We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the 'grand' we were expecting at the Grand”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not the 'grand' we were expecting at the Grand”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

The room was slightly dated and it did not reflect the grandeur of the lobby and reception area. It was a comfortable room but the bedding could've been better. The comforter/duvet was very thin and old. My husband did not have a restful sleep as he complained that the pillows did not have enough support. The bathroom is semi-worn down and there was nothing in terms of style and fixtures to rave about. The room has a safe, fridge, mini bar, hot water maker and a variety of teas to choose from.

The hotel is adjacent to the Tower so if location is more of what you want vs. quality, this is the place to be.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eves V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear evesweets,

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us at the SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I was disappointed to read that you did not have an enjoyable stay with us.

In regards to the pillows, there is a pillow menu available in the rooms, to assist with different pillow choices.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,417
    744
    216
    70
    27
See reviews for
233
1,365
143
461
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed for 1 night with my husband. Service was great but there were some suspect looking stains on the roof above the bed. Not the best thing to be looking at when we were lying in bed. Our view wasn't the greatest either looking at the boilers on the roof top. For a 5 star hotel we were expecting to get a few extras like slippers, toothpaste ect like when we stayed at the langham. Don't think we will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Asia J,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I was disappointed to read your comments, and I welcome you to contact me directly, so that we can have a look at the room you were staying in.

We have slippers and toothbrushes available, on request basis.

Thank you again for your comments.


Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Had one night here for my husbands birthday celebrations. Staff on reception were polite and helpful, gave us a harbour view room.

Room was very high standard, clean and comfortable. The view was amazing. Bathroom nicely furnished and clean.

Valet parking and concierge were excellent, well worth the $35.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kazz9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear kazz9999,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you had an overall enjoyable stay, and I will be sure to pass on the comments about the reception team on to them - they love receiving feedback such as yours.

It was a pleasure having you and your husband stay with us for his birthday, and we look forward to welcoming you both back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed at the Sky City Grand on a high floor with a view to the west. A very nice room and very nice view out of the city to the harbour and Waitakere Ranges beyond. Rooms on the eastern side have people looking in from office towers close by.

Room Tip: Look west and be high for nice views and peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Andrew M,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us.

It sounds like you were staying in one of our harbour view rooms - great views as you have mentioned - these are our most popular rooms.

I trust you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.


Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My wife and i recently stayed for four nights. I must firstly say how great the staff were , from the moment we arrived they treated us as if were the only people there. everything was done with a smile. The gym, pool and sauna were great - we used these every day, and the restaurants were good, again with great service.I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Auckland. It is central to everything and with the great transport system getting around is so easy. i cant get over what a great hotel this is.

Room Tip: rooms to the ends of floors are quietest, and the higher floors got better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear timac,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

It was a pleasure to read your comments - particularly about the team and I will be sure to pass this on to them - they thrive on receiving great feedback such as yours.

We look forward to welcoming both you and your wife back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My wife and I spent a night at the Sky City Grand and we were treated like royalty - I highly recommend a stay there. The facilities (especially the lap pool and spa) were great and our dinner at the Sugar Club was awesome.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CraigyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear CraigyNZ,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I am pleased to hear that you and your wife had an enjoyable stay with us - isn't the Sugar Club amazing? The views from the Skytower are just fantastic.

We look forward to welcoming you both back again soon!

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
471 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights while attending a conference and I was very pleased with the standard. Of particular note is the fantastic gym, spa, sauna and swimming pool, very lovely and tasteful, and I made the most of this both nights.

Bed was comfortable, room service was prompt and very tasty, all staff i saw were extremely helpful and friendly. This is includes the staff looking after the meals with the conference. I stayed on the 20 th floor with a city view, which was nothing startling, but then i was not in the room much. The bathroom was lovely, but the shower could have been slightly larger and the water pressure a little better.

Overall i was very happy and would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danjonelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear danjonelson,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I was pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and were able to make use of our gym/spa/swimming pool area.

I will be sure to pass on your comments about the team to them - they love receiving feedback such as yours!

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Rooms Division Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,269 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 67 in Auckland
1,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
2,268 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland
1,182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Grand Hotel

Property: SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Address: 90 Federal St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Auckland
#1 Green Hotel in Auckland
#2 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#5 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — SKYCITY Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an oasis of luxury in the heart of Auckland’s vibrant city. Beautifully appointed, modern and spacious rooms are just the start of this 5-star experience. Stunning views, award-winning dining, the iconic Sky Tower and the tranquil East Day Spa await you. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your SKYCITY Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky City Hotel
Skycity Grand Auckland
Hotel Skycity Grand
SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing