We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to celebrate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Auckland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to celebrate”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We celebrated a birthday in a beautifully appointed harbour view room. Great bed, great staff, overall an excellent experience. On check-out, we enjoyed a really nice talk with the doorman. Staff all made us feel welcome and like valued guests. Ate at Jade Dragon for lunch, which was OK. Sadly DINE was closed so could not eat there this time but have experienced it before and very good. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Dear ptop

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor, I am so pleased that you had a wonderful birthday at The Grand Hotel.

The team will be thrilled to read your feedback, in particular our fabulous commissionaires.

Dine by Peter Gordon is now closed but we have 3 new restaurants due to open over the coming months including Peter Gordon’s The Sugar Club which will be located on Level 53 of the Sky Tower, which I do hope you have the opportunity to visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand Hotel.

Kind Regards

Alison Borland l Guest Relations Manager l SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.Borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,392
    731
    212
    70
    27
See reviews for
226
1,344
139
454
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Really enjoyed a week at Skycity Grand Hotel, had a great view of Auckland harbour, not to mention people jumping (connected to wires I must add) from the Skycity Tower. The room was lovely, the staff were very friendly. A special mention must be made of the guys on the front door - they were the friendliest people we met in Auckland. The Fortuna Buffet was a real treat.
Highly recommend this hotel and of course the magical city of Auckland.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulianaShea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear JulianaShea

Thank you for posting your recent review on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay in one of our Harbour Rooms offering fantastic views of the Auckland Harbour and of those taking the plunge from our iconic SKY Tower.

I will take great delight in passing on your positive feedback to the team and in particular our Front Office Team and Fortuna.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Grand Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Alison Borland l Guest Relations Manager l SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.Borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nerang, Australia
Level Contributor
382 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Worth paying the extra for bridge view along with harbour. Great for photos capturing the changing weather! We stayed in room 1903 which was great. Only thing is the bathroom layout is terrible, should have sliding door for bathroom so it doesn't interfere with shower door.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GCPurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear GCPurple

Thank you for your review of The Grand Hotel on TripAdvisor and for recommending our Harbour View Rooms to our TripAdvisor readers.

Thank you also for your comments about our bathrooms which has been received by our management team.

The team at The Grand Hotel look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Alison Borland l Guest Relations Manager l SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.Borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed for one night on our honeymoon before venturing off into the NewZealand Wilderness,
We were given the room as a wedding gift from a friend, The hotel was very upmarket, very friendly staff, lovely pool on the upper levels, we ordered room service which was prompt and delicious, however did not have breakfast here, only a stroll across the road to sky city and the restaurant at the top is defiantly worth a look and reasonably priced, we were worried pulling up in a campervan where we would park but the door men took it straight from us and parked it no worries.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristyrenelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear Kristyrenelle

Thank you for your review of The Grand Hotel on TripAdvisor, I do hope that you enjoyed the rest of your honeymoon.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us taking the opportunity to visit some of our numerous restaurants and hope that you have the opportunity to visit us again.

Congratulations again from the team at The Grand.

Kind Regards

Alison Borland l Guest Relations Manager l SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.Borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Stayed at The Grand over the weekend and was fortunate enough to stay in the presidential suite. The room was absolutely stunning and the service was of the highest standard.a great location in the middle of the city with great restaurants in and around the hotel.Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lowkey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear Loweky1

Thank you for your review of The Grand Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your night away at The Grand Hotel. We take real pride in delivering great customer service and the team will be delighted to hear your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Alison Borland l Guest Relations Manager l SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.Borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Had a couple of days off from work so headed back to Sky City for a few days R & R and they didn't disappoint, Bridget at the front desk welcomed us back and did remember us from previous stays which was great. The room was immaculate, and nothing was too much trouble for the house keeping staff on the 20th floor. We look forward to our treasured time off and cant wait to come back and get pampered.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room with a sea view great to wake up to in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParklaneMotorLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear ParklaneMotorLodge

Thank you for your review of The Grand Hotel on TripAdvisor. It is great to hear from our return guests.

I am so pleased that we are your hotel of choice when you have the chance of a couple of days away from work. I look forward to sharing your feedback with the team – in particular with Bridget our Assistant Front Office Manager and our Housekeeping Team.

We have some very exciting developments due to take place at The Grand Hotel and SKYCITY. Our rooms are due to have a full refurbishment and we have 3 new restaurants opening over the coming months. We are really looking forward to this taking place; for any updates please look at our website or please contact me directly.

We look forward to your next visit to The Grand.

Regards

Alison Borland l Guest Relations Manager l SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.Borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
184 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I decided to give the Grand another chance, and am happy I did. The room and service were everything you would expect at this price. The breakfast was once again the highlight, unbeatable in Auckland.

Room Tip: Higher the better, ask for harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CR111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear CR111

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Grand Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I was so pleased that we met your expectations on this visit and hope to continue to do in the future. I will be delighted to pass your positive feedback onto the team at The Terrace, we love to hear how wonderful our buffet breakfast is.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand Hotel.

Regards

Alison Borland l Guest Relations Manager l SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.Borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,142 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,204 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Grand Hotel

Property: SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Address: 90 Federal St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Auckland
#1 Business Hotel in Auckland
#2 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#5 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — SKYCITY Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an oasis of luxury in the heart of Auckland’s vibrant city. Beautifully appointed, modern and spacious rooms are just the start of this 5-star experience. Stunning views, award-winning dining, the iconic Sky Tower and the tranquil East Day Spa await you. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your SKYCITY Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky City Hotel
Skycity Grand Auckland
Hotel Skycity Grand
SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing