We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“A relaxing stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We had two nights at Skycity Grand Hotel after driving around the North Island for 4 days. It was a great location to walk to most things. Across the road from the Sky Tower, we spent our last afternoon there taking in the view and then having a coffee in their coffee shop while looking back at our photos from our trip.
The restaurants are great with an awesome atmosphere, Federal Street Deli was a favourite.
The room was very clean and spacious and we had a beautiful room of the harbour.
We really enjoyed our stay at Skycity and would definately stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Emma B

Thank you for your recent review of The Grand Hotel.

It’s lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass your feedback onto the team.

We are in the process of refurbishing our rooms with the first floor now complete and welcome you to have a look at our website for all the details.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand Hotel.

Kind Regards

Alison Borland I Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,380
    722
    211
    69
    26
See reviews for
225
1,331
137
449
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

The hotel is located in the Sky City complex in downtown Auckland, right next to the Sky Tower and Sky City Casino. The harbor, with access to ferries, a maritime museum and many restaurants is a five minute walk, downhill, a little longer up hill back to the hotel. The room had modern decor, a picture window view of the city and a very comfortable king size bed.
We were able to walk to the nearby art museum and had a great dinner at the top of the Sky Tower. We did not take advantage of the Sky Walk or the jump from the tower and left those adventures to the younger generation.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor to enjoy the view, especially sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Vegas2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear 1Vegas2008,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel. It was great to read your comments, and I was pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

We would love to welcome you back to the hotel, so if you are ever back in Auckland please get in touch with me directly so that I can arrange your reservation for you.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We booked this through Expedia and thought we we're staying in the Skycity hotel, but when we arrived we were upgraded to the Grand.
Hotel is centrally located and is a good base. We only stayed the one night before flying out to Canada, so didn't get to use all the facilities. But the hotel is very modern and all the rooms of an excellent quality.
We had planned on getting the Airbus express back to the airport, but it is quite a long walk downhill to the bus stop, so we booked a shuttle service through the concierge which was only $5 more expensive than the bus and it was door to door, so much more convenient.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trippy7606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Trippy7606

Thank you for reviewing your experience at The Grand Hotel.

I am happy that you had an enjoyable stay with us and delighted to hear that our concierge team looked after you, saving you an unnecessary walk to the bus stop!

I trust you had a safe flight home and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Alison Borland I Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appledore, Devon, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Many facilities on site or across street, including two funky restaurants - the Federal street Deli and the Depot. Many other restaurants not visited. Very well appointed rooms with space, very comfortable mattresses and thick towels

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chris36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Chris36

Thank you for your recent review of The Grand Hotel.

We are very fortunate to have such a wide selection of eateries surrounding us with another due to open in the near future – there is definitely something to suit everyone.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Grand in the future and trust you had a safe flight home.

Kind Regards

Alison Borland I Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

We were not expecting that much from the hotel due to previous impressions gained from SkyCity. They did not used to have much of a dress standard there and it really made the place look cheap and nasty. Now they have imposed some standards for the guests and the new grand Hotel is great. The breakfast was truly exceptional (we stay at 5 star a lot and this was one of the best we have come across). The room was a good size but I would recommend paying the extra for the harbour views if you want something to look at other than the hotel across the street.

Service was very good and the room was spotless. Access to the SKyCity casino and restaurants gave us so many options for food and entertainment and the proximity to the city centre gave us all the shopping we wanted.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartP52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Stuart P

Thank you for reviewing The Grand Hotel following your recent stay with us.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass your positive comments about our breakfast onto The Terrace team – they love to hear feedback from our guests.

We have just completed renovating our first floor. The rooms look spectacular and can be viewed on our website.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Alison Borland I Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Stayed here with my partner for a weekend and simply could not fault this venue.

In the heart of the CBD - only a 5 minute walk to Viaduct Harbour and the shopping precincts, the king luxury room was an absolute pleasure. Nice roomy bathroom, comfortable bed, a good lounge and just a very nice, modern and relaxing room.

The building facilities (gym, pool, spa) were amongst the best I've seen and the two restaurants we tried - Masu (sushi) and The Grill were just absolutely brilliant - the food and service was of the highest quality.

A brilliant stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Matt S

Thank you for your recent review of The Grand Hotel.

I am pleased you enjoyed your weekend away with us and I look forward to passing on your comments to the team and in particular to Masu, our new Japanese Restaurant and The Grill.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Alison Borland I Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Very close to everything in Auckland, great location. Room was very clean and modern. Used valet parking-very quick and reliable. Staff were all happy and helpful. Will defiantly stay here again when in Auckland.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kylie_Renz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Front Office Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Kylie_Renz,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us at the SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I was happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay! I will pass your feedback on to our team.

We have recently commenced refurbishment of our hotel rooms, and the first floor is available to be booked now, with stays from the 18th of November.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard I Front Office Manager I SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,065 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,192 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Grand Hotel

Property: SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Address: 90 Federal St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Auckland
#1 Business Hotel in Auckland
#2 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#5 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — SKYCITY Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an oasis of luxury in the heart of Auckland’s vibrant city. Beautifully appointed, modern and spacious rooms are just the start of this 5-star experience. Stunning views, award-winning dining, the iconic Sky Tower and the tranquil East Day Spa await you. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your SKYCITY Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky City Hotel
Skycity Grand Auckland
Hotel Skycity Grand
SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing