We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch in the heart of Auckland city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The location is excellent, right in the heart of the city with fantastic views. The refurbished rooms are done to an excellent standard with beautiful decor and amenities. The growing Federal St dining precinct is also fantastic - an amazing range of top notch options right at the doorstep of the Grand. We had a fantastic stay and the staff were lovely. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrancesBraatvedt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear FrancesBraatvedt

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Grand Hotel.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our new rooms. The work on Federal Street is now complete and I must agree looks great with the numerous restaurants to choose from.

The team at The Grand Hotel look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Alison Borland | Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.borland@skycity.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,585)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,297 - 1,303 of 2,585 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed here as part of a tour of New Zealand and this was definitely the highlight, hotel wise, a lovely luxury hotel, with all of the comforts you would expect. It is everything it claims to be and we had a very pleasurable stay.
In the centre of Auckland it gives easy access to pretty much anywhere in the area.

If You're staying in Auckland I would heartily recommend the SkyCity.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear thesprat

Thank you for your recent review of The Grand Hotel, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your with us and hope that you had a wonderful holiday in New Zealand.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Alison Borland | Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.borland@skycity.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Enjoyed a long weekend with a girlfriend at Sky City. We really enjoyed the location there are excellent restaurants, cafés and bars within the hotel and on Federal street.
East day spa was just fantastic followed by great room service.
Room was ok, shower in awkward location. I've lowered the rating due to late house keeping - rooms weren't done until after 3pm each day.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank TnTinTara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear TnTinTara

Thank you for your recent review The Grand Hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your weekend away with the girls and agree that you are spoilt for choice when dining at SKYCITY. I am sorry that your room was not serviced until later in the day; our team do try and attend to every room as quickly as possible and I will share your feedback with them.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Alison Borland | Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.borland@skycity.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The Skycity Grand Hotel provides a great central location with lots of dining options nearby. The rooms are modern, spacious and comfortable. Everything in the room was clean and the bedding lovely and fresh. We made good use of the exercise facility and lap pool. I was able to get a manicure at the spa downstairs without too much advance notice. We would recommend this hotel to any travelers that want to stay in the downtown area. The casino is nearby and you can walk over the sky bridge to it. However, we were not interested in gambling. It is within close walking distance to shopping and we found it easy to walk to the ferry from the hotel in order to visit Devonport. The Skycity Grand is good value for the dollar.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WpgPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear WpgPrincess

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at The Grand Hotel. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and took time to use our numerous facilities.
Thank you also for your pictures – I can see that you stayed in one of our Luxury King Rooms. On your next stay may I suggest that you have a look at our Premium rooms which have been newly refurbished and have many added features. Full details are on our website.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Alison Borland | Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.borland@skycity.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My husband and I stayed for one night in one of the upgraded harbour view king rooms and what a view! Despite the clouds, it was still a great view from our room on the 18th floor. Lovely spacious room with new furnishings, quite masculine in terms of decor though but that was fine for one night.

The breakfast was one of the best breakfast we've ever had: amazing selection of fresh fruits and juices (loved the kiwi fruit juice) and professional, friendly, attentive service throughout. My baked eggs in spinach and tomatoes was fresh and delicious and my husband enjoyed his pancakes. We also enjoyed an after dinner drink in the bar and I was delighted to see Mount Difficulty chardonnay on the wine list which is my all time favourite wine. We appreciated the 11am check out, a nice change from the usual 10am and I appreciated being able to check in early at 11.30 as the room was ready. A few suggestions would be a heated towel rail in the bathroom, decaffeinated tea and coffee in the room and some fresh milk in the fridge rather than the longlife small cartons, just to make it the perfect 5 star experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Emma T

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Grand Hotel. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the team at Gusto will be delighted to read your feedback – the breakfast selection there is wonderful!

Thank you also for your recommendations which our Hotel Manager has received and these will most certainly be reviewed.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Alison Borland | Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.borland@skycity.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My partner and I were celebrating his 60th so we decided to stay the night at the Grand as we had a voucher for the wonderful spa in the hotel. We were upgraded to the most amazing suite with champagne. The dinner and breakfast at the Hotel was wonderful and I cannot speak highly enough about the staff and service. We felt so special and could not find fault with anything.

Room Tip: Our room was high up with amazing city views, but I would think all rooms in this Hotel would be exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ntorbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear ntorbet

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at The Grand Hotel – I was delighted to read your feedback. We have a wonderful team here at The Grand and I look forward to passing on your feedback.

Once again, many happy returns and we hope to see you back again in the not too distant future.

Alison Borland | Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.borland@skycity.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Grand hotel is ideally located in the heart of Auckland city within walking distance from top rated restaurants and bars. The lobby is beautifully furnished with stunning artworks, flower arrangement & vanilla candles.

Check in process was fast and we found the staff quite attentive and friendly.

Our beautiful newly refurbished harbor view suite was furnished with comfort of guest in mind. The bed is big and comfortable and pillow menu gives guest more flexibility for choosing the right type of pillow.

A huge indoor swimming pool, well equipped gym, sauna, business center and complementary Wifi access made our stay as pleasant as possible.

We had dinner next door at Masu and that was superb. Breakfast at Gusto had beautiful food, coffee, ambiance and service.

Highly recommend this clean and comfortable hotel whether traveling for business or leisure.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaJ1345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Anna

Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Grand Hotel. It was a pleasure to read your feedback and I have passed it onto teams to share.

We find that complimentary Wi-Fi with no limit and the option to choose your preferred pillow from our menu are little things that make a big difference when away from home and proving very popular with our guests.

The team look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Alison Borland | Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.borland@skycity.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,937 reviews
0 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,985 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,458 reviews
0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,824 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Grand Hotel

Address: 90 Federal St, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#1 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#2 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#3 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £123 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SKYCITY Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an oasis of luxury in the heart of Auckland’s vibrant city. Beautifully appointed, modern and spacious rooms are just the start of this 5-star experience. Stunning views, award-winning dining, the iconic Sky Tower and the tranquil East Day Spa await you. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SKYCITY Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky City Hotel
Skycity Grand Auckland
Hotel Skycity Grand
SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing