We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel in a very good location and well priced.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 21 August 2011

This hotel is centrally located. Only 1 block from the main street and centre of Auckland. Service from all staff was friendly, efficient and faultless. The rooms are modern and stylish with a good view of the Auckland Harbour bridge (at a bit of a distance) and some of Auckland Harbour. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rickey_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelteamAuckland, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2011

Dear Rickey_T

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

Delighted to hear that you had a lovely stay with us and that our team were accommodating and that you enjoyed your room.

Thank you for your lovely feedback it has been passed on to the team.

Warm regards
Caureen McAtee
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,567)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,129 - 2,135 of 2,567 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2011

Room was exceptionally tidy and well presented.

The staff greeted us with much enthusiasm, they were professional and well presented. Some of the best hotel staff I've come accross in some time.

The only improvement I would suggest is for the air conditioning unit - would be nice if it could go a bit warmer.

I'd reccomend this hotel to any- and everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilze B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelteamAuckland, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2011

Dear IIze B

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable time at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, the team as you mentioned are very welcoming and professional and do care that all of our guests have a wonderful experience when they stay with us. I have passed your lovely comments on to them.

I have taken onboard your comments regarding the air conditioning unit and working with our maintainance team to go 2 degrees higher than before, thank for your feedback on this.

Look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards
Caureen McAtee
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

I'll start with a nice comment first.. the view was great! looked out over the harbour bridge and got a good view of the sky tower.. the room tho was not good. Stained carpet and stained lampshades.. needed a refurbishment quite badly! The door to step into the shower opened the wrong way round and made it really awkward.
I think with a little refurbishment the place could be a lot better but not worth the money I paid for the room.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tlady25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelteamAuckland, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2011

Dear Tlady25

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased to report that we have just finished the carpet project , and in every single one of our rooms there is a new chocolate brown filigree carpet which is lovely underfoot.

We also have planned a soft refurbishment of the hotel rooms with lots of chocolate browns, caramel colours and lots of layers of luxury.

We have also just completed the refurbishment of the reception, lobby bar, and are about to open The Grill restaurant on the 6th of September which is run by Head Celebrity Chef Sean Connelly.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Warm regards
Caureen McAtee
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

The service was world class. From the time we hoped out of the car and the time we got back in, we were met with friendly smiles and gracious helpfulness. The staff were well-dressed and very proffesional, the check in and out a distant breeze.
The lobby was warm, welcoming and well set out. Beautiful art lingered throughout the hotel. The rooms were spotless, the beds soft and well made. The bathroom high class and well expected for the prices paid. The movies on the plasma tv's were availble for free and were another home comfort. The room service was quick and easy and the menu was well thought out.
The location was superb. Right next to the Skytower a short walk to shops, restraunts, cafes, movies and Queen Street. Well placed in a bustling and friendly city.
The pool and gym were great. The lap pool was great for fitness swimming with a terrific view of the Skytower and the sauna and spa were available without the massage - A 5 star pleasure unlike the Westin and other Auckland hotels.
The views were sensational. The waterfront rooms were beautiful and the views of Auckland were amazing at night and welcoming at day.
Breakfast and Dinner were both phenominal. The restraunt down by the lobby was expensive but well worth it. One of the best restraunts in Auckland, Dine by Peter Gorden a prominent chef who creates mouthwatering dishes. If you can't afford the prices of the dishes at the restraunt try next door at Sky City or be adventurous and linger off towards the Viaduct, Parnell or Newmarket. The bus services are quick and easy and all these places offer great meals to remember.
I cant wait to go back to a place where great experiences are the norm. Simply Fabulous
Tips: Dont forget to visit the Skycity restraunts especially if your visiting with a family.
Take a taxi to the Viaduct for a night out.
The spa at the Langham is well recommended. Yet to have tried the Eastern Spa at this Hotel.
Remember the city is'nt all of Auckland! its harldy 10% of it. Most Aucklanders do not like the City Centre because of the crowds and unfortuante foriegn feel. This idea telling us that the rest of Auckland must live well and truely up and past it's name.
One of the best cities in the World!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank XanderNZ267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelteamAuckland, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2011

Dear Saifiti

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I am over the moon that you had such a sensational stay at the hotel, as you mentioned we do have the best views of any hotel in the city as we have 21 floors. Peter Gordons restaurant is fabulous and we have a new restaurant named The Grill by celebrity chef Sean Connelly opening up on 6th September.

East Day Spa at the hotel is a must do on your next visit, its beautiful, peaceful and relaxing, Ina and the team work wonders, it really is a haven of tranquility in the middle of the CBD.

Thank you again for your feedback, it has been passed to the team.

Warm regards
Caureen McAtee
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

The sky tower grand is a really nice stay for the price. I undestand there might be another hotel under the Sky City name that is the casino part of the hotel chain. Where this might be seem like a cheaper substitute, the two locations are really like comparing apples and oranges.

The Grand hotel is a luxurious older sister to the casino sky city. If you want to gamble, go to the casino; but if you want to stay in a plush pad in the heart of metro Auckland, this is for you.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuddhaInHeels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelteamAuckland, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2011

Dear Zenfinder

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

Your lovely feedback has been passed to the team, and I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay.

Since your stay we have completely refurbished all the carpets in every single on of our rooms, refurbished the pool, spa, sauna, reception, lobby bar, level 7 deck and business centre, so now its better than before.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards
Caureen McAtee
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

The staff at the Sky City Grand Hotel knows the secret to running a good hotel...people buy people"

The minute you step out your car you are treated like a VIP and that treatment goes all the way through your stay at the hotel.

The staff are very attentive and nothing is a bother. The rooms are fantastic and the all the restaurants and bars are very friendly and welcoming .

Try it you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelteamAuckland, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2011

Dear Denis M

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor about your stay at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I agree with your comment that we are the best hotel in Auckland if not New Zealand as we taken enormous pride in ensuring that all of our guests have a wonderful experience when staying with us.

I am delighted that your stay was a memorable one, and your lovely feedback has been passed onto the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards
Caureen McAtee
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We had an amazing weekend away at the Grand. The staff were great. The rooms and the view was awesome looking out toward the skytower and the harbour bridge. We were so close to town and bars and restaurants. We will definately be back!

Room Tip: The rooms on the higher levels looking toward the harbout have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelteamAuckland, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2011

Dear Rachel T

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on SKYCITY Grand Hotel, at tripadvisor.

Lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff looked after you well.

I agree that we do boast the best harbour views having 21 floors with no buildings in front of us, and that our guests get to see Auckland at its best.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Warm regards
Caureen McAtee
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,918 reviews
0.0 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#13 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,963 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,369 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,813 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Grand Hotel

Address: 90 Federal St, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#1 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#2 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#3 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £128 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SKYCITY Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an oasis of luxury in the heart of Auckland’s vibrant city. Beautifully appointed, modern and spacious rooms are just the start of this 5-star experience. Stunning views, award-winning dining, the iconic Sky Tower and the tranquil East Day Spa await you. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your SKYCITY Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky City Hotel
Skycity Grand Auckland
Hotel Skycity Grand
SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing