We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Internet connection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
2 reviews
“Internet connection”
Reviewed 13 December 2009

The bad thing about this hotel is the internet connection, SO expensive.

The rest everytthing okey, nice rooms and good views of the city

Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank NilE2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,402
    740
    214
    70
    27
See reviews for
231
1,354
140
458
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
99 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2009

We booked to stay at the SkyCity Grand as a treat nearing the end of a 4 week trip around NZ in our camper van. We'd been in touch with the hotel several times before the trip to check we could take our van - recpetion were a bit hit and miss about responding but eventually it appeared to be ok.
Our van was valet parked (at a charge) in the hotel's secure car park with CCTV - only it wasn't... and on NYE we had our van completely trashed and robbed. Obviously we had taken our valuable swith us - but they took everything else they could possibly sell - and a lot they couldn't - including personal diaries and momentoes of our trip.
The hotel would not accept any responsibility - what a surprise - even though they were clearly at fault. We were staggered by their offhanded attitude - and would rate their curstomer service with a big fat ZERO.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Lizzie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2009

We stayed here for four nights and overall it was a very postive experience. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was modern, clean and surprisingy quiet. I'm not sure it deserves all it's stars but we would certainly stay there again. The location was also very good, right beside the Sky Tower and close to shopping and some very good restaurants. Check out Tony's for the best steaks in Auckland.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCP29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2009

I think what I liked best about this hotel is that for a "casino" hotel, there's no need to have any contact with the casino itself. It's in an entirely seperate building across the road.

I stayed in a luxury Harbour View room for a Wotif rate of $215NZD. Considering I'm now at a much lower-rent Quest apartment in Hamilton for the same rate, that represents great value for money. The Harbour room had a big floor to ceiling window with a view of, you guessed it, Auckland Harbout. While it's not Sydney Harbour it sure beats looking at a carpark. The room was modern and of a good size, with an excellent minibar. The bathroom was on the small side but was fresh and bright decked out in white tiling with stone benches. A good size seperate bath and shower were available. There was a good selection of TV channels including a free cable movie channel.

While I didn't use the restaurants or room service, I got an excellent, reasonably priced massage from the day spa downstairs.

Thoroughly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AFLtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2009

Good location for city centre and shopping
We had room 1211 which had great views of the sky tower (see photo below) even though we nearly had a heart attack when we saw someone falling from it doing a bungy jump!
Rooms were very well decorated and comfortable
Expensive for what it is.
We ate at the Tapas restaurant across the road which was great.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2009

The hotel's location was excellent - walking distance to the busy area in downtown. The room was really nice, large, very clean with a nice, modern decor. Parking was a little expensive, as well as breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aodwjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2009

I stayed two nights at this hotel at the beginning of November, 2009. It has a great location and is right next to the casino and is a $30 (NZ) ride on the shuttle from the airport. There is also a Sky City Hotel without the Grand in it which I understand is bit lower in quality. The hotel is attached to the convention center.

The hotel itself is clean and modern. The rooms are clean and comfortable. I, usually, opt to take packages that include breakfast due to the fact that it is my main meal of the day. The breakfast buffet was excellent and the service was excellent. The gym is not bad .. no free weights.

The internet charge runs about US $ 28.00 per night which, I feel, should be a subtraction of half a star from its rating.

The concierge is quite helpful and he suggested an Italian restaurant close by called Toto’s which, for me, was a big disappointment and was able to get me a booking at the French Café.

This is, definitely, not a 5 star hotel .. when I went out into the deck area next to the restaurant the cigarette bin was absolutely overflowing with soft drink cans, paper cups and cigarette butts .. it is amazing that anyone in the management that does a walk about ( do they? ) can miss this. There was also a piece of paper floating in the decorative pool.

But a GREAT find .. just around the corner ,, at the corner of Wellsley and Albert I noticed a small Chinese place called Homeworld BBQ .. it looked right .. felt right .. with roasted ducks, ribs and pork hanging from the hook. The place was packed with a very quick turnover but I ordered my favorite dish ( steam minced pork with salted fish ) which takes a while so I was in the restaurant for over an hour .. during all that time I did not see one non-Asian in there! Mostly Chinese and, as expected, when my dish came it was excellent .. and, of course, the price was very reasonable ..NZ $ 15.00 which included tea and steamed rice.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rparkhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,198 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 67 in Auckland
1,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
2,232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 67 in Auckland
1,172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Grand Hotel

Property: SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Address: 90 Federal St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Auckland
#1 Green Hotel in Auckland
#2 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#5 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — SKYCITY Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an oasis of luxury in the heart of Auckland’s vibrant city. Beautifully appointed, modern and spacious rooms are just the start of this 5-star experience. Stunning views, award-winning dining, the iconic Sky Tower and the tranquil East Day Spa await you. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your SKYCITY Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky City Hotel
Skycity Grand Auckland
Hotel Skycity Grand
SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing