We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Morrinsville, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Experience”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The hotel is right in the city. Our room had views of the harbour which looked awesome at night. When we entered our room we had a bottle of bubbles and yummy chocolates waiting for us. Everybody who works here is friendly and helpful. Was an awesome experience and will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaz8319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear shaz8319,

Thank you for your lovely comments about your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I was pleased to read your feedback, and will be sure to pass your feedback about the team, on to them.

Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,402
    740
    214
    70
    27
See reviews for
231
1,354
140
458
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kanpur, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The hotel is situated at the heart of the city. The best shopping experience is nearby, you can walk all the way. Auckland's favorite attraction is part of the hotel in Sky Tower. The rooms are comfortable and food is nice. All in all a good experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vaibhavagarwal2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear vaibhavagarwal2906,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

It was great to read that you had a "good experience" and that you found our rooms comfortable. We are situated right in the heart of the city, with everything in close walking distance from the hotel.

Thank you again for your feedback - we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

The breakfast was absolutely a reason to come back, it truly was delicious with lots of variety. As my husband put it- there were four different types of salmon, all as delectable as the next. The roomwas fabulous with a great view, we were greeted with bubbles and a dessert platter. The pool and gym area are good with a sauna to relax in. What a great place to unwind!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Courtney B

Thank you for your lovely comments - I was pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Gusto, our newest restaurant is one of my favourite places to have breakfast - many choices with the continental buffet, and the cooked a la carte menu is great too. The pastries are on offer are my weakness - there are so many to choose from!

Thank you again for your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Johnny the doorman gave us a inside look at what to expect, his big smile of greeting and telling us to go to reception he will handle the rest from there on in. Reception was the same and before we knew it we were in our room on the top floor overlooking the city. Views were great over looking Aotea Square and Queen St.
The rooms are very spacious and the bathrooms are also. Shower bath take your pick, the beds are large and comfy for a great nights rest.
Hotel is situated in central Auckland, Sky tower at your door casino wouldn't bother filled with hopeful people donating their hard earned cash for that elusive cash windfall. Dining in the hotel or down at the Viaduct can't go wrong. Only disappointment using the gym and spa on the 7th floor were young children in there unsupervised A very relaxed atmosphere throughout and you will enjoy your stay I know that so much we stayed twice whilst traveling through Auckland because of the location and the staff Thanks Skycity Grand Hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colonel1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Colonel1957,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay, and that you were on the receiving end of Johnny's fantastic service - we get such fantastic comments about him regularly, and I will be sure to pass yours on to him.

Thank you again for staying with us and for your feedback - we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We finished our two-week cruise of Australia and New Zealand in Auckland and stayed over just for one night before our grueling flights back to North Carolina. The Skycity Grand Hotel was amazingly beautiful, and a great place to spend our final night down under. The rooms were spacious, modern and luxurious, the bathrooms sparkling and the shower, just what we needed after several hours on the Hop-On, Hop-Off bus, was great. The whole complex is incredible, and we went to the top of the tower and had dinner right across the street. Oh yes, we did visit the casino. Great hotel, can't say anything bad about it, except that when we checked in, a lot of people going on the ship we had just vacated, were checking out, and we did have to wait a bit at reception. We arrived very early, so did not expect our rooms to be ready, and they weren't, but they were worth the wait.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BellaCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear BellaCoco,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Grand Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us - your review was a delight to read. It sounds like you stayed with us at a busy time - cruise ship season is a busy one - we have guests leaving the hotel to get on the ship, and guests coming from the ship to stay with us.

Thank you again for your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Spacious rooms, well appointed with exceptionally comfortable King size bed. Nice additions include pillow menus. Would stay again. Central to everything if you're ok for a 10 minwalk to the harbour. Skytower revolving restaurant on the last night was excellent with spectacular views - full rotation hourly.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms overlook Casino and skytower
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Kelly C,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay, and were also able to eat at Orbit - our revloving restaurant in the Sky Tower. This is just one of our restaurants, we have over 20 restaurants and bars within the SKYCITY complex.

Thank you for your lovely comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Have stayed at this hotel on many occasions both for business and pleasure during short stays in Auckland. This hotel
is reliable, clean and in a very good
location but don't expect anything fancy or grand as such. For a 5 star hotel there is room for improvement.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EliteAmbassador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear EliteAmbassador,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I was pleased to read that you are a return guest of ours. I would welcome any direct contact regarding your comments around the areas for improvement, and look forward to hearing from you.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide your feedback.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,198 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 67 in Auckland
1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
2,233 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 67 in Auckland
1,173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Grand Hotel

Property: SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Address: 90 Federal St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Auckland
#1 Green Hotel in Auckland
#2 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#5 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — SKYCITY Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an oasis of luxury in the heart of Auckland’s vibrant city. Beautifully appointed, modern and spacious rooms are just the start of this 5-star experience. Stunning views, award-winning dining, the iconic Sky Tower and the tranquil East Day Spa await you. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your SKYCITY Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky City Hotel
Skycity Grand Auckland
Hotel Skycity Grand
SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing