We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Holiday Week at the Grand”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Holiday Week at the Grand”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Once again I would like to congratulate the Skycity Grand, my husband and I stayed for a wonderful weeks holiday. The Staff are exceptional, always pleasant and welcoming, especially the wonderful men who welcome you back to the Grand and valet park your car. Well Done.
The rooms are always lovely and clean, and well appointed.
We dined at several restaurants within the Skycity complex, love The Grill, and Rebo both were outstanding.

Looking forward to returning soon. Thank you Alison for arranging a great week, much appreciated.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BatRat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear BatRat,

Thank you for your comments about your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

It was our pleasure to have you back at the hotel, and I am pleased that you had another enjoyable experience. I will be sure to pass your lovely comments on about the team - they love receiving feedback such as yours! I will also be sure that Alison receives your comments - she is a true gem, and we love having her as part of our team!

Thank you again for your feedback, and we do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon for the next celebration!

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Hotel Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,374
    721
    210
    69
    25
See reviews for
224
1,324
137
448
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Grand hotel is a perfect location in Auckland, at the skycity tower and casino, walking distance from the city center, from the harbour with the sailing boats, absolutely perfect location.
The rooms and all facilities are extremely good. Very nice, well designed, to let you feel very comfortable.
The staff is awesome always ready to help and to be sure you enjoy a perfect stay.
The italian restaurant Gusto is incredibly good, and always with nice people.
Grand hotel is absolutely superb hotel to stay in Auckland.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank autchoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear autchoz,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and that you felt comfortable during your stay, and that our staff were helpful. I was also glad to read your comments regarding our well designed rooms - we have received wonderful feedback about our newly refurbished rooms.

I will be sure to pass on your comments about Gusto, our newest restaurant, to the team their - they will be pleased to receive your feedback.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Hotel Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Everything was nice and the staff were polite and helpful but given the status of the hotel, we were underwhelmed. We got a bigger room with nicer amenities at the Stamford. The bathroom was cramped and we just expected more. Nice stay but not Grand, especially for the price.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Kane M,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I do apologise that you felt underwhelmed whilst staying with us. We generally receive excellent feedback about our rooms and bathrooms.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again sometime in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Hotel Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This hotel is lovely! It is ins great location and the staff are very helpful. The rooms are lovely and clean and the gymnasium is very cool with a lovely lap pool for swimming all year round. I was lucky the day I was in the gym as the British footballers were working out too. Very nice and modern hotel with amazing service at your service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb4217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Barb4217,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I am pleased you were able to make use of our gym, spa and swimming pool - this area is very popular with all of our guests.

It was great to read that you had an enjoyable stay, and found our staff helpful - I will be sure to pass your comments on to them.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Hotel Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piha, New Zealand
Level Contributor
115 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at the Grand when we held a large conference there. The service is awesome, the room is awesome, the food is awesome, the location is awesome!! It is simple to get between the hotel and the conference centre which is great when you are presenting and you need a quick refresher; it is easy to get to your room!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piharian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Piharian,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I was delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable stay. It is very convenient if you are attending a conference at the Conference Centre.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Hotel Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The staff were excellent, relaxed and smiling. The room was large with an "L" shaped chaise lounge adding to the comfort level. A decent desk and plenty of usable power points was very appreciated. Another great feature was the pivot able TV stand. A good iron and ironing board were available. The bed was too soft for my liking but that is typical of hotels for me and there was no variety in the pillows, all were universally too thin and soft but that may suit many people. Overall it was a very pleasant place to stay and I'll be back again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Rod S,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay with us, and I will be sure to pass your comments on about the team to them - they love receiving feedback such as yours.

We are currently undergoing a full room refurbishment, and the beds are being replaced. We do offer a pillow menu in all rooms, and I do apologise if this was not available in your room.

Thank you again for your comments, and we do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Hotel Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I stay at the Grand at least couple of times a year and had a terrible stay the last time I was there and vowed never to come back and switched to the Hilton. Thought I will give it another go a few days back. Inauspicious start when I spoke to the worst salesperson ever trying to book two rooms. He almost didn't want me to make a booking!!

The hotel looks fabulous after the renovation. The rooms look fabulous as well.

The in room dining menu is one of the most expensive I have experienced across the globe. I ordered a Club Sandwich and chips which cost $25+ $5= $30 to be delivered to the room!! The Gusto restaurant downstairs serves a main course for the same price. Breakfast starts at $35+$5.

If you like a work out like I do they have a reasonable Gym. Plenty of cardio machines and a very limited free weights selection. They have two machines which are ancient. One of the machines has been broken and not fixed for at least a year.

Great spa and pool.

Great hotel if it is room only!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gimajay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Gimajay,

Thank you for your review following your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

Firstly, I do apologise for your encounter over the telephone - I have addressed this with the Contact Centre manager directly.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the new room refurbishment, and the hotel lobby change as well.

The gym equipment has been repaired, and we are looking at alternative options to the weight machines you commented on.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Hotel Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4,053 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 66 in Auckland
1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland
2,145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
2,183 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Grand Hotel

Property: SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Address: 90 Federal St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Auckland
#1 Green Hotel in Auckland
#2 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#5 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — SKYCITY Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an oasis of luxury in the heart of Auckland’s vibrant city. Beautifully appointed, modern and spacious rooms are just the start of this 5-star experience. Stunning views, award-winning dining, the iconic Sky Tower and the tranquil East Day Spa await you. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your SKYCITY Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky City Hotel
Skycity Grand Auckland
Hotel Skycity Grand
SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing