We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Auckland's Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I have stayed at the Sky City Grand many times and it is consistently the best hotel in Auckland. The staff are wonderfully helpful and the amenities are outstanding. The hotel is in a superb precinct of the city which allows easy access to all the attractions and an array of first class bars and restaurants.
The hotel decor is very modern and the rooms are spotless and spacious. I recommend this hotel to any visitor to Auckland who expects high standards and a professional hotel experience.
KBH Wellington

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Kevin H

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at The Grand Hotel.

It was lovely to read your feedback, we are proud to be your hotel of choice when visiting Auckland and I look forward to passing your feedback onto the team.

We look forward to your next stay at The Grand Hotel.

Kind Regards


Alison Borland | Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.borland@skycity.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,404 - 1,410 of 2,546 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014

We had a bumpy ride last time with concierge but that was taken care of swiftly to our satisfaction .
This stay was very enjoyable , great location and very hand to the central city.Federal street rocks, lots of choices for drinks or coffee, brunch etc.
Harbour view suites are in hot demand, hope we can get one next time. We had a very nice city view suite , newly refurbished to a high standard.
Overall, Highly recommended.
Paul & Jackie NZ

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulyb55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Paulyb55

Thank you for your recent review of The Grand Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Harbour View Rooms are extremely popular and do fill up very quickly. If you need any help making your next booked, please do ask.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards


Alison Borland | Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.borland@skycity.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Spacious rooms, very good housekeeping and exceptionally warm service we found during our two nights. Stayed here for our pre-cruise stay with and would recommend highly to anyone from out of town looking for a centrally located hotel for couples.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Californiatraveler_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Californiatraveler_8

Thank you for your recent review of The Grand Hotel.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, our Housekeeping Team work hard and I look forward to passing on your compliments.

I hope you had a wonderful cruise and we hope to welcome you back to The Grand Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards


Alison Borland | Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.borland@skycity.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I have stayed here many times mainly for a 1 night stop before heading back tot he airport. The SkyCity hotel is good quality and has a number of nice restaurants located around it. The hotel is centrally located and easy to get to places I need for work. The rooms are modern and nice with comfy beds and good quality bathrooms. Internet still isn't free. I had a small problem with the TV as it wouldn't turn off so I just unplugged it from the wall--problem solved.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ant W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Ant W,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay. Wifi has been complimentary since April 2013, so I am unsure as to why you did not have free internet. The team are more than willing to assist with the log in process.

We trust you will visit us again soon - please get in touch with me directly so that I can arrange your reservation for you.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

As we entered there was some heavy work going on in the street and the welcome was a low key affair and we were like UM!! but as we moved into the room the comfort levels were good,completely noise insulated, the room service was really great and menu excellent. The staff was extremely friendly and stay very comfortable. The room bar was a big big surprise, for first time i felt that i was not being scalped.The Casino next door was soul comforting.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asutosh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Asutosh G

Thank you for your recent review of The Grand Hotel, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

The work taking place on Federal Street is not ideal but the space will look wonderful when it is completed in May of this year and I am pleased it did not impact on your stay.

We have recently made changes to our mini bar selection and I am glad you liked we had on offer.

We hope to welcome you back to The Grand Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards


Alison Borland | Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
alison.borland@skycity.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

While we checked in, what should have been a routine greeting from staff "how are you? and what brought you here with us" became a very pleasant surprise. We preferred low profile so we only lightly answered that we were in honeymoon. In return, we received sincere blessing from staffs. Not even fifteen mins pass by after we settled down in our spacious room, a knock on the door and a bottle of chilled sparkling wine and a card signed by manager were delivered. We were blown away because we certainly did not expect this.
Location of the hotel is also perfect. It is situated right above local favorite eatery Depot and across from SKYcity Hotel and its casino. Our room was very spacious and with updated/newly refurbished decoration. They also have something called the pillow menu which you can ask for a specific type of pillow, just think that's very thoughtful and cool.
We had a fantastic stay and would definitely recommend SKYcity Grand to everyone who is visiting Auckland.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yushan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Yushan M

Thank you for your recent review of The Grand Hotel – what a pleasure to read.

We love looking after our guests especially when it is a special occasion and I am so pleased the team looked after you during your stay and you enjoyed your night at The Grand.

I look forward to passing your feedback on and we hope to welcome you back to The Grand Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards


Alison Borland | Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.borland@skycity.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Really nice room very upmarket modern and clean - great location next to SkyCity casino and in the central city. I found the pillow too big and had a bad sleep but that's only me. A lot of food options close by

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nzsteve1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear nzsteve 1234

Thank you for your review of The Grand Hotel.

I have to agree with you that we are ideally located within Auckland with an abundance of restaurants and bars on our doorstep.

I am sorry that you did not have a restful sleep - we do have a pillow menu in each room with a selection of pillows to suit every need and I welcome you to contact me before your next stay and I will be more than happy to arrange your preferred pillow and note it on your profile.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards


Alison Borland | Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.borland@skycity.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,882 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,371 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#12 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Grand Hotel

Address: 90 Federal St, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#1 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#2 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#3 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £129 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SKYCITY Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an oasis of luxury in the heart of Auckland’s vibrant city. Beautifully appointed, modern and spacious rooms are just the start of this 5-star experience. Stunning views, award-winning dining, the iconic Sky Tower and the tranquil East Day Spa await you. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your SKYCITY Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky City Hotel
Skycity Grand Auckland
Hotel Skycity Grand
SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing