We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star - Must Do Better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 9 January 2009

A recent month long trip to New Zealand ended with a two night stay at the SkyCity Grand Hotel, Auckland (part of the massive SkyCity complex). The room (billed as Delux) was a major disappointment, the carpet looked as though the local Rugby team had used it as a 'Boot Room',we opened the fridge to find a mouldy piece of Stilton, the batteries in the safe had all expired and as for the Shower Door, I believe a 'design fault' was the term used by the Conceriege. What was more annoying is that even after the cheese was removed, housekeeping did not even bother to refresh the Fridge.
Overall the hotel was good, but if you are going to sell yourself as a Delux Hotel, then you need to take care of the little things and here the Grand falls down. To use a phrase from one of my old school reports, 'Could Do Better'

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeRouleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,289 - 2,295 of 2,546 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2009

Right from the word go, this hotel is fantastic. From the check in process, to the lobby, the room and its view, cleanliness, staff & service, proximity...i can go on and on..& there is really nothing that is not good about this hotel.
This was our first hotel stay in NZ and it was the best of all. Even in terms of value for money. We got the Luxury King Room with views of the harbour & my stay was lovely. Highly highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Carte_Blanche888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2008

Good standard hotel if a little soulless, ate in Peter Gordons Restaurant which was a really nice meal. Concierge staff very helpful and efficient, hotel well located for Auckland City, valet parking a good idea.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Cumbrialife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2008

As you pull up to the entrance the bell boys are there waiting to collect your luggage to take it to your room. They were very friendly!

Check-in staff were very friendly as well and also located Korean restaurants for us to dine at and also made reservations for us.

The room had alot of natural lighting overlooking the casino across the road. The bed was very comfortable and an L shaped lounge suite allowed you to watch tv very comfortably.

The bathroom was very new and clean! Hotel amenities like shampoo, room slippers etc were all generoudly catered for.

Tea and coffee making facilities were also very generous providing you with a whole wooden box of all sorts of tea.

Buffet breakfast was very nice and the staff approach customers talking to them. Overall they were all genuinely friendly and down to earth, that's the Kiwis for you!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gaynorchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2008

I stayed at this hotel for the last night of my trip to New Zealand. The room cost NZ$200/€100, which I felt was very good for the standard of the hotel. I had lunch at the bar and room service later on in the evening both very nice and surprisingly reasonably priced. The room was very comfortable and the bathroom was pure luxury after two and a half weeks of hostels! Pool, gym & sauna were a welcome treat in preparing for the long journey home. Oh and the staff were lovely too - so helpful and pleasant. Only sorry I didn't stay for longer. The location is perfect too, very central - although my view was somewhat less than inspiring.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SWalsh564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2008

Quick check in with all our requests incl harbour view given to us. Nice size room with lovely bathroom with robes and separate shower. The hotel is so central and you can walk to shops, bars and restaurants easily. The swimming pool and gym is open at 6am ready for people with jet lag! The pool was lovely and relaxing. If you want to use the East Day spa for treatments you will need to book in advance. Breakfast in the room was lovely! Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2008

This hotel has to be the best located in Auckland, it was so central within the city and easy to walk to surrounding attractions. We had two nights here - we chose the hotel after much researching on line and using trip advisor. Thanks reviewers, we loved it here. Our first impression was fantastic, as we arranged for a limousine to pick us up from the airport (late night flight) and the driver was so friendly and polite, he gave a running commentary of the city on the way to the hotel. We booked an ordinary car but he came in a brand new Mercedes. The staff were professional (not really friendly, but pleasant) and the rooms were very clean, very very comfortable, and new in appearance. We had one small problem though, we were charged for extra items from the mini bar that we didn't use (one item wasn't even there when we came in the room first night - we did get refunded eventually). Despite that, I would stay again, I really liked it. We got room service both nights and it was pretty good. See the picture of the magnificent sandwich I got late at night after arriving from Sydney.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LuxuryGirl06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,882 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,371 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#12 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Grand Hotel

Address: 90 Federal St, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#1 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#2 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#3 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £129 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SKYCITY Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an oasis of luxury in the heart of Auckland’s vibrant city. Beautifully appointed, modern and spacious rooms are just the start of this 5-star experience. Stunning views, award-winning dining, the iconic Sky Tower and the tranquil East Day Spa await you. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your SKYCITY Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky City Hotel
Skycity Grand Auckland
Hotel Skycity Grand
SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing