commence 7th August 2011 and complete one month later on 7th of September 2011.

We have chosen a beautiful chocolate brown coloured carpet, with the Grand Hotels distinct filigree motif running through the carpet design, it has a lovely pile, which is soft and luxurious underfoot.

You have made a very good point about offering a discount to other attractions on site, to our hotel guests and one which I am going to investigate further.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Warm regards
Caureen McAtee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

My wife and I were on our mini honey moon and stayed here for 2nights,
It was absolutely amazing as soon as we arrived we were greeted by the concierge team
Then we headed over to the reception desk, as soon as we arrived they had nothing
But smiles, made us feel very welcomed, we got to our room it was amazing we stayed in the executive suite, the cleanliness of the room was spot on apart from the carpet which was a little bit dirty,
We didn't want to leave, the location on the hotel is perfect

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benni2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelteamAuckland, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2011
Dear 'New Plymouth'

Thank you for your lovely feedback on SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

First of all, from all the team at The Grand Hotel, 'Congratulations' on your recent marriage.

I am delighted to hear that the team at the Grand Hotel made your stay a special one on your special occasion, the team gets a thrill in making every guests stay a memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your anniversary, do please let me know when you are coming back to stay, caureen.mcatee@skycity.co.nz

Best wishes
Caureen McAtee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,954 reviews
0.0 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,132 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,085 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Grand Hotel

Property: SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Address: 90 Federal St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#1 Business Hotel in Auckland
#1 Green Hotel in Auckland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#5 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — SKYCITY Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an oasis of luxury in the heart of Auckland’s vibrant city. Beautifully appointed, modern and spacious rooms are just the start of this 5-star experience. Stunning views, award-winning dining, the iconic Sky Tower and the tranquil East Day Spa await you. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your SKYCITY Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky City Hotel
Skycity Grand Auckland
Hotel Skycity Grand
SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing