We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical International Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Typical International Hotel”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Well polished International Hotel conveniently located right to the middle of Auckland CBD, next to the tower and a short walking distance to the harbour.
We were warned about work on the entrance level but this didn't effect our stay in anyway.
The bedroom and bathroom were faultless and we couldn't find a single thing wrong. Very contemporary and stylish and they certainly live up to their motto of "our big thing is our attention to the little things" or something like that lol.
The bed was a little on the hard side, that didn't bother me but did the misses!
We didn't get a view even on the 19th floor but we didn't expect one either and probably few would have great views due to the hotels very location.
Staff were great. We didn't eat there so can't comment on that.
Certainly we would stay there again.
Cheers
Paul

Room Tip: If you want a view make sure you check first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buster953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Buster953,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I was happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay - it sounds like you stayed in one of our newly refurbished rooms on the 19th floor. We now have three floors completed, and are looking foward to completeing a few more floors in the coming months. We have worked closely with the designers to ensure the rooms are modern, yet in keeping with what hotel guests need during their stay.

Next time you stay with us, you will have to try some of award winning restaurants - we have over 20 restaurants and bars, so plenty to choose from. There is also a new restaurant opening in the hotel lobby in February 2014.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future - please get in contact with me directly so that I may make your reservations for you.

Kind Regards,


Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,413
    744
    215
    70
    27
See reviews for
233
1,362
143
460
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bowral, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
507 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

My third stay here & it won't be my last. Great location, rooms & staff. Loud road work made street walking & restaurant dining impossible but once that's done, it will be fab again.
A must in Auckland!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Gloria Jean R,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel - and thanks for staying again!

I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. In regards to the road works - we are working with the Auckland City Council to redevelope Federal Street into a more pedestrianised street - which will allow a lot more versatility and usability for our guests and restaurants. The street will be fully completed in May 2014, with the work directly outside of the hotel completed at the end of January.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon - please do not hesitate to contact me directly so I can make your reservations for you.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We spent our Christmas week in Skycity Grand and it was a very pleasant experience. The room was spacious, clean and we had the seaside view so no complaints there. Very nice amenities, good bed, quite room. Nothing much to fault without being exceptional.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msgtoelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear msgtoelina,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us at the SKYCITY Grand Hotel. We always appreciated receiving guest feedback.

I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us over the Christmas week.

There is a lot of work going on in and around the hotel, and we look forward to the new developments being completed within the next 6 months - next time you visit I am sure there will be changes!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future - please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly.

Kind Regards,


Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Recently booked in a night at SkyCity Grand to attend our work Christmas function and thought we would check out one of the refurbished rooms for our stay.

Once again we were not disappointed with our experience. From check in to check out the staff were very friendly and helpful.

We love the new rooms, they are very tastefully decorated with a nice new look. The bed was so comfortable we didn't want to get up the next morning! Love the Nespresso too, a nice touch! My wife found the new toiletries a little masculine though.

Can't wait to stay again when the new lobby bar is open and the renovations have finished.

Room Tip: Definitely get a Harbour View room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flash6481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear flash6481,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel - and thanks for staying again and trying our new rooms!

I was pleased to read your review - the beds are very comfortable, and the Nespressos are a nice touch in the suites.

The lobby bar is now open, and the new restaurant will open in February 2014.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon, and I look forward to hearing your feedback about the new Lobby Bar.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Recently stayed for one night in early December,loved this hotel and did exceeded our expectations. Room was lovely,had all the facilities (draws full of stuff at an extra price was there if needed)comfy bed,blackout curtains,late 11am checkout,lovely bath with goodies too and right outside our window was the sky tower an city with great easy access to free wifi.Perfect location,and even though the hotel IS next door to the sky tower / casino and all the busy city amenities right around you the room was so quite and no-one was being noisy at all. Would highly recommend and this is the place we shall be staying from now on after numerous stays at other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Deluxe kind room-level 5 city view and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Joe C,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us - I have passed on all of your feedback below to our teams - they love receiving feedback such as yours!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the SKYCITY Grand Hotel again soon - please get in touch with me directly to make your reservations.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancaster, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We got off a cruise ship and spent 4 days in Auckland. The location was great...we walked to the hotel from the Pier. We arrived in mid morning and our room was ready and check in was fast and friendly. The room was modern and clean...the bathroom was very well designed with an excellent tub and shower. The concierge staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is surrounded by many bars and restaurants. You don't have to go far to find a good place to eat.
The business centre was very comfortable and came in handy because we were not travelling with a laptop. All in all we were very impressed and would not hesitate to stay there again.
Only negatives...our view into other rooms at the Crown Plaza and the construction near the elevators.

Room Tip: Try not to face the Crown Plaza. Not sure which direction we were looking. We were on the 20th floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WelovedAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear WelovedAuckland,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel!

I was pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us - I will be sure to pass on your comments about the concierge team. They love receiving guest feedback - it just makes what they do, that much more rewarding!

We are spoilt for choice with the number of restaurants and bars within the complex, and we have just recently completed construction of the new hotel Lobby Bar - with an Italian restaurant to follow in February 2014.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in New Zealand - please get in touch with us directly to make your reservation.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We decided to have a lovely start to a busy week by staying in the "grand" sky hotel premium luxury room i922 a newly refurbished room. As we have stayed in the sky city hotel we could not help but compare there was hand soap in the bathroom to wash hands when needed and the telephone did not work.. I found it a little cheap and strange that there was no duvet cover on our bed it had top and bottom sheet then a duvet inner and a white sheet on top it seemed a little unhygienic. We had a lovely breakfast on the terrace the staff were very attentive and polite the room was very clean although the air conditioner was quite loud it rattled a little at night. The spa pool did not appear to work properly and the button did not work so we had no bubbles simply a hot bath with strangers. The other thing i found strange was a door in the wardrobe with slated boards opened up to a frosted window in the bathroom but it lead no where and seemed to have no use or function.

Room Tip: The views from the large corridor windows overlooking the sky tower etc were beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GenevieveVanEden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear GenevieveVanEden,

Thank you for your review about your experience with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I was glad to hear that you stayed in one of our new rooms - we have recently completed the third level of rooms to be completed, and are looking forward to having the next few levels completed by April 2014.

I have ensured that your feedback has been passed on to our housekeeping team, as well as your comment about the spa.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel - please get in touch with me directly, so we can arrange your stay for you.

Kind Regards,


Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,265 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 67 in Auckland
1,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
2,266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland
1,181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Grand Hotel

Property: SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Address: 90 Federal St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Auckland
#1 Business Hotel in Auckland
#2 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#5 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — SKYCITY Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an oasis of luxury in the heart of Auckland’s vibrant city. Beautifully appointed, modern and spacious rooms are just the start of this 5-star experience. Stunning views, award-winning dining, the iconic Sky Tower and the tranquil East Day Spa await you. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your SKYCITY Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky City Hotel
Skycity Grand Auckland
Hotel Skycity Grand
SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing