We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Nearby Hotels
SKYCITY Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Auckland(Auckland Central)
US$264
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$242
Hilton
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Grand Millennium Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Fitness centre
  • Free Internet
Cordis, Auckland by Langham Hospitality Group(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Scenic Hotel Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel DeBrett(Auckland Central)
US$248
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Stamford Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,711)
Filter reviews
2,711 results
Traveller rating
1,565
808
233
75
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,565
808
233
75
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssky towerpremium luxurybaby grand packagemacaroonsfederal streetharbour view roomnew zealandpillow menustar hotelvalet parkinglobby barthe heart of the citycentral locationrestaurants and barsbuffet breakfastlong flightqueen street
Filter
Updating list...
1,542 - 1,547 of 2,711 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Good location easy access to main shopping area in Queen Street and convenient walk to the harbour area.

Rooms are average, comfortable but cannot be classified as Grand or outstanding.

Lobby seemed very chaotic as it was full to bursting point with luggage as a cruise liner was also checking in / out on the day we arrived so it was not a very welcoming sight

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaxSpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear MaxSpark,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feeback about your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I was disappointed to read that you found the rooms average - we are currently undergoing a room refurbishement, and have completed the first 4 floors of the project, with the rest of the hotel to be completed in the coming year.

Thank you again for your feeback, and we do hope that you will stay with us again in the near future. Please get in touch with me directly so that I can arrange your reservation for you.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We arrived Xmas eve morning, exhausted from 22 hours of flying. The Grand allowed us to check into our rooms 7 hours early and did not even charge us extra. We were so grateful to be able to just collapse onto beautiful beds. It was relaxing, lovely-- perfect. We had Christmas morning brunch there the next day and it was so most expansive, gorgeous brunch I think I had ever experienced. Thank you for a great stay. We hope to be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gena424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Gena424,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

The title of your review sums up your stay in two words... thank you for the great feedback!

I was pleased to read that you had a "perfect stay" with us, and that the team were able to provide a room for you when you arrived at the hotel early morning. We do recommend our guests that should they be arriving on early flights, to pre-book the hotel room for the night prior to ensure they are given immediated access to their rooms. Alternatively, they can leave it to chance - and see if anything is available when they arrive.

I have passed your feedback on about the restaurant and brunch - it is a fantastic breakfast offering, that we are very proud of.

Thank you again for your feedback - it was a pleausre to read.

We trust you will visit us again soon - please get in touch with me directly so that I can arrange your reservation for you.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Another fantastic stay at the 'Grand'. The concierge is amazing, genuinely the most friendly person in the world and full of old world charm. Reception staff very friendly and helpful, rooms lovely, and dining experiences second to none without having to walk any distance. Would thoroughly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AALattimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear AALattimer,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us at Skycity Grand Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you found the staff to be fantastic - they love receiving feedback such as yours - it makes their job that much more rewarding.

We are spoilt for choice when it comes to dining at SKYCITY - so many fantastic options to choose from!

Thank you again for your feedback. We trust you will visit us again soon - please get in touch with me directly so that I can arrange your reservation for you.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The hotel ( The Grand ) is adjacent to Sky City Tower which gives you access to all it's facilities close at hand.
The hotel while quite impresive, the reception area gives an impression of emptyness and has a rather cold and bleak feel. Only staying for one night I can;t comment on it's facilities or service, reception very efficient and friendly. Our room was excellent with two double beds and a plentyful supply of tea and coffee etc. The breakfast was excellent with a wide choice to suit all tastes with a very efficient staff.
The hotel is suffering at the moment ( Feb 2014 ) from some extesive building work going on in the road along side but dosn't generally interfere with the comfort of your stay.
The hotel is about 1 K from the waterfront while a walk down Queens St gives you a variety shops to check out. A taxi to the waterfront will cost between $6-$7. The waterfront is the place to head for as it offers plenty of restauraunts and ferry trips ect, it also looks good and has a very pleasant atmosphere.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiddosky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Kiddosky,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Grand Hotel.

I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us - it was a pleasure to read your feedback.

Federal Street is undergoing some major redevelopment at the moment - with works due to completed at the beginning of June 2014.

Thank you again for your positive feedback - we trust you will visit us again soon - please get in touch with me directly so that I can arrange your reservation for you.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed at the Sky City Grand for 2 nights (February 9-11, 2014). We stayed next door at the Sky City Hotel for one night before moving here. Between the 2 properties, the Grand is quieter and a little newer & nicer in spite of the construction outside the door. The lobby & front desk is not remarkable. Check in & check out were a breeze. Most of the cruise lines book their passengers in this hotel. The bell service is very efficient, friendly & professional especially Manuel. Location is a 5-minute walk from the busy Queen Street shopping (3 blocks), restaurants & banks. Save your energy as it is an uphill walk back to the hotel. The area around the hotel is not that nice but it's not too bad as Auckland is just like any other city. We felt safe walking around. There is no casino inside the Sky City Grand. The Sky Casino is inside the Sky City Hotel which is right next door. There's a restaurant next to the front desk. We got a double room (one king-size bed & one twin) with a big picture window. It was modern, nice decor, very clean & very comfortable beds & fresh linens. Housekeeping was attentive and efficient. Wifi was free, a big plus. The bathroom was big with a tub & shower and very clean. Water tend to seep outside the shower so we had to put towels on the floor to stop the leakage. Overall, we enjoyed our stay here. Take a look at the pictures I took to see for yourself.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Celestial G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear TellyGabriel,

Thank you for taking the time to right such an extensive review about your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

Excellent customer service is of paramount importance to SKYCITY and I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. It is only through such feedback that we are able to improve our service, our products and the attention to detail.

I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us - although disappointed to read about the experience with the shower - it would be great if you could let me know which room you were in, so that I can have our maintenance team look at it immediately.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide your feedback, it is much appreciated.

We trust you will visit us again soon - please get in touch with me directly so that I can arrange your reservation for you.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews