We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“central gud one.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SKYCITY Grand Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“central gud one.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

hotel was offered in tour pacakage. hotel is very centrally located, kissing skytower.everything popular in auckland is almost at walkable distance.casino was grt. rooms were fine.staff was friendly and helpful.buffet spread were not veg. friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank punu_jain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Dear puna_jain

Thank you posting your recent review on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit to The Grand and Auckland; we are perfectly located in the city with everything close by and within walking distance.

Thank you for your comments relating to the buffet. At all times our team are more than welcome to accommodate any requests and I welcome you to contact me to confirm the buffet restaurant.

I do hope you enjoyed that remainder of your New Zealand vacation.

Kind Regards

Alison Borland l Guest Relations Manager l SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.Borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,358
    715
    208
    68
    25
See reviews for
221
1,309
136
444
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

We stayed at the Grand for a weekend off. We were gratefully upgraded and the views were amazing up on the 19th floor. The room was awesome, and the bed was just simply luxurious. Check-in/Check-out was fast and easy. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Dear Erik B

Thank you for recent TripAdvisor review, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and team were able to offer you an upgrade to a Harbour View Room.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand Hotel, for full details of rates and packages

Kind Regards

Alison Borland l Guest Relations Manager l SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.Borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

We arrived in Auckland on the 20th May 2013 for a two night stay. We got to the SkyCity Grand and were immediately impressed. We checked the car in via valet (best option for parking) and then went to book in. Originally we were in the Luxury Hotel Room City View (Double) but upgraded to the Luxury King Harbour View. Cost us an extra $50.00 a night but was well worth it. We had an amazing view of Auckland Harbour, the Sky Tower and the city.
The hotel has a great selection of restaurants and bars, plus the SkyCity Casino is attached to the hotel which offers even more. First night we dined at "The Grill by Sean Connolly". I kept referring to it as the Grill by Sean Connery (honest mistake). We had the shared roast lamb shoulder with sides of brussell sprouts and broccoli. Delicious and lots of it. Dinner cost just over $70.00 which for two of us, we found great value for money.
The next night we dined in the "Orbit Revolving Restaurant" in the Sky Tower. We had the three course dinner at a cost of $69.00pp ($NZ) which was brilliant value for money and we both left full of food and happy.
Can't speak highly enough of the SkyCity Grand. It is a wonderful location, so central to everything. Staff are friendly and cannot do enough to help. We loved our time here and would stay again in a heartbeat. The beds are probably the best that I have ever slept in at any hotel.

Room Tip: Go the Harbour View rooms. More money but so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Dear Nathan W

Thank you for recent TripAdvisor review.

The team at The Grand Hotel, The Grill and Orbit will be thrilled to receive your feedback, it was a pleasure to read and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you also for your room tip, our Harbour View Rooms certainly offer amazing views.

We hope to welcome you back to The Grand Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Alison Borland l Guest Relations Manager l SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.Borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Stayed here because its where the conference was held. Its a very large hotel catering specifically to conference delegates which makes it surprising that the gym is so small - 2 treadmills, 2 bikes, 2 step machines and 2 multipurpose weight machines (1 of which didn't work) so in the morning the place was full with people queueing. Similarly there was a huge queue and long wait for breakfast. And the lifts are very slow.
On the plus side, the rooms were well appointed (with a choice of pillows) and service was efficient and friendly. The doormen were exceptionally helpful, friendly and welcoming.
Next door is the Depot cafe which has great share plates and oysters and clams and a good wine list; across the road a great little tapas place - Bellota. Aukland is small so everywhere is just walking distance and some great places to eat, department store and art gallery are just a few minutes away.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tj_sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Dear tj_sydney

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for your feedback providing our management team with an opportunity to look at areas which we can improve on and also where we have exceeded your expectations.

We hope to welcome you back to The Grand Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Alison Borland l Guest Relations Manager l SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.Borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

We celebrated a birthday in a beautifully appointed harbour view room. Great bed, great staff, overall an excellent experience. On check-out, we enjoyed a really nice talk with the doorman. Staff all made us feel welcome and like valued guests. Ate at Jade Dragon for lunch, which was OK. Sadly DINE was closed so could not eat there this time but have experienced it before and very good. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ptop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Dear ptop

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor, I am so pleased that you had a wonderful birthday at The Grand Hotel.

The team will be thrilled to read your feedback, in particular our fabulous commissionaires.

Dine by Peter Gordon is now closed but we have 3 new restaurants due to open over the coming months including Peter Gordon’s The Sugar Club which will be located on Level 53 of the Sky Tower, which I do hope you have the opportunity to visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand Hotel.

Kind Regards

Alison Borland l Guest Relations Manager l SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.Borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Really enjoyed a week at Skycity Grand Hotel, had a great view of Auckland harbour, not to mention people jumping (connected to wires I must add) from the Skycity Tower. The room was lovely, the staff were very friendly. A special mention must be made of the guys on the front door - they were the friendliest people we met in Auckland. The Fortuna Buffet was a real treat.
Highly recommend this hotel and of course the magical city of Auckland.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulianaShea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear JulianaShea

Thank you for posting your recent review on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay in one of our Harbour Rooms offering fantastic views of the Auckland Harbour and of those taking the plunge from our iconic SKY Tower.

I will take great delight in passing on your positive feedback to the team and in particular our Front Office Team and Fortuna.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Grand Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Alison Borland l Guest Relations Manager l SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.Borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nerang, Australia
Level Contributor
342 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Worth paying the extra for bridge view along with harbour. Great for photos capturing the changing weather! We stayed in room 1903 which was great. Only thing is the bathroom layout is terrible, should have sliding door for bathroom so it doesn't interfere with shower door.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GCPurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear GCPurple

Thank you for your review of The Grand Hotel on TripAdvisor and for recommending our Harbour View Rooms to our TripAdvisor readers.

Thank you also for your comments about our bathrooms which has been received by our management team.

The team at The Grand Hotel look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Alison Borland l Guest Relations Manager l SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.Borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,973 reviews
0.0 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,100 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Grand Hotel

Property: SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Address: 90 Federal St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Auckland
#1 Business Hotel in Auckland
#2 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#5 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — SKYCITY Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an oasis of luxury in the heart of Auckland’s vibrant city. Beautifully appointed, modern and spacious rooms are just the start of this 5-star experience. Stunning views, award-winning dining, the iconic Sky Tower and the tranquil East Day Spa await you. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your SKYCITY Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky City Hotel
Skycity Grand Auckland
Hotel Skycity Grand
SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing