We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Hotel with 4 Star service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5 Star Hotel with 4 Star service”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We visited Skycity Grand Hotel for the Easter long weekend break in Auckland CBD. The hotel is close to all main locations and activities in the CBD.

For best meal deals visit the Fortuna Buffet Restaurant at the Skycity hotel just across the road.

Pros:
- Walking distance to most CBD locations and short drive to tourist attractions
- Free WifI
- cheap valet parking. Only $35 per day unlimited access. (cheaper than self parking)
- Friendly and courteous staff
- Free TV and business desk

Cons:

- Less amenities and toiletries provided compared to other 5 Star hotel we've stated at.
- Poor housekeeping service. Rooms were not thoroughly cleaned
- Most of the items were refilled only on request
- Insufficient staff to manage guest in the evening, and after hours. (eg: valet parking, reception, concierge service etc..)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckid2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear ckid2006,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay, and that you found the staff to be friendly and courteous. I was however, disappointed to read your comments around the staffing levels and the amenities in the room - I will address both with our management team.

Thank you again for your feedback, we do look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,413
    744
    215
    70
    27
See reviews for
233
1,362
143
460
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

after landing in aukland me and the missus decided to splash and stay here, great choice, relaxing, luxurious and great service, awesome food up the skytower too, booked in to stay at the end of the trip before heading home

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fromlondononwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear fromlondononwards,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you both had an enjoyable stay with us and that you had a great time!

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgetown, Barbados
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

I am recently back from a quick trip to New Zealand. I stayed first at the Skycity Grand before taking a road trip around North Island. On our return to Auckland we stayed at the Crown Plaza. The Skycity is much nicer and worth the extra cash. Both are very well located but the beds in Skycity are lovely and the room felt like it had more space. Make sure to pull your blinds because the folks across the street in the offices and other hotels can enjoy your view and vice versa (some people were working away too late). The restaurants at Skycity were fantastic though! I enjoyed Belotta but Masu was the highlight. We ended up going on our last night as well.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank WITravellingDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear WITravellingDiva,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay with us, and were able to try out two of our amazing restaurants. Masu is relatively new - and is very popular amongst our guests. Our guests are spoilt for choice with over 20 restaurants and bars within the SKYCITY complex.

Thank you again for your feedback - we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Loved our night here on a short staycation. The bed was super comfortable and bathroom had an excellent shower. The room was clean, spacious and very quiet. The only annoying thing was the super bright lights on the bedside clock. However, the clock was also a docking station with great sound so no real problem there! Decided to save a little money and opted for a room without a harbour view as figured we would be out and about most of the time. We used the valet parking service to save getting lost in the SkyCity carpark - this was reasonably priced given we were in central Auckland. Easy to walk to local attractions. We didn't use room service - the menu was a little uninspiring but honestly, there is no point eating in the room when there are so many fantastic dining options on Federal St - eg. Federal Deli, Depot, The Grill....All hotel staff were polite and professional. Highly recommended and will be back when we next need a break from the routine at home.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ppppaulau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear ppppaulau,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your "staycation" with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and were able to try a few of our wonderful restaurants - we are spoilt for choice here at SKYCITY, with over 20 restaurants and bars to choose from.

The iHome docking station in the rooms - these have dimmer buttons on them - so you can dim the display light at night time.

Thank you again for your feedback - we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Have just had a lovely night at Skycity Grand in a very comfortable room overlooking the Harbour Bridge.
Comfortable couch to relax on with sun streaming into our room. Nice deep bath, rain shower & very comfortable bed.
The room was clean & very quiet. Recommend this as one of the best Hotels in Auckland that we have stayed.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raelene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Raelene S,

I was pleased to read your review about your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel. Our harbour view rooms and suites are fantastic. I was pleased to read that you found the room comfortable, and that you enjoyed the rain head showers - one of the great new features of our refurbished rooms!

Thank you again for your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed here as a couple, as a romantic night away from our kids.The room was around $300 a night and we were expecting the 'wow' factor for this price.

Upon arrival we had to carry our own bags, we weren't greeted on the desk, actually we expected the desk to ask if we needed help with dinner reservations etc, or at least explain the casino to us, like where it was and how to get there. All we were told was "your on the 17th floor".

Entering the room we were dissapointed, there was no wow factor, the bathroom was small , the room adequate. All the appliances etc were new, the toiletries, robes and linen was nice, we just expected more of a wow factor. Our 'city view' that we paid for was looking directly at the apartment block next to us.

Once we worked out where the pool was, this was excellent, top rate pool, sauna and spa.

We had breakfast at Gusto in the morning, this was lovely with excellent service and food.

On checkout we had to wait 15mins as there was a queue (surely a 5 star hotel would know that everyone is going to checkout at 11 and roster staff at this time!). Were weren't asked how our stay was etc. We waited around 10mins for our valet car to be brought around.

It was good but not excellent, and for $300 we will stay somewhere else next time

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SashAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear SashAuckland,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I was disappointed to read that you did not feel your stay had the "WOW" factor. I have addressed your comments regarding the lack of service with the team, and they pass on their apologies to you and your partner.

Gusto is the newest addition to over 20 restaurants and bars within the SKYCITY complex - I am glad to read that you had an enjoyable expereience, and will pass your comments on to the team.

Thank you again for your feedback, it is only with feedback such as yours that we can continue to develop and improve our level of customer service. Should you wish to stay wish us again, please do not hesitate to contact me directly, so that I can arrange your reservations for you.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melboutne
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Very pleasant staff, nice friendly doorman. My room was very large, with king bed I paid for views & all I got was another accommodation windows to look into. Room had mini fridge, tea coffee, robes, safe, toiletries, skycity casino across the road. Very central hotel. 10 minutes walk to ferries. 3-5 minute walk to airport airbus. $16 one way. This hotel had fast free wifi that was very good & never cut out. Buffet breakfast was amazing, so much to choose from.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foreveritalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear foreveritalian,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us - and will be sure to pass on your great feeback about our team to them.

Free Wifi is such a necessity these days, and we are happy to be able to offer this to all of our guests, at no additional charge.

I was also pleased to read that you had an enjoyable breakfast at Gusto, the newest addition to over 20 restaurants and bars, within the SKYCITY Complex. Gusto is headed up by Sean Connolly, who is also the name behind The Grill, in the Grand Hotel lobby.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we do look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Please feel free to contact me direcly, so that I can arrange your reservations for you.


Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,266 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 67 in Auckland
1,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
2,266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland
1,181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Grand Hotel

Property: SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Address: 90 Federal St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Auckland
#1 Green Hotel in Auckland
#2 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#5 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — SKYCITY Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an oasis of luxury in the heart of Auckland’s vibrant city. Beautifully appointed, modern and spacious rooms are just the start of this 5-star experience. Stunning views, award-winning dining, the iconic Sky Tower and the tranquil East Day Spa await you. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your SKYCITY Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky City Hotel
Skycity Grand Auckland
Hotel Skycity Grand
SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing