We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service once again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding service once again”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Had a couple of days off from work so headed back to Sky City for a few days R & R and they didn't disappoint, Bridget at the front desk welcomed us back and did remember us from previous stays which was great. The room was immaculate, and nothing was too much trouble for the house keeping staff on the 20th floor. We look forward to our treasured time off and cant wait to come back and get pampered.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room with a sea view great to wake up to in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParklaneMotorLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear ParklaneMotorLodge

Thank you for your review of The Grand Hotel on TripAdvisor. It is great to hear from our return guests.

I am so pleased that we are your hotel of choice when you have the chance of a couple of days away from work. I look forward to sharing your feedback with the team – in particular with Bridget our Assistant Front Office Manager and our Housekeeping Team.

We have some very exciting developments due to take place at The Grand Hotel and SKYCITY. Our rooms are due to have a full refurbishment and we have 3 new restaurants opening over the coming months. We are really looking forward to this taking place; for any updates please look at our website or please contact me directly.

We look forward to your next visit to The Grand.

Regards

Alison Borland l Guest Relations Manager l SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.Borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,425
    745
    219
    70
    27
See reviews for
234
1,374
143
462
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I decided to give the Grand another chance, and am happy I did. The room and service were everything you would expect at this price. The breakfast was once again the highlight, unbeatable in Auckland.

Room Tip: Higher the better, ask for harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CR111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear CR111

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Grand Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I was so pleased that we met your expectations on this visit and hope to continue to do in the future. I will be delighted to pass your positive feedback onto the team at The Terrace, we love to hear how wonderful our buffet breakfast is.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand Hotel.

Regards

Alison Borland l Guest Relations Manager l SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.Borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

This is a fantastic hotel with a fabulous GYM and a great 25 metre 'lap' swimming pool. Close to the Casino and lots of eating places. However the LCD TV in the room was obviously a cheap one with very poor speakers with a very limited range of channels-- I was kind of expecting a better TV and channels from a five star hotel. I know it sounds like nit picking but if you are going to market yourself as the best you need to be the best in all aspects.
However in saying that I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tipene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Dear Tipene
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor.
Feedback such as yours gives us the opportunity to identify areas upon which we can improve. We will be carrying out a full refurbishment of our rooms and at the same time we will be reviewing the televisions and the service we currently provide.
Thank you again for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back to The Grand Hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards
Alison Borland l Guest Relations Manager l SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.Borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

If you are looking for a safe, reliable, friendly and first class hotel, serach no further. The Skycity Grand is the best Auckland has to offer. My wife and I stayed there for 3 nights over our anniversary and we had an amazing time, both in the city and at the hotel. The food was terrific, the bars were lively. It is everything you could want in a hotel. There are a couple of excellent members of their staff (Jim Tully and David Langley). They will be able to solve any of your problems.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor, it is in the center of the city so the view are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nsantarelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Dear nsantarelli
Thank you for your recent review of The Grand Hotel.
We take real pride in delivering excellent customer service and I was thrilled to read your feedback about your stay. The team will be delighted to receive your comments especially Jim and David from our Concierge Team.
We hope that you enjoyed the remainder of your visit and have the opportunity to return in the future.
Kind Regards
Alison Borland l Guest Relations Manager l SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.Borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Excellent service. Look out for a great man and friendly smile from Kevin the Commissionaire. Location is great as my partner and I had a beautiful dinner at Orbit the revolving restaurant. I highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Harbour view....it is really a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pekahau P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Dear Pekahau P
Thank you for your reviewing The Grand Hotel on TripAdvisor and recommending us to others.
I was delighted to read your feedback which I will pass onto the team and in particular to Kevin and the Orbit restaurant.
The team look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Alison Borland l Guest Relations Manager l SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.Borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gore, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We had a fantastic stay at the Grand, Locaility was the main pull for our staying at this accomodation , but with the choice of top class restaurants, immaculate cleanliness and grand service it as well as the terrific locaility, it made our stay very pleasant indeed. We will certainly be back in the very near future.
Thanking you.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee-anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Dear Lee-anne C
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in the final decision making stages and will be carrying out a refurbishment of our rooms. We are very excited about this and with the addition of three new restaurants, I am certain you will again be impressed on your next stay with us.
We look to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards
Alison Borland l Guest Relations Manager l SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.Borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boyne City, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We stayed overnight at the Sky City Grand and were not impressed. It's location in the center of the city is a plus. But the staff was less than friendly, the lobby noisy and filled with the smell of smoke from the casino. We left a wake-up call for 4 AM in order to catch our shuttle to the airport and were awakened at 12:04 AM, not 4:00 AM, which made for a very long day for our return to the States. Attention to detail is not this establishment's strong suit.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Dear Nancy G
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.
I was very disappointed to read your feedback and please be assured that your comments have been shared with the team as a training tool. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly to discuss your concerns in more detail.
Kind Regards
Alison Borland l Guest Relations Manager l SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.Borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
4,302 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 67 in Auckland
1,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
2,281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.3 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Grand Hotel

Property: SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Address: 90 Federal St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Auckland
#1 Business Hotel in Auckland
#2 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#5 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — SKYCITY Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an oasis of luxury in the heart of Auckland’s vibrant city. Beautifully appointed, modern and spacious rooms are just the start of this 5-star experience. Stunning views, award-winning dining, the iconic Sky Tower and the tranquil East Day Spa await you. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your SKYCITY Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky City Hotel
Skycity Grand Auckland
Hotel Skycity Grand
SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing