We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Skycity not so Grand” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SKYCITY Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
110 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Skycity not so Grand”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Ok so there is nothing particularly wrong with this hotel except that I feel it doesn't warrant it's 5 star rating.
We have stayed in many 5 star hotels throughout the world and feel that to deserve a 5 star billing hotels should have something special perhaps in the facilities they offer or the service.
Here the gym and pool area were reasonable, the buffet breakfast had plenty of choice and the quality was ok but nothing special. There was no evening room turndown service which I would expect and whilst the staff did their jobs there was no warmth. We ordered a quick bar snack for lunch which took forever to arrive.
This may be the best hotel in Auckland, but if you arrive anticipating a 5 star hotel comparable to those in Sydney, Singapore, Johannesburg etc you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucyleopard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Lucyleopard,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I was disappointed to read that you did not feel we are a true 5 star hotel and have taken your comments on board, and used these as a training tool with our team. We take pride in the levels of service we deliver, and I do apologise that on this occassion you felt like we did not deliver.

Should you wish to stay with us again - please get in touch with me directly, so that I may arrange your reservations for you.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,353
    711
    207
    68
    25
See reviews for
219
1,304
136
442
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gisborne, Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed at the Sky City Grand Hotel, for a weekend getaway. Our room was lovely (amazing view) clean, comfortable and modern. The pool/gym was excellent. The staff were friendly (especially the lovely valet man!) and we loved our in-room dining! A very memorable experience and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Courtney P,

Thank you for your post on Tripadvisor.

I was thrilled to read that you had an enjoyable stay - I loved your comment about our team and I have passed this on to them all - they love receiving feedback such as yours!

We do look forward to welcoming you back again soon, so please do get in contact with me directly so I can arrange your reservations for you.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

We arrived at the Skycity Grand very tired after a long journey to discover that we had been upgraded to a wonderful suite with great views across Auckland. Everything about this hotel is five star and particularly the staff, for whom nothing was too much trouble. Unfortunately on our second night I was taken ill and the staff were hugely helpful, even providing a couple of medics to assist my wife in dealing with me. The hotel is situated literally in the shadow of the Sky Tower and is conveniently located for the Downtown area and waterfront. We would heartily recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a comfortable and affordable city centre base in Auckland.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Graham L,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay, and that you were upgraded! I have passed your feedback on to the team - they always love receiving feedback such as yours from our guests.

I do hope that you have now recovered and are feeling better.

We look forward to welcoming you and your wife back again soon - please do contact me direclty so I can organise your reservations for you.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed at the Sky City Grand Hotel for our wedding night and it was perfect. The room was very modern, clean & comfortable. Great location too! We had such a wonderful time staying at the Grand Hotel and would definitely book there again when staying in central Auckland.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Michael A,

Congratulations on your recent marriage! And thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us!

We do look forward to welcoming you back again soon - I am sure we can organise something special for your wedding anniversary. Please contact me direclty, so that I can organise your reservations for you.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

I must say by far, your stay at The Grand Hotel and Sky City Casino will stay with you forever!
The staff are amazing and extremely friendly. It's like being treated like royalty.
Situated right in the heart of the city. The fun part is you simply park the car for your duration and don't get back in it till you leave.
The casino is a must see. Even for grabbing a cold beer and people watching from The Aces Bar.
I highly recommend booking at this establishment.

Its like Trump Tower!
Cheers

Room Tip: Try The Occidental Belgian bar off Lower Queen Street. Great mussels and beer. Also the Cowboys bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ethan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Ethan G,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I loved passing on your comments about the team to them at their daily briefing - it brought a smile to their faces and they were very pleased with themselves!

We have over 20 restaurants and bars on site, so our guests are spoilt for choice for places to have a drink or a bite to eat. We are adding a restaurant to the Grand Hotel Lobby in the next 4 weeks, and we are looking forward to having that available to our guests.

We do look forward to welcoming you back again soon - please get in touch with me directly, so that I can arrange your reservations for you.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We've stayed at the SkyCity previously but this was the first time at SkyCity Grand. Lovely hotel, decent size room. The gym was great with modern equipment and the pool was nice too.
Only downside was that the room was cleaned at and 5pm each day. There was also a lot of footpath and road works at the time but that can't be helped and you couldn't hear it in the rooms.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becstar107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Becstar107,


I was pleased to read your feedback regarding your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel. I will ensure that it is passed on to the team - they love receiving our guest feedback!

In regards to the road works - I do apologise if this caused you any inconvenience. We are working with the Auckland City Council to create a more pedestrianised street, and we are looking forward to having it finished in May 2014.

We do look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in the near future - please get in touch with my directly, so that I can arrange your reservations for you.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Thank you so much to the team at Sky City Grand Hotel! Our stay was for 7 nights and throughout our time we enjoyed it very much. The rooms are clean and modern and the restaurants are very nice, Rebo was our favourite. The staff are very friendly and defiantly go out of their way to help you with your needs. The hotel itself is set in an easy location just moments from Downtown Auckland and Ferry terminals. Good job guys I will definitely be returning! :)

Daniela

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielac20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Danielac20,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience while staying with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay - we have a fantastic team here at The Grand and they will enjoy receiving your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon - please do contact me directly, so that I may make your reservations for you.

Kind Regards,

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,954 reviews
0.0 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,132 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,085 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Grand Hotel

Property: SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Address: 90 Federal St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Auckland
#1 Green Hotel in Auckland
#1 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#5 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — SKYCITY Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an oasis of luxury in the heart of Auckland’s vibrant city. Beautifully appointed, modern and spacious rooms are just the start of this 5-star experience. Stunning views, award-winning dining, the iconic Sky Tower and the tranquil East Day Spa await you. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your SKYCITY Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky City Hotel
Skycity Grand Auckland
Hotel Skycity Grand
SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing