We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SKYCITY Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Spent three nights here. Great location. Nice sized room, great concierge, great front desk staff, great housekeeping. The housekeeping was probably the best I have ever seen in any NZ hotel. The room was spotless and well stocked. Everything worked as it should. The only negative feedback would be the effort of the front desk staff to up-sell to a harbor view room and offering better prices each time we declined the upgrade. Not very professional and kind of "cheap". If you have empty rooms all you need to do is offer a complimentary upgrade. Try it. It can't hurt and doesn't cost the business anything. The affiliated SKY Casino was a "bust". It had the feel of an arcade with 85 - 90% of all activity centered around slots. There were numerous Chinese gambling games. Not very impressive.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelreview77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear hotelreview77,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay with us, and will be sure to pass the comments on surrounding the team with them - they love receiving feedback such as yours!

Regarding the upgrade, we do encourage our team to offer an upgrade at an additional fee, however I will address your comments with the team members on Reception.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Hotel Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,353
    711
    207
    68
    25
See reviews for
219
1,304
136
442
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
202 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

The Skycity Grand is part of a two hotel complex and casino that includes the Skytower. The casino is located in the other hotel across the street from the Grand. I like this hotel better as it is more quiet and dignified. It is located in the middle of the city with many options for shopping and dining around it. The wharf and ferry are not far from the hotel. The whole complex has a variety of restaurants including some of the top dininng places in Auckland. It is difficult to beat the location of this hotel even if you do not gamble.

We stayed at the newly renovated part of the hotel which was comfortable and quiet. The room was well appointed with comfortable beds and pillows. My only comment is that the room is dark even with the lights on. It is partly from the dark hues used in the room. I saw a room that has not been renovated and I thought it was brighter and more cheerful looking. The staff in the front desk were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OrpheusTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Orpheus Texas

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Grand Hotel.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us in one of our newly refurbished rooms. I must agree with you that we are ideally located in Auckland with so much to do and so many restaurants at SKYCITY and nearby to choose from.

We hope to welcome you back to The Grand Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards


Alison Borland | Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

The Service here is outstanding, the rooms are very clean and tidy, housekeeping was always done early too and the rooms are very spacious. All the staff were very friendly, from the front desk, to housekeeping to door staff. This hotel is So close to everything, there are lots of places to eat right there and the Restaurants within the building are absolutely fantastic. I highly recommend Gusto downstairs. The Valet parking was never a problem, our car was bought out to us within 5 minutes every time. The Door men are great, they were always a delight to deal with and had a great sense of humour. We Really enjoyed staying here and would definitely stay again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Jenny B

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Grand Hotel.

We take pride in delivering excellent customer service and I will be delighted to pass your comments onto the team here at The Grand Hotel.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards


Alison Borland | Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We checked in on June 23 at 9AM knowing that the room would probably not be available until later. We were greeted so warmly at the front desk and were told that because it was our 40th anniversary we would upgraded to a 2-room, 2-bath suite! Also, it was ready for us now. We were on a package which was booked through a travel agent wholesaler Worldwide Traveler. We planned on returning twice in the next week as part of an AAT Kings package, but that they could only give us a standard room. The suite was wonderful. It was very clean and well-maintained, quiet, and comfortable-- probably much more than we needed. It had a table with six seats, large couch, and 2 televisions. This is for the businessman who needs meeting space. The standard room also was clean, quiet, and comfortable.
The hotel is located in the heart of Auckland. We walked to the nearby ferry area where we found restaurants and shopping. Around the corner was a Subway shop that we used twice during our stays. The Skytower and casino were across the street, but accessed by a covered walkway.
What made me very happy was the front desk staff. They were so courteous and friendly as were the concierge desk personnel who handled baggage and reconfirmed our tour arrangements. Kudos to those people! It is the people like this that make a hotel great. As a travel agent, I would recommend this for any of my clients wanting to visit New Zealand. And I hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AgentJohn1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear AgentJohn1947

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stays at The Grand Hotel.

We have a wonderful team here at The Grand Hotel and I am so pleased that we were able to upgrade you on your initial visit to celebrate your 40th Wedding Anniversary! The team love to hear feedback from our guests and I look forward to passing it on in our next meeting.

Thank you for recommending us to your clients and we hope to welcome you back in the future

Kind Regards


Alison Borland | Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Great hotel, close to everything in town & right across the road from the casino if you're into gambling. No noise in the rooms, couldn't hear any outside sounds either. Really good service & food down stairs was pretty good. All of the cafes near it are owned by sky grand so wherever you go around the complex it should be good. I you want amazing japanese, the bar next to the entrance is the best & you will definitely need to make a booking.
Beds & pillows are super comfy as well!
Would go there again for sure!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Sophia C

Thank you for your review of The Grand Hotel. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to passing your feedback onto the team and in particular to the team at Masu – our award winning Japanese restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards


Alison Borland | Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Room was recently renovated. Relaxing, Very Clean & Modern. Great Views looking out over the harbour. Service was A+. Requested a late check out and got an email within 1 day from Colette to advise that they where able to extend the check out time by 1 hour for free of charge.

Room Tip: Premium Luxury Harbour View King Room has great views. Recently renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardNZ2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear RichardNZ2014

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at The Grand Hotel. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our new rooms and that Colette our Hotel Manager looked after you.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards


Alison Borland | Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

The $299 Baby Grand package was well worth it for a night in the city. Great selection of chocolates and nice welcome with convenience of valet parking. Buffet breakfast was better than I was expecting and dinner at the Grill was very good (bit of a long wait for food though).

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade when booking, worked for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davegowenlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear davegowenlock

Thank you for your recent review of The Grand Hotel.

It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us on our Baby Grand Package – it is a one of our most popular packages and I am pleased that the team were able to offer an upgrade.

The team at The Grand Hotel look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards


Alison Borland | Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Alison.borland@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,954 reviews
0.0 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,132 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,085 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Grand Hotel

Property: SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Address: 90 Federal St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Auckland
#1 Green Hotel in Auckland
#1 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#5 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — SKYCITY Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an oasis of luxury in the heart of Auckland’s vibrant city. Beautifully appointed, modern and spacious rooms are just the start of this 5-star experience. Stunning views, award-winning dining, the iconic Sky Tower and the tranquil East Day Spa await you. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your SKYCITY Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky City Hotel
Skycity Grand Auckland
Hotel Skycity Grand
SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing