We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't class Skycity Grand a five star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Auckland
1 review
“Wouldn't class Skycity Grand a five star hotel”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Decided to splash out on our anniversary and got a room at Skycity Grand. The room was small and not up to standard. A friend stayed in Skycity hotel (4 star) the night before and that room was much better than the one we got at Skycity Grand. No bathrobes in the room. Water from the shower would leak onto bathroom floor. The bed would creek when you get in and out or when you move around. Had to request for firmer pillows as the pillows in the room was standard. Holes in the bedsheets. The next day we requested for some toothbrush and toothpaste - got charged for this (wasn't cheap either). Spoke to the duty manager and she advised that they ran out of the complimentary ones a week ago and therefore they have been going to the convenience store around the corner to buy them. Was not told this information when I requested for them. Definitely won't be staying at Skycity Grand again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasminetay_akl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear jasminetay_akl

Thank you taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for your feedback allowing us the opportunity to identify areas which we can improve on I was extremely disappointed to read your comments and please be assured our Operations Manager has received your feedback to review.

We have some very exciting developments taking place over the coming months. We now offer free unlimited Wi-Fi and have 3 new eateries opening and a full rooms refurbishment taking place. We are really looking forward to this and I am certain you will be impressed with the new look.

We hope to welcome you back to The Grand, please contact me directly before your arrival and I am certain we will meet if not exceed your expectations.

Kind Regards

Alison Borland l Guest Relations Manager l SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.Borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,389
    730
    211
    70
    27
See reviews for
226
1,341
139
452
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We like to stay at the Skycity grand because of its central location with easy access on foot to the ferry terminal and restaurants around the viaduct basin. The parking garage is also very convenient. We are not gamblers ourselves, but like to take a stroll along the different tables at the casino. Good value for money, but try to have one of their special promotion deals.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brusselscharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in the final stages of the sign off process for a full hotel room refurbishment – we are very excited about this and hope to welcome you back in the future to experience our new rooms. We are also pleased to announce that we offer complimentary WIFI access to all hotel guests.

Kind Regards,

Alison Borland I Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new plymouth
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stayed here for about the 8th time. Always clean and friendly. Assessible to the city and the waterfront and to restaurants and cafes. Beds so comfortable and pillows are superb.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgeandmcduff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in the final stages of the sign off process for a full hotel room refurbishment – we are very excited about this and hope to welcome you back in the future to experience our new rooms. We are also pleased to announce that we offer complimentary WIFI access to all hotel guests.

Kind Regards,

Alison Borland I Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Could not find fault, ticked all the boxes – great location, excellent large rooms designed tastefully, comfortable, quite and great value for money.
Will recommend to others and come back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BBeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in the final stages of the sign off process for a full hotel room refurbishment – we are very excited about this and hope to welcome you back in the future to experience our new rooms. We are also pleased to announce that we offer complimentary WIFI access to all hotel guests.

Kind Regards,

Alison Borland I Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

I had expectations based on its short preview while booking. When I checked in, I had to say I was disappointed. Overall presentation, lobby etc is not on the same level with rooms. Still, it's a good hotel with average and clean rooms. Location is nice, just few minutes down the street to get to Queen St with it's cinemas, shops etc. Breakfast is average, not really varied day by day.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Front Office Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear raveland,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review of SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I was disappointed to read that you felt our rooms were not to your expectations. We are currently going throught the planning stages of room refurbishments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to SKYCITY Grand Hotel again in the near future.

Please do not hesitate to get in touch with me.

Kind Regards

Colette Leonard | colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Front Office Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Booked this hotel for our anniversary two weeks ago in a top floor suite and it was amazing. The size of the room is great with separate dinning and lounge to the large bedroom but the main feature would have to be the bathroom with an infinity bathtub - a real delight as well as a long large walk in rain shower. Definately worth a visit. Their facilities on 7th floor with sauna, spa, gym, swimming pool are great as well as a somptuous breakfast. A superb stay with friendly service both from reception and room service.

Room Tip: top floor suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear Fred N

Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in the final stages of the sign off process for a full hotel room refurbishment – we are very excited about this and hope to welcome you back in the future to experience our new rooms.

Kind Regards,

Alison Borland l Guest Relations Manager l SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.Borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at the SKYCITY Grand Hotel during our stay in Auckland in February of this year. Our room was the Superior Suite King, which in my opinion was far from a 5 star level accommodation. My general opinion of SKYCITY is that it is like a cruise ship pulled up on dry land. Don't get me wrong, SKYCITY is an amazing complex, but it seems to have that same cheese factor that I experienced on my one and only cruise ship vacation. In most cases, the hotel guests are straight off cruise ships, and spend most of their time playing the slot machines in the casino. I would guess their median age to be around 78.

The restaurants were over priced and best described as forgettable. The one positive was the concierge service. They were enthusiastic and professional. The excursions they recommended were definately the high point of our visit to Auckland. That said, the best way to enjoy Auckland is to get out of the city. The surrounding area is absolutely beautiful. Get on a boat and visit Waiheke Island. Take a helicopter tour. Go on an adventure excursion in the countryside.

The one memorable thing about SKYCITY is the Sky Tower Jump. It is definately a whorthwhile alternative to bungy jumping.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYCITY H, Front Office Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Robert R,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review of SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I was disappointed to read that our rooms did not meet your expectations. You will be pleased to know that we are in the planning stages of undergoing a room refurbishment, which should begin later in the year.

I was extremely pleased to hear that our concierge team were helpful to you and that you enjoyed their recommendations!

We look forward to welcoming you back to SKYCITY Grand Hotel again in the near future.

Please do not hesitate to get in touch with us.

Kind Regards

Colette Leonard | colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Front Office Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,128 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,192 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Grand Hotel

Property: SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Address: 90 Federal St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Auckland
#1 Green Hotel in Auckland
#2 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#5 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — SKYCITY Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an oasis of luxury in the heart of Auckland’s vibrant city. Beautifully appointed, modern and spacious rooms are just the start of this 5-star experience. Stunning views, award-winning dining, the iconic Sky Tower and the tranquil East Day Spa await you. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your SKYCITY Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky City Hotel
Skycity Grand Auckland
Hotel Skycity Grand
SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing