We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 15 January 2012

By location and room quality, compared to its price this is a great value location. Particularly, travelling with family, you may appreciate spacious, connecting rooms and great breakfast with open air option. The lobby lacks character a bit, but service is fine, just the middle of the city.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SzeZso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in the final stages of the sign off process for a full hotel room refurbishment – we are very excited about this and hope to welcome you back in the future to experience our new rooms.

Kind Regards,

Alison Borland I Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,392
    731
    212
    70
    27
See reviews for
226
1,344
139
454
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Whilst the hotel has the pretentious lobby, and the celebrity chef restaurant, there isn't much more to elevate it to 5 star status.
On check in, I had to ask about parking and ask where the lifts were and we were not offered help with bags (not that we needed it), but I ,would expect a higher level of service than was offered.
The room was a good size and comfortable enough. However, the bathroom sink did not have a plug and there was a cotton bud (not sure if used or not), on the side of the bath, left by the previous occupant! Definitely not what I would expect from a hotel claiming to be 5 star.
Won' t be rushing back or passing on a recommendation.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V4nessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear V4nessa

Thank you taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for your feedback allowing us the opportunity to identify areas which we can improve on, please be assured that our Housekeeping Executive and Front Office Manager have received your comments to address with the team.

We have some very exciting developments taking place over the coming months. We now offer free unlimited Wi-Fi and have 3 new eateries opening and a full rooms refurbishment taking place. We are really looking forward to this and I am certain you will be impressed with the new look.

We hope to welcome you back to The Grand, please contact me directly before your arrival and I am certain we will meet if not exceed your expectations.

Kind Regards

Alison Borland l Guest Relations Manager l SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.Borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

This was our first stay at The SkyCity Grand Hotel for a weekend break. We were situated on the 17th floor with a view of the Crowne Plaza Hotel over the road which wasn't a problem. The room was clean and contemporary in decoration. No complaints there.

We usually visit The Langham Hotel in Auckland but decided on The SkyCity Grand as they have an indoor pool + spa which is ideal given the changeable weather currently. Anyway, we headed for the pool after check in. This was a lap pool of reasonable size but unfortunately the water was rather murky and pretty cold, nonetheless I had a decent swim which warmed me up. Then into the spa pool. Talk about cold!! Too cold to submerge in...don't know why, so we collared a member of staff to let them know. Considering we were sold into the Grand being a 5*, the facilities certainly aren't at that standard. The womens changing rooms didn't have lockers or any hair dryer and entry to the pool area was a bit odd; you get changed in the changing rooms then walk through the gym into the pool. I guess I should have worn the spa robe and slippers down to the pool so that would be my tip to future guests.

Our room package included a glass of champagne and pink truffles in the Foyer. We got the champagne but were given pink macaroons and not truffles! Odd. Was that because they hoped the recipient didn't know any difference or had they ran out??

Location superb, plenty to do around the hotel and a very central city spot for lots of restaurants to choose from. I'd recommend it if you want a nice enough room to base yourself from for a night out. If it's luxury you want I think I'd still head for The Langham.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear RMW1

Thank you taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for your feedback allowing us the opportunity to identify areas which we can improve on, please be assured that our management team have received your comments to review.

We have some very exciting developments taking place over the coming months. We now offer free unlimited Wi-Fi and have 3 new eateries opening and a full rooms refurbishment taking place. We are really looking forward to this and I am certain you will be impressed with the new look.

We hope to welcome you back to The Grand, please contact me directly before your arrival and I am certain we will meet if not exceed your expectations.

Kind Regards

Alison Borland l Guest Relations Manager l SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.Borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

New Zealanders are anything but glitzy. This hotel is a meeting between glitz and practicality. The decor is modern. Rooms are comfortable if in need of some refurbishing. Service is good if a bit lax at our visit (we had to request to have our room made up at 4pm when we returned for a much needed nap). The breakfast buffet was terrific with cheerful servers. Concierge services were both expert and timely.
This is a good choice for location and overall service. We would return when we are in Auckland.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shoemouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear shoemouse

Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in the final stages of the sign off process for a full hotel room refurbishment – we are very excited about this and hope to welcome you back in the future to experience our new rooms.

Kind Regards,

Alison Borland l Guest Relations Manager l SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.Borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Perfect location in Auckland, very smart hotel and overall a great stay, a couple of small things - one being that the toilet blocked at 11pm, also the air conditioning broke late at night and made a really loud noise so had to switch it off. However the manager was really helpful and offered us a harbour view room with a cheaper rate on next stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in the final stages of the sign off process for a full hotel room refurbishment – we are very excited about this and hope to welcome you back in the future to experience our new rooms.

Kind Regards,

Alison Borland I Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

First of all I need to stress that I haven't stayed at this hotel but have eaten at the lobby bar and used the spa.

The spa is a large but very welcoming space with attentive staff. I'd been travelling for 2 months and wanted a bit of pampering which is exactly what I got! I had a pedicure by an English girl, foot scrub by a Filipino, massage and facial by an Irish girl and a brow shape by a Kiwi - which shows how cosmopolitan this city really is! All treatments were of a high standard and the price was slightly less than I was expecting and they seemed surprised when I tipped the staff.

I then went to the lobby bar for supper and had a steak open sandwich which was superb, very tender, cooked medium rare and served with salad and bread. I also had a coffee martini which again was very good and served with a selection of nuts. The service was very attentive and the waiter asked concierge to help me even though I wasn't staying in the hotel. There was background music with a lady playing the harp but it wasn't at all intrusive and very relaxing. The majority of the guests seemed to be business people or families from abroad.

I would consider staying in the hotel in future as the position in the city is perfect and the service very good.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear Kate K

Thank you for your review!

We have some very exciting developments taking place over the coming months. We now offer free unlimited Wi-Fi and have 3 new eateries opening and we are in the final stages of the sign off process for a full hotel room refurbishment – we are very excited about this and hope to welcome you back in the future to experience our new rooms.

Kind Regards,

Alison Borland l Guest Relations Manager l SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.Borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Stayed there 3 nights in January, after having firstly compared online with other hotels in the area (thanks to TripAdvisor!). SKYCITY Grand seemed to be very good value by comparison (and is the more chic version of the SKYCITY hotel across the road that houses the casino). We took advantage of a couple of packages they had on offer to allow late checkout and valet parking. Overall we were very impressed - modern decor, good sized rooms and harbour view was definitely better than city view (which looks directly into the Crowne Plaza across the road. However if you're only sleeping there, this doesn't matter as the rooms are identical on either side - we stayed in both, having added an extra night at the last minute).

Bathrooms are spacious and clean, and the room service was outstanding - restaurant quality meals at breakfast and dinner, really well presented, and far superior to a number of international 5 star hotels my boyfriend and I have stayed in overseas - expensive but worth it! Rooms were really quiet - we heard kids in the hall a couple of times but otherwise no noise at all from other rooms.

Overall the staff were friendly and efficient (Kevin on the door was a sunny, charming personality and remembered my birthday the next day!) - however, we did have to request the champagne included in our package a couple of times, and the valet parking was a 30 minute wait for our car. They did admit they were under-staffed at the time, but this seems to be mentioned in other reviews, and 30 mins is a bit different from the 5 minutes they initially suggested - luckily we weren't in a major rush.

There were a couple of errors on our bill, but these were quickly rectified when pointed out. The only thing I thought could be improved is the concierge recommendations for restaurants - being a local, I know there are so many great places, particularly in the new Britomart and Viaduct areas, however they seemed to be touting the same old tired places that have been around for eons and aren't necessarily that indicative of the excellent possibilities for contemporary dining.

Overall, we had a great stay, and rate this hotel as one of the best we have stayed at internationally, great value compared with other 5 star hotels in the area. Excellent location too, as its only a short walk to the waterfront, and much quieter than other hotels located down there - other friends have mentioned these seem to suffer from the noise of the bars & nightlife.

Room Tip: If you want a view, choose harbour view and try to request a higher floor. City view is looking into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwispace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in the final stages of the sign off process for a full hotel room refurbishment – we are very excited about this and hope to welcome you back in the future to experience our new rooms.

Kind Regards,

Alison Borland I Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,142 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,206 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Grand Hotel

Property: SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Address: 90 Federal St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Auckland
#1 Green Hotel in Auckland
#2 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#5 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — SKYCITY Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an oasis of luxury in the heart of Auckland’s vibrant city. Beautifully appointed, modern and spacious rooms are just the start of this 5-star experience. Stunning views, award-winning dining, the iconic Sky Tower and the tranquil East Day Spa await you. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your SKYCITY Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky City Hotel
Skycity Grand Auckland
Hotel Skycity Grand
SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing