We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot on Federal St.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great spot on Federal St.”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Modern amenities and an excellent shower with good water pressure - a must! However disappointed that a hotel of this standard did not come with hotel slippers, despite having very comfy robes! Good gym, easy access to casino via airbridge, lots of food choices and very welcoming reception area. Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripItLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear TripItLover,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us - the showers are wonderful aren't they? I do apologise regarding the slippers - these are available on request to all of our guests.

We have over 20 restaurants and bars, so our guests are spoilt for choice when making decisions about where to dine.

Thank you again for your comments, and we do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Hotel Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,374
    721
    210
    69
    25
See reviews for
224
1,324
137
448
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

From the time we walked into the hotel till we left my daughter and I felt thoroughly spoilt.

The reception staff very friendly and the room was perfect, newly refurbished with everything in place for a great stay. The hotel itself is in a perfect situation and and I very much look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aileen055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Aileen055,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! I am so pleased that you and your daughter had a wonderful time whilst staying with us.

I will be sure to pass your comments on to the team - they love receiving feedback such as yours!

Thanks again, and we do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Hotel Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at The SKYCITY Grand hotel for one night.

The hotel is in a great location in the centre of the city, within walking distance of great restaurants, bars and the water front. We used the car park that is opposite the hotel and is $20 for 24 hours for hotel guests, which was very convenient and reasonable for a city centre car park.

The check-in procedure was fast, friendly and helpful. We booked for a "city view" room but for an extra $30 you can opt for a "water front" room. We booked a luxury king room which was just great!

The room was large and very clean. There was a large bathroom with shower and separate bath tub. A large wall mounted TV, with a large choice of channels and movies. A well stocked mini bar, Nespresso machine and free WIFI were also all included in the room.

The bed was massive and comfortable. We "ordered" lavender scented pillows from the pillow menu but unfortunately they brought us "The Belvedere" pillow instead!

Overall the hotel offers a really luxury service and we would have loved to have stayed another night. I would fully recommend a stay at this hotel, if staying in Auckland city.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adamb1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Adamb1984,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

Our location in the middle of Auckland Central means our guests have great accessibility to the whole city. I am glad that you found the self parking option offered convenient. We also offer valet car parking, which if you are going to use your car during your stay, is ideal. This is $35 for 24 hours.

Our harbour view rooms are our most popular - it's a great view isn't it?

I am glad that you found the room comfortable, and made use of all of the facilities we offer - the minibar is well stocked, isn't it? Great if you are just wanting a quick snack. I do apologise for the issue of the wrong pillow being delivered to your room, and have addressed this with the team concerned.

Thank you again for your wonderful comments, and we do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Hotel Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I was on business and found this hotel to be in a very good location. An easy no drama stay with nice and friendly staff. Rooms were as expected, nice and comfortable. Whilst I like the idea of a mini bar, I just wish someone could invent a noiseless fridge, albeit this is the same in all hotels. Usually one can turn off the air-con but not so easily the fridge.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Gary R,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us.

I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and I will be sure to pass on your comments about our team to them - they love receiving feedback such as yours!

Our apologies for the noisy fridge - we have alerted maintenance to the issue, and I am sure they will be able to rectify the issue.

Thank you again for taking the time to comment on your stay, and we do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Hotel Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Overall, we had a pleasant stay at the SkyCity Grand Hotel. The location was wonderful, and there were many restaurants and sights nearby in walking distance. We got lucky and were thankfully allowed to check into a room early in the morning after a long flight from Los Angeles, and we were very thankful for that! The room was comfortable and clean.

We did have a few missteps along the way. When we checked in, they had us down for 2 nights even though our reservation was for 3 nights. We spoke with the front desk to correct this, but our door key stopped working after the second night anyway. Then, we called down to arrange for laundry pickup, and had our laundry ready in the morning so that we could receive the day laundry service (which was cheaper then trying to get laundry completed overnight). When we returned to our room that evening, the laundry had not been picked up. This was frustrating because we really needed some clean clothes! My husband called down to speak with someone who handles the laundry service, and they couldn't find any record of his conversation with them the night before to pick up the laundry, and they also weren't willing to help us out by agreeing to pick up our laundry that evening. I feel that they should have acknowledged their mistake, picked up our laundry that evening, and agreed to charge us for the regular rate since it was their error. My husband just gave up after trying, since the person on the other line wasn't very accommodating. We had to leave the following morning anyway.

So, there were a few disappointments that happened, but overall the hotel was a good choice for it's location and comfortable lodgings.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stephanieuofw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear stephanieuofw,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

I was pleased to read your comments, and delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us. Our location is perfect for surrounding activities and sightseeing while in Auckland.

I am glad that our staff were able to offer you an early check in to the hotel, to make your arrival in to Auckland more comfortable.

I was disappointed however to read the comments regarding the issue regarding your length of stay and also with the laundry. I have addressed both of these issues with all team members concerned. Customer service is of utmost importance to us, and it is only with feedback such as yours, that we can continue to improve our high service levels.

Thank you again for taking the time to comment on your stay, and we do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Hotel Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

SkyCity Grand Hotel was the first hotel we stayed at during our 2 week road trip around the North Island. We stayed here for 3 nights. It was great. We told them it was our honeymoon and upon entering the hotel room they had sparkling wine on ice and chocolates for us! The king size bed was very comfortable, there was a nice coach to chill back in and watch TV (although the TV volume is capped at a low volume so if you're watching a movie or something, you really need to concentrate to hear what is happening), and there is a nice pool, spa and sauna to chill out in (which closes at 10pm, although they're not strict about the time as we stayed in there past 10pm). And, the free wifi in the room was big plus. FaceTime connections were consistent.
The only downside is the restaurants at the casino - all very expensive and overrated, except for the buffet Fortunas - this is highly recommend during the week (as it is much cheaper than the weekend) and it is full of a great variety of food! Get out of the hotel to explore the town for great food.
If you're join to check out SkyTower, speak to reception at the hotel as they will give you a 10% discount voucher for you (which is great given the price to go up in the tower).

Room Tip: Don't waste your money on water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dayeian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Dayeian,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

Congratulations on your recent marriage - I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and enjoyed the complimentary WiFi that is available to all guests of the hotel.

We have over 20 restaurants and bars within the SKYCITY Entertainment Complex - many of which are award winning restaurants with fantastic food and service.

Thank you again for taking the time to comment on your stay, and we do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Hotel Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Once again I would like to congratulate the Skycity Grand, my husband and I stayed for a wonderful weeks holiday. The Staff are exceptional, always pleasant and welcoming, especially the wonderful men who welcome you back to the Grand and valet park your car. Well Done.
The rooms are always lovely and clean, and well appointed.
We dined at several restaurants within the Skycity complex, love The Grill, and Rebo both were outstanding.

Looking forward to returning soon. Thank you Alison for arranging a great week, much appreciated.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BatRat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColetteLeonardAKL, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear BatRat,

Thank you for your comments about your stay with us at SKYCITY Grand Hotel.

It was our pleasure to have you back at the hotel, and I am pleased that you had another enjoyable experience. I will be sure to pass your lovely comments on about the team - they love receiving feedback such as yours! I will also be sure that Alison receives your comments - she is a true gem, and we love having her as part of our team!

Thank you again for your feedback, and we do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon for the next celebration!

Kind Regards,

Colette Leonard | Hotel Manager | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
colette.leonard@skycity.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4,053 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 66 in Auckland
1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland
2,140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
2,183 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Grand Hotel

Property: SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Address: 90 Federal St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Auckland
#1 Business Hotel in Auckland
#2 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#5 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — SKYCITY Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an oasis of luxury in the heart of Auckland’s vibrant city. Beautifully appointed, modern and spacious rooms are just the start of this 5-star experience. Stunning views, award-winning dining, the iconic Sky Tower and the tranquil East Day Spa await you. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your SKYCITY Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky City Hotel
Skycity Grand Auckland
Hotel Skycity Grand
SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing