We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Canberra
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What we expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Spacious rooms, well appointed with exceptionally comfortable King size bed. Nice additions include pillow menus. Would stay again. Central to everything if you're ok for a 10 minwalk to the harbour. Skytower revolving restaurant on the last night was excellent with spectacular views - full rotation hourly.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms overlook Casino and skytower
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Kelly C,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay, and were also able to eat at Orbit - our revloving restaurant in the Sky Tower. This is just one of our restaurants, we have over 20 restaurants and bars within the SKYCITY complex.

Thank you for your lovely comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,380
    723
    211
    69
    26
See reviews for
225
1,331
137
449
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Have stayed at this hotel on many occasions both for business and pleasure during short stays in Auckland. This hotel
is reliable, clean and in a very good
location but don't expect anything fancy or grand as such. For a 5 star hotel there is room for improvement.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EliteAmbassador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear EliteAmbassador,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I was pleased to read that you are a return guest of ours. I would welcome any direct contact regarding your comments around the areas for improvement, and look forward to hearing from you.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide your feedback.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
326 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

This was my first time at Skycity Grand Hotel and I can highly recommend it.

The location is excellent and I found the room, staff efficiency & friendliness and the breakfasts at Gusto to be top notch.

Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffAnnabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear GeoffAnnabel,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay, and I will be sure to pass on your comments about Gusto to the team there.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about your stay - we do look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We booked the "Baby Grand Package", we had our expectations set high for Skycity Grand, as we were forking out a little bit more luxury. When we arrived we were greeted by a lovely concierge who helped assist us with our baggage and as we were using the valet parking service sorted that out as well. This was a magnificent welcome, and hoped this would continue throughout our stay. The reception was pretty crowded with people, so there was a bit of a wait before we could check-in. The receptionist who did check us in, was not as friendly and lacked the personality of the concierge, but still was very efficient and we were given key cards for the rooms. The lobby was quite impressive but felt the layout of it was a bit unusual. The rooms were of a very high quality, and exactly what you would expect of a 5-star hotel. We were still quite impressed. We decided to head down to use the facilities (Pool, Spa and Sauna). It was super crowded with kids and families although we had no problem with this! As they soon left. We found out that there should have been towels available to use by the pool, but there were none in sight! Another couple, told us that there are some in the gym... but there were smaller than hand towels!!! So no good for drying anything with! Eventually we managed to find some, which had probably been used before as they were left in a heap! We also found it bizarre the layout of the pool and spa etc and could have been designed much better!! Although, we later found the whole hotel layout, could have perhaps been designed much better.. With so many back entrances and hallways! The biggest let down of all was the breakfast the next day. Usually hotel breakfasts are amazing!!! But Skycity Grand, really ought to improve theirs! the continental breakfast was okay but nothing special. There was no hot buffet available, and the al-acarte was okay. Overall, I believe our stay was great, although felt a little in-personal at times, with being such a large hotel. Avoid paying for breakfast, and go elsewhere!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liam404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear liam404,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I was disappointed to read that overall you didn't have an enjoyable stay with us.

I have passed on your feedback about the team, and will be sure to use your comments as a training tool with them. In regards to the pool area, we have in place regular checks of this area, and it appears that due to the busyness of the pool and gym area, we did indeed run out of towels between the checks. I have addressed this with the Housekeeping team and management.

Gusto Cucina and Bar is our newest restaurant, which is also the location of our breakfast restaurant. I do apologise if you felt that the continental breakfast selection was not up to your standard - we have received a lot of positive comments regarding this, so I do welcome you to comtact me direclty, so that we can further assess where the problems were.

Thank you again for taking the time to comment about your stay - we do look forward to welcoming you back again soon, where I can be sure that we will meet if not exceed your expectations.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
634 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

As the main street outside the hotel was being renovated into a mall, there was construction everywhere and the airport shuttle bus could not access the front door, but they did have a process in place and the concierge took our luggage to the shuttle bus for us, which was only a minute away.

Check-in and check-out was good. Friendly staff.

Good-sized room which was quite nicely decorated with everything you would tend to need. (Later we discovered the TV kept flicking off to another “station” which was quite annoying but we couldn’t be bothered to see why it was doing it or to report it).

The shower door seemed to be “back to front” as you had to enter the shower and close the door, before you could turn the shower on. Other than that – no complaints.

We had a view of the SkyCity Tower and the Bay.

Wi-Fi in the rooms was free!

The Hotel is connected to the Casino next door by way of a sky bridge. (You'll need your room key card to return from the Casino back to the Hotel on the sky bridge)

The atmosphere of the lobby was dull and boring and the hotel overall was drab and depressing.

Upon looking for somewhere to eat, we were unable to find anything open or adequate within the hotel, so we went to the nearby Coffee Club (in Victoria Street) which served a great breakfast and a nice dinner. Recommend for a casual meal.

Overall, the hotel was satisfactory and would probably stay there again if we returned to Auckland as a stopover.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brissy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Brissy2,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I was disappointed to read that overall you only found the hotel OK. It appears you stayed with us while the redevelopment of Federal Street was taking place right out side the hotel. This work is now complete, with full access to the Grand Hotel now available. I do apologise for this inconvenience - the redevelopment of Federal Street is in to the final stages now, and should be completed in the next 7 weeks.

SKYCITY complex offers over 20 restaurants and bars, so I was disappointed to read that you felt there was nowhere for you to dine. The lobby has also been reveloped, and the opening of our newest all day dining restaurant, Gusto Cucina and bar, opened in early February, adding a lot of atmosphere to the lobby.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide your feedback -we do hope that you will visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CURTIS3
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We have just returned to the UK after spending 4 weeks in New Zealand and the last part was 4 days in the Skycity Grand Hotel.The service from all the staff was first class - especially the bar staff and waiting staff who were very attentive and pleasant. We had paid for a deluxe room with a harbour view however the harbour could just be seen beyond the many rooftops. the room was however very quiet which was great considering the size of the hotel and the many private functions that were held.The swimming pool is lovely albeit quite small and there could be an improvement as to the layout of the changing rooms as you have to go through the gym to get to the pool . I think the Skycity GRAND Hotel is much nicer than the Skycity hotel - across the road and adjoining however there are more restaurant choices in the Skycity hotel. The Fortuna restaurant is a buffet style and although its good value it lacked the quality and ambience of say, Gustos. We would def. stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors are obviously quieter and you have the option of a harbour view but need to compare th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CURTIS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear CURTIS3,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us!

I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay, and I will be sure to pass your comments on about the team to them - they love receiving feedback such as yours!

We have over 20 restaurant and bars within the SKYCITY complex, which can be accessed by all of our guests. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed Gusto Cucina and Bar - the newest addition to our food and beverage offerings at SKYCITY.

Thank you again for your feedback, we do look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Sky City Grand Hotel; by far the best hotel in Australasia for business travellers! Staff are attentive and professional, the facilities are first class and I just love eating at The Depot; be it a late snack after a flight into town or an early breakfast before heading off to the office.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Nicholas R,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I was delighted to read your great comments - I will be sure to pass your lovely comments about our team on to them.

Depot is a great spot to dine - there are so many choices at SKYCITY, with over 20 restaurant abd bars to choose from.

Thank you again for your feedback, we do look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,068 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Grand Hotel

Property: SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Address: 90 Federal St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Auckland
#1 Business Hotel in Auckland
#2 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#5 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — SKYCITY Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an oasis of luxury in the heart of Auckland’s vibrant city. Beautifully appointed, modern and spacious rooms are just the start of this 5-star experience. Stunning views, award-winning dining, the iconic Sky Tower and the tranquil East Day Spa await you. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your SKYCITY Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky City Hotel
Skycity Grand Auckland
Hotel Skycity Grand
SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing