We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Nearby Hotels
SKYCITY Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Auckland(Auckland Central)
US$264
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Grand Millennium Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Fitness centre
  • Free Internet
Cordis, Auckland by Langham Hospitality Group(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Scenic Hotel Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel DeBrett(Auckland Central)
US$248
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$131
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Stamford Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,711)
Filter reviews
2,711 results
Traveller rating
1,565
808
233
75
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,565
808
233
75
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssky towerpremium luxurybaby grand packagemacaroonsfederal streetharbour view roomnew zealandpillow menustar hotelvalet parkinglobby barthe heart of the citycentral locationrestaurants and barsbuffet breakfastlong flightqueen street
Filter
Updating list...
1,564 - 1,569 of 2,711 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Downtown location with a quick turn over... our suite was splendid but the hotel itself a bit too noisy and "under ongoing exterior remodeling/construction" so we switched to the Langham Hotel, which turned out to be an excellent choice. Ineza and Matt Surowiecki, Seattle, U.S.A.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ineczulka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Dear Ineczulka,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I do apologise that you found the hotel too noisy - the redevelopment of Federal Street is currently taking place - the major works outside the front of the hotel are now completed, and the road is to be 100% complted in May 2014.

Should you visit Auckland again, please do get in touch with me directly, so that I may arrange your reservations for you.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Decided to splurge on our last night in NZ. My partner was turning 50 so we booked a Premium Harbour view king and were pleasantly surprised with an upgrade to a suite room with bottle of bubbly. The rooms as you could expect from a suite were luxurious, spacious, clean and beds comfy. The views of the harbour were amazing. The only downside was I pre-ordered chocolates which were not there when we arrived.
There are many dining options and I would suggest you book in advance particularly ones with views in the Sky tower. We ended up dining at the Grill. The food and service was excellent and the atmosphere lively.
The casino is right across the road from the front of hotel. This was very convenient as we both enjoy the occasional flutter on the gaming tables. However there are road works, so access can be a little trickly. In fact, we had a hire car and drove down from the Bay of Islands region and when we arrived at the entrance towards the hotel access was restricted and we ended up in the sky city carpark. We then had to unload our bags and get across from Skycity hotel to the Grand hotel.
Checkout was not as efficient as check in. We put this down to the trainee that served us as the hotel had mistakenly added extra charges for services we didn't receive (i.e. the chocolates!)
Overall, enjoyed the stay and would stay again, minus the road works.

Room Tip: If you can afford a suite-go for it. Higher floors the better for harbour views and are quiet.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dc77au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Dear dc77au,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic reveiw about your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel - it was a pleasure to read!

We do apologise for any inconvenience caused by the upgrade and redevelopment of Federal Street - the major works outside the front of the hotel are now complete, and we are looking forward to the whole project being completed in May 2014.

I was pleased to read your comments about the rooms, and do apologise for the non-arrival of the chocolates you ordered - I have addressed this with the team.

We do hope that you will visit us again the next time you are in Auckland - please get in touch with me directly, so that I may arrange your reservations for you.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We have just returned from a weeks holiday in Auckland where we stayed at the SkyCity Grand for the entire time. Previously we have stayed at the Langham, which is also a great hotel but it is not situated in the heart of the city and makes access to attractions more difficult.
Staying at a hotel associated with a casino is often difficult but the Grand is a little removed from the actual casino with access to the casino area by a walk way.
The room was well appointed, we had views over the bay on the 20th floor. Bathroom generous and one huge bonus a good hairdryer! Good toiletries and plenty of towels. Good internet access in all areas of the room. Newspapers in the am if requested.
We did have an issue with one of the restuarants that we dined at in the complex but the matter was swiftly addressed by management and it was nice to see that our complaint was taken seriously.
The hotel is located within walking distance of the wharf area (about 10 - 15mins good walk) and close to the Art Gallery which is worth a visit. There are a lot of places to eat in the surrounding streets.
We chose not to have breakfast at the hotel and opted for breakfast either at the Federal or the Depot - both next door to the hotel and both owned by Al Brown one of NZ's leading chefs. Great places to eat (all day!) and both very different in design. Highly recommend both of them.
For dinner we ate at the Masu Japanese restaurant associated with the hotel - wonderful meal. But the highlight of our eating experience was The Sugar Club, on the 53rd floor of the casino. Wonderful views over Auckland, excellent service, fantastic food. If you only have one night to splurge on dinner then eat here! We took the 3 course option with a couple of side dishes and it was more than enough.
We had the opportunity to eat at SidArt whilst in Auckland and although this rates as their top restaurant and was very good, The Sugar Club beats it hands down.
Enjoy Auckland and the SkyCity Grand - both have lots to offer.
(I have ticked good value for money as we had a great 3 for 2 night offer - so look out for those bargains)

Room Tip: Get one overlooking the bay if you can and the higher the better.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieTraveller3204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Dear AussieTraveller3204,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

It was a delight reading your feedback. With over 20 restaurants and bars within the SKYCITY Auckland complex, our guests are spoilt for choice for dining options. We have a new restaurant opening in the Grand Hotel Lobby on Tuesday, 11th February - Gusto Cucina and Bar - a new Italian restaurant run by Sean Connolly, who also is the face of the The Grill.
The Sugar Club is something special isn't it? The location is fantastic, and the fodd is wonderful.

Should you ever visit Auckland again, we would love to welcome you back to The Grand Hotel - please get in touch with me directly so that I may arrange your reservations for you.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Very nice and modern room with good size. Although the loby is part of stores comlex, they manage to give you personal attention with a smile. The sky tower is part of the complex. The on hop bus stop in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nitzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Dear nitzan,


Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay with us, and found the rooms to be of a good size.

SKYCITY Grand is part of SKYCITY Auckland - which comprises two hotels, a casino, the Skytower, East Day Spa, as well as over 20 restaurants and bars - so our guests are spoilt for choice when it comes to entertainment.

Should you travel to Auckland again, we would love to welcome you back - please get in touch with me direclty, so that I can personally arrange your reservations for you.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

After being screwed around by another nearby hotel, we booked one nights stay in a luxury king room in the SkyCity Grand Hotel.
Upon arrival, there was an issue with the booking; it apparently takes some time to be transferred into the system, and we had booked only half an hour prior to arriving.
We dealt with a lovely gentleman, who immediately upgraded us to a harbour view room, and then to a premier suite because he was still having issues with the computer system.
So, we paid $188 for a night in a $450 suite. Everything was excellent, including the room and the concierge's service.
If you have the money, I'd recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jazlefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Dear jazlefreak,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay, and that the team were able to upgrade you to one of our suites. There is a delay between online bookings, and then entering our system, however I do apologise for any inconvenience caused by the delay.

I have passed your comments on regarding the service to our team - they love receiving feedback such as yours.

We trust you will visit us again soon - please do get in touch with myself directly, so that I can personally arrange your reservations for you.


Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews