We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK for central city but barely 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“OK for central city but barely 5 star”
Reviewed 23 July 2011

The hotel is located at 90 Federal Street in central city. It is opposite the Sky Casino and next to the Crown Plaza Hotel. Do not confuse this hotel with the older Sky City Hotel. Access to Queen Street (2 blocks) can be achieved through the Crown Plaza if it is wet. It is an easy downhill walk to the Viaduct Basin (10 min) where there is no shortage of food outlets and large yachts moored to view. One of the most import things about a hotels first impression, I think, is the entrance and the reception from staff. The Grand did not disappoint. Our car was whisked away for safe parking (NZ$30/2 days) and we had a trouble free check in with friendly staff. The room #1625 (NZ$160/night) was OK, nothing special and looked straight into the Crown Plaza. We did have a small sideways water view of the harbour. The room sported a TV, fridge (full of drink and snacks) a King sized bed, a double settee, coffee table and a desk. The bed was soft, sheets, not a duvet and 4 pillows. The bathroom was roomy and fresh with bath, separate shower and a toilet. No bath robes and no expel air. The Air conditioning was quiet and effective. The room was very quiet. As you will see from our travel bio we have stayed at many 5 star hotels. This room just and only just makes 5 star in our view. If you look closely at the room there are signs of aging and lack of maintanence especially in the bathroom around the shower door. The reason for the ‘just’ is the carpet, it was badly stained and the lack of little finishes like bath robes, real paintings on the wall (not very basic photographs) and NO FREE WATER! The tap water was OK. The internet cost NZ$15 for 10 minutes. Each local phone call was NZ$1.25. We did not eat at the Restaurants (3) but we have been told the Peter Gordon is very good. There are lots of eating places close by. Overall....well located, handy to the casino if that’s your scene, close to Queen Street, great staff and apart from the carpet, new, clean and fresh. Oh...forgot... a free daily newspaper which was nice.

Room Tip: Booked through Agoda.com Get what you pay for I quess!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiwiglobetroter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in the final stages of the sign off process for a full hotel room refurbishment – we are very excited about this and hope to welcome you back in the future to experience our new rooms. We are also pleased to announce that we offer complimentary WIFI access to all hotel guests.

Kind Regards,

Alison Borland I Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,389
    731
    212
    70
    27
See reviews for
226
1,341
139
454
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

The room was absolutely first class. There is a tremendous attention to detail. This hotel met my expectations, which were high.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tee-Moe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelteamAuckland, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2011
Dear Tee-Moe

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on SKYCITY Grand Hotel, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay here and pleased to advise that on the 7th of August until the 7th of September we are re-carpeting all of the hotel rooms in a rich chocolate filigree carpet which is lovely underfoot.

Your comments have been passed to the Grand Hotel Team, and we look forward to your return in the future.

Warm regards
Caureen McAtee
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We stayed for 3 nights - Thursday - Sunday with the first bit business the weekend leisure. Very warm welcome from the doorman as he took the car off to valet parking and arranged to get the bags up to the room, and the check in was a breeze. Some really nice touches that showed the service was a cut above the normal.
Room was very nice, good state of repair. Bit smaller than I'm used to, but not cramped. We stayed in a harbout view room and it had a really good view, no peeping from a corner stood on your toes. Shower door seemd to open the wrong way leaving you playing a bit of tetris to get in and out, but the worst thing was the cool frosted glass panel that separated the bathroom from the bedroom meant that if you partner nipped to the loo in the night, or was first up in teh mornign you got woken up by a face of flood lights. This could be partially managed by sliding the wardrobe door over the window, but that left the clothes exposed and the room looking a bit messy.
Check out was a farce. First off the lift was playing up, so we went down from teh 17th, stopping at almost every floor to 7, then it cancelled and went back to 21. Repeat twice until we jump out and see the now very full lift with our fellow travellers heading back up again. So we use the stairs through the convention centre, to get to the lobby, but locked behind a glass door. Cue bangining on door and shouting then a wait whilst they find the keys. Concierge is very apologetic. At check out girl asks how our stay was, we say great up to last 20 minutes at which point she says 'yes, went wrong last night'. So why at 10:30 the next morning is it still doing that - why no note in it to say het out at 7 and take another lift, or take the lift out of service. It wasn't the fact the lift was on the fritz, it was the lack of response, not what you expect from the top end hotel. So then, now stressed and not best pleased then we get to the concierge where our luggage has beaten us down by a long time, and our car. Ok, it's busy. Peak time. But first I get given someone else's keys. Then told to go outside as my keys are out there. Fine, so outside I go and am asked which one is mine. I have a choice? Do I go for the merc or the BMW. Nah, stick with my 4x4. But wait, what about the luggage. First rack wheeled out to be loaded into the car isn't mine. So now I've had a choice of 6 cars and 3 luggage racks, all with no checks as to what's really mine.
So after a lovely stay, I'd been nice and relaxed and then ended up driving off up the street as stressed as when I arrived. So such a shame that it all went pear shaped towards the end.

Sleep quality onlyy 3* as the trolley with the papers at 4am was quite noisy. We stayed in 1701 which didn't have neighbours, but did have housekeeping next door. Not too bad on a nightime though, and we are early risers so good for us. Some foot fall noise from the room above who may have had a kid running in there, but way better than many places, especially the Heritage City on Queen Street where we had 2 totally sleepless nights.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelteamAuckland, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2011
Dear Duncan74

Thank you for taking the time to write a reponse on SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

Thank you for your lovely feedback on our doorman Kevin, and pleased you enjoyed your room, and appreciate your feedback on the frosted glass in the bathroom, very first time that this has been highlighted and I am looking at some options to make change here, so thank you.

We did experience technical difficulties with one of the hotel lifts during your time here, and we had a contractor on site for a number of hours working continuously through the night to rectify the situation.

Unfortunately there was no quick fix to the specific problem and the lift required some detailed work to ensure that the lift was safe for our guests, happy to report that it was operational that afternoon, but appreciate that this did not help you at the time.

I have taken onboard the situation regarding your valet parking experience and addressing this with the team direct, I do sincerly apologise for this happening, and we have implemented steps to ensure that this does not happen in the future.

Duncan74, would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your stay further direct, and restore your faith in SKYCITY Grand Hotel, and can be contacted on caureen.mcatee@skycity.co.nz

Warm regards and do hope to hear from you
Caureen McAtee
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

My friend and I decided to have a shopping weekend in Auckland to celebrate our birthdays. We travelled from Sydney, Australia and arrived in Auckland around lunchtime, getting to The Grand Hotel around 1pm. We had noticed online that check in time was 3pm, but decided to try our luck checking in early - we were so pleased to be given a gorgeous harbour view room on the top floor right then and there! The concierge team and doorman were just lovely - really welcoming!, and our Receptionist (a young boy - Troy?) was just AMAZING during our ENTIRE stay (Gotta love that consistant high level of service!) - The hotel is under-going some construction in the lobby (we were told in preperation for The Rugby World Cup) and I strongly believe this will be THE hotel to stay at once it's all complete!

Our room was terrific! Spacious, modern, luxurious and if you get the chance to upgrade to a Harbour view, do it - the views of the Harbour Bridge and Sky City Tower was breathtaking. I must admit there were a few little stains in a few places of the cream coloured carpet, but when we mentioned this to the Front Desk, they apologised and explained that in just a few weeks the entire hotel is being re-carpeted and re-furbished... they sound like they're onto it!

We decided to treat ourselves to a few dinners during our stay and as soon as we exited the lift found the delicious Dine by Peter Gordon restaurant - I am not kidding, seriously one of the BEST meals I have ever had!!!! I would have gone back every night, however it was little pricey - but it's that type of place, super fine dining. Over the next few days, we had lunch in multiple cafes and restaurants just a short stroll from the Hotel (must visit the Viaduct) and they were okay, although we both found our favourite meals were actually at places within the Sky City complex, just opposite the Hotel entry - Bellota (a spanish tapa bar by Peter Gordon - the same chef with the super fine dining place in the Hotel lobby - and Orbit revolving restaurant up the top of the Sky Tower were the highlights and we will definately be returning to them and DEFINATELY The SkyCity Grand Hotel!

I'm not usually one to write reviews, although as I was just flicking through some of the latest for The Grand I have to admit I'm wondering whether these people were staying at the same place? We found the Grand Hotel to be HEAVEN IN AUCKLAND - and no doubt these people have nothing better to do than nit-pick and over-criticise. Through travelling with work, I have stayed in many inner city hotels in Auckland and we would both recommend this hotel as THE BEST HOTEL IN AUCKLAND and with its current renovations, refurbishments and new restaurants being built right outside the hotel - it can only get better! Have already booked in for November, Can't wait (going to try the private East Spa next time as we sadly ran out of time and overheard multiple guests in the lifts raving about it!)


The Lobby Bar was GORGEOUS! You feel like a real star, lounging in big comfy chairs with candles everywhere, a live pianist, Moet being poured left right and centre and perfectly attentive staff! (All this before even getting to our room!)

Room Tip: Try to book harbour view - stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DarlingAJ89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelteamAuckland, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2011
Dear DarlingAJ

Thank you very much for writing a review on SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I have passed on your email to the team as its lovely to receive recognition for the hardwork and attention to detail our team strive to deliver every day for our guests to create an experience and not just a stay.

Tony the young gentleman who you referred to, is one of our Grand Stars and he is very passionate about customer service and it shows with everyone he meets, he passed on his thanks for the recognition.

As you mentioned, we do have some construction at the hotel, which I am pleased to report only has a few more weeks to go before the Grand Unveiling of The Grill by Sean Connelly which is a superb steak and seafood restaurant designed by celebrity chef Sean Connelly.

The Lobby Bar as you described is a fabulous champagne bar, and if you are coming to stay in the next month we have a delicious offering of Moet Vintage Champagne by the glass for only $15 plus a complimentary Moet Charm, and the chance to go into the draw for a pamper, champers weekend with VIP Moet Champagne Bar entry at Aucklands Fashion Week, Tickets to a Fashion Show, a feww nights accommodation in a suite, limousine transfers, bottle of moet etc et - all the bells and whistles, might just be the perfect excuse to return to Auckland.

Really pleased to know that your weekend was a success, and please drop me a note when returning would love to show you the new restaurants and bars.

Until then

Warm regards
Caureen McAtee
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Upon entering the room, it just didn't have the WOW factor. The room seemed tired and small. The TV didn't turn off, the toilet wouldn't stop running and a light was hanging down out of its socket in the ceiling. Saying that though, we were on the 21st floor and the view was stunning. The reception and concierge staff were excellent. We ate the restaurant, Dine, which was lovely.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelteamAuckland, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2011
Dear JamNewZealand

Thank you for writing a review on SKYCITY Grand Hotel and the lovely feedback regarding the team at SKYCITY Grand Hotel and Dine by Peter Gordon, I have passed your feedback to the team.

Very disappointed to learn of the maintainance issues you experienced in your room, this is definately not the standard we achieve every day and I will investigate this further with the team to ensure that this does not happen in the future.

Thank you again for taking the time to place feedback.

Warm regards
Caureen McAtee
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

This hotel is situated just outside the center of Auckland, across the road from the Sky Tower. Very nice facilities, very well appointed, overall a nice place to stay. Even though there was [plenty going on outside, there was no noise inside the room and the room was very comfortable. We arrived at 7AM and did not expect a room to be ready for us, but there was, so we went straight into our room for a quick rest before hitting the sights. Staff were very friendly and the room and hotel very clean. We had tea in Rebo and in the revolving restaurant in the Sky Tower and both meals were excellent. If you have a meal in the revolving restaurant, you dont have to pay to use the observation deck which costs $25 per person, so if you want a feed and you intend to go up to the deck, then this is a great offer. Would stay here again in a heartbeat. The only complaint I have is the internet access is too expensive.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelteamAuckland, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2011
Dear Radarz

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, we are very proud of our location being right in the centre of town next to all the action. Our rooms are soundproofed due to the nature of our location to ensure our guests receive a peaceful nights sleep after a night on the town, or if they have an early morning meeting to go to.

I am very pleased to advise that we have some very exciting news about our internet access in the hotel, which I know will be a delight to all that come and stay at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, we have listened to our guests and understand that pricing in New Zealand is a frustration, so we have been working on a solution to combat this.... details to come very shortly.

We have in the interim, offering guests in the lobby free wi-fi, or free use of the generation 2 I-pads around the hotel and we have just completed refurbishment of our beautiful business centre, where guests can also access free internet.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Warm regards
Caureen McAtee
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We stayed here a year ago and it was fantastic! This year... even better!!

There was a new doorman but the young man at the concierge desk remembered us and we had a good chat before we went up to our room. WOW! The view never gets old.

The carpets had a few marks but when I spoke to the front desk the mentioned that in just a few weeks they are changing all the carpets. I guess they actually listen to the feedback from guests. There was also a new restaurant being built (three actually but one right in the lobby). We heard a bit of the noise while enjoying our drinks in the lobby but it was still one of the most beautiful bars we have seen in the city with great piano music and twinkling candles everywhere.

After a very relaxing sleep in we checked out at noon. The desk sent someone right away for our bags and had our car waiting as we requested. We grabbed a coffee in the lobby and were off.

We would Just like to say that the staff at the Grand were some of the best we have ever dealt with. We thought that nothing could top our last trip here, which is why we came back, but they proved us wrong. Thank you to all of them.

We could get used to this treatment!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetastravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelteamAuckland, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2011
Dear Sweetstra

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

Lovely to hear that you enjoy returning to SKYCITY Grand Hotel, I am sure you see a lot of positive improvements to ensure that we continually evolve our product to ensure our guests experience is always a memorable one.

Yes, please to advise on 7th of August we shall begin our project of changing all the carpets in the Grand Hotel, to a lovely chocolate brown filigree carpet which is lovely and luxurious underfoot. The project will complete on 7th of September, however the hotel will operate as normal through the project as there is no noise involved as everything is worked on offsite, and then just installed on site.

We also have a few other upgrades happening in the rooms and corridors at the same time to ensure our rooms are 100% perfect condition.

We are very proud of our champagne Lobby Bar, and the harpist and piano players and ambiance, I honestly think we have the best job in the world, to work everyday in this lovely environment.

But as you mentioned, it truly is the people that make the experience, we understand that there is a lot of choice for customers these days, and the only difference at the end of the day, is our people that create the moments that you remember.

We would like to thank you for the recognition of the team as they always go the extra mile to make every encounter with a guest, a special one, and from your feedback, they succeeded that with you.

Please drop me an email on your return visit, so that I might thank you in person. and show you some of the developments that are about to be completed.(caureen.mcatee@skycity.co.nz)

Until then

Warm regards
Caureen McAtee
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,132 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,200 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Grand Hotel

Property: SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Address: 90 Federal St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Auckland
#1 Business Hotel in Auckland
#2 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#5 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — SKYCITY Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an oasis of luxury in the heart of Auckland’s vibrant city. Beautifully appointed, modern and spacious rooms are just the start of this 5-star experience. Stunning views, award-winning dining, the iconic Sky Tower and the tranquil East Day Spa await you. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your SKYCITY Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky City Hotel
Skycity Grand Auckland
Hotel Skycity Grand
SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing