We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury at an Affordable Price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Luxury at an Affordable Price”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

This is a modern genuine 5 Star hotel right in the centre of Auckland. I found the staff friendly and attentive, the room very well appointed and a fantastic gym set up. There are some great cafes and restaurants as part of the hotel complex and the bar on the ground floor is a great place to catch up with friends. If you look at hotel booking sites online you seem to be able to pick up a deal that makes it competitive with major brand 4 star hotels in Auckland and certainly better value than the other 5 star hotels in Auckland. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Get a high room for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Dear David H

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

Here at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, we strive to deliver an outstanding customer experience and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand Hotel.

Kind Regards

Alison Borland l Guest Relations Manager l SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.Borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,413
    744
    215
    70
    27
See reviews for
233
1,362
143
460
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I'm not a big fan of large hotels as i prefer the more intimate service of boutique places. However when i arrived late in the evening and was duped by a taxi driver who had not turned the meter on for my trip from the airport the concierge staff came to my aid and had a firm discussion with the driver. It made me feel better about the whole experience having someone on my side. I was disappointed with the bar service soon after (they seemed to be waiting for guests to come to them!) but overall i came away with a good feeling. Hot tip: skip the hotel breakfast and head just next door to Al Brown's Depot Eatery for great coffee and a small but tasty selection of brekkie treats.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoctorGusSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
DoctorGusSydney

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor.

I was sorry to hear about your experience in the taxi and delighted that one of our team assisted you upon arrival.

Though delighted to read you enjoyed your breakfast at Al Brown’s The Depot, I was disappointed to read that we did not meet your expectations in our Lobby Bar. We strive to deliver excellent customer service and will certainly pass your feedback onto the team so we can improve our customers’ experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand Hotel on your next visit to Auckland.

Kind Regards


Alison Borland l Guest Relations Manager l SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.Borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012 via mobile

I have stayed here several times when I come to Auckland, it's very nice and when I shop price it's always a great deal. It's stylish, quiet, comfortable and has great facilities. Friendly staff and a short walk down to the viaduct.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BHinSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Dear BHinAUS

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor, it is always lovely to hear from our return guests.

We certainly are ideally located in Auckland and it was a pleasure to read your positive comments about the team which I will be sure to pass on.

You will be pleased to hear that we have extended our Free Wi-Fi offer should you book “our best available rate”, for more details please see our website or contact our dedicated reservations team.

Until your next visit,

Kind Regards

Alison Borland l Guest Relations Manager l SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.Borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed on a winter indulgence package, the Grand Extravagance package, and there is only one word to describe it - incredible.

From the moment we arrived the staff were amazingly helpful - the door man was polite and courteous, sensing it was our first stay he helped us to the reception desk and took care of our car. The macaroons were a very nice touch, and while we were enjoying them we were informed we had been upgraded to the Presidential suite.

The room was astonishing. Extremely modern equipped with three tvs, a PS3, blue ray players, and a very easy to use single-remote system. The decor was understated and sleek, with a great collection of current magazines and wonderful books tastefully presented. The bed was mammoth and incredibly soft, the shower was cavernous but tasteful, and the water pressure was amazing. The art was delightful and the view out over the city to the bridge was simply breathtaking. We were greeted with a decadent platter of chocolate and fruit and a wonderful New Zealand champagne which we enjoyed while surveying the city.

Peter Gordon's dine was fantastic, and again the conscientious staff ensured we were well looked after during our seven-course degustation - words fail me here. We had to try out the room service as well later on (not that we were hungry after dinner mind you!) and it was fantastic - delivered quickly and prepared wonderfully.

Breakfast at The Terrace was delightful, although it was a pretty rubbish day, so we weren't able to enjoy it outside. We were able to take our time because of the great 1pm checkout time, which was a bonus.

On the whole the service was great, we were made to feel like VIPs at every possible step.

Above everything was the price - incredibly well-priced for what was included.

We will be doing it again some time soon, highly recommended to anyone and everyone!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Dear Sam D

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at The Grand Hotel in our Grand Presidential Suite and am certain that our readers, like us will find your feedback a pleasure to read.

We do have some wonderful packages available for our guests and I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit to Dine by Peter Gordon and The Terrace. We are certainly have an abundant choice of dining locations here at SKYCITY.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Alison Borland l Guest Relations Manager l SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.Borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I have stayed at Skycity many times whilst in NZ on business. Cannot fault the service, room quality. The King size bed was very comfortable only compliant would be Wifi - free access for 30 minutes per day then charged out at NZ$15.00 per hour. Limited TV channels. Great location walking distance to many boutique bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1955travelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Dear 1955travelfan

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor, it was wonderful to read that you are a regular guest at The Grand Hotel.

Following your comment regarding Wi-Fi, I am delighted to advise that we have extended our offer of FREE WI-FI for the duration of your stay if you choose to book our “best available room” rate. For more details please consult our website or dedicated reservations team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand Hotel

Kind Regards


Alison Borland l Guest Relations Manager l SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.Borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

This is in regards to a stay in easter where we got a special for a king superior room and complimentary easter eggs (nice touch!) the room was really nice and we looked right onto the skytower and views towards the Waitakere Ranges. I cant fault the stay everything was really tidy, nice decor, comfortable the staff went above and beyond. I also treated myself to an hour at the East Day Spa which is a must if you have never been pampered before. My partner enjoyed the pool while I was there and he said it was great. My key stopped working when we returned from breakfast and I went to the reception the guy not only friendly and apologetic (which wasnt necessary!) but extended our check out for an extra hour! so we chilled on the lounger in front of the huge sunny window and read the complimentary herald - small touches like this goes a LONG way to providing great service and we will certainly go back before the end of the year

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auckland_123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Dear Auckland_123456

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor and thank you for your feedback, I am certainly our readers will find this useful.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and had the opportunity to visit East Day Spa which is truly an experience to remember.

I do apologise that your key stopping working but pleased to read that our team looked after you by extending your check out time and allowing you to relax after your breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand in the very near future, please do not hesitate to contact me prior to your visit.


Alison Borland l Guest Relations Manager l SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.Borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed it. The Concierge service in particular was fantastic- they were so friendly and helpful- such a treat when you are traveling!

The rooms were tastefully decorated, clean and super comfy. The location is fantastic- you are in the heart of the city, within walking or easy bus distance from just about anything you want to see in Auckland. The Sky Tower is literally right next door and there are three restaurants within a stone's throw away- very convenient!

I gave it four stars for a couple of reasons- the receptionist asked if we wanted to upgrade to a harbor view room for a "honeymoon discount" of $40. I find these offers just a little silly- especially when we were given a room with a harbor view later for the lower price for our second night later on in the week. The "city view" room looked directly at another building with no view at all. Ask for a "city view" room that faces the water (somehow that's what we got the second time around)- the view was much nicer!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabi2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Dear Gabi2010

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor and thank you for your positive feedback about our team, in particular our Concierge Team.

I am delighted you enjoyed your room and agree that we are ideally located in Auckland with lots to do nearby.

Following your comments on check in, please be advised that our room types, availability and rates do change on a daily basis. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you wish to discuss this in more detail.

I trust you enjoyed the remainder of your honeymoon, thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand Hotel in the near future.


Alison Borland l Guest Relations Manager l SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.Borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,265 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 67 in Auckland
1,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
2,266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland
1,181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Grand Hotel

Property: SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Address: 90 Federal St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Auckland
#1 Business Hotel in Auckland
#2 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#5 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — SKYCITY Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an oasis of luxury in the heart of Auckland’s vibrant city. Beautifully appointed, modern and spacious rooms are just the start of this 5-star experience. Stunning views, award-winning dining, the iconic Sky Tower and the tranquil East Day Spa await you. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your SKYCITY Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky City Hotel
Skycity Grand Auckland
Hotel Skycity Grand
SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing