We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for a lovely stay in the centre of Auckland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“perfect for a lovely stay in the centre of Auckland”
Reviewed 24 August 2010

We live in the far north of New Zealand and are down in Auckland fairly regularly so have stayed in rather a lot of hotels! This is the first time I have written a review of one so it shows how much we've liked it. When we arrived, there were fire engines, police and ambulances surrounding the place and there was no way of driving in. They had stationed the concierge in an obvious spot at the road so you could ask him for help. We managed to stop and find out where we could go, he radioed another member of staff who met us at a gate and took our car and let us in. Turned out their whole electricity 'thing' for the hotel had 'exploded' so it was all a bit chaotic for them, but they dealt with us perfectly, under fairly unusual circumstances.
Check in people were nice and friendly. We were on the 19th floor over looking the city. The room was beautiful. Very tastefully decorated, lovely crisp bed linen on a superbly comfortable bed and a beautiful bathroom, incredibly well stocked minibar and great artwork on the walls. We came on the "Glamour Package" through "wotif" this is very reasonable and includes 2 free yummy cocktails from the bar. The bar area is nice and funky.
We very much enjoyed our stay so will stay here again next time.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LloydnLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,374
    721
    210
    69
    25
See reviews for
224
1,324
137
448
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Stayed at this hotel in Auckland. Is situated at the amazing Sky City, where you can even do bungy jumping. The service was good, but the hallways etc were a bit dirty, and our room had a lot of dust, which wasn't good for my hay fever. Location is great, can walk to quite a few tourist attractions from this place. Would recommend for other guests.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cokemannz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Very clean, safe, friendly staff. Excellent location for people interested in the casino (directly across the road). The restaurants inside are rather expensive, but there are many cheaper ones nearby. There is a hop on/hop off tour bus of Auckland that stops across the street. The concierge Nick is very helpful and will connect you to tours - we went on a personal wine tour that also took us to the coast - he arranged it, and all we had to do was come downstairs and it was all done for us. Excellent!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marktoledoUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
97 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

quite a good hotel, no complaints, all in all quite good

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwin11967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
174 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2010

Stayed one night on a package which included parking, wine, chocolates, cocktails and breakfast. We were upgraded to a suite which was absolutely wonderful - spacious, spotlessly clean, everything (and more) that you need. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was superb, everything very fresh and well presented.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMLNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
142 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2010

After trolling through numerous packages and hotels on the 'wotif' website, my boyfriend and I decided to book the 'Baby Grand' package which included a chilled bottle of wine and 'decadence platter' of devine chocolates and brownie (not as impressive) on arrival, valet parking (can't comment on this, as we didn't drive! But the doorman in his tophat looked very fancy!), 2 complementary cocktails in the lobby bar (fantastic bartender - knowledgeable and friendly + delicious cocktail!), buffet breakfasts in the Terrace Restaurant (selection of cooked options, cereals, juice, youghurt, pastries and fruit - not above expectations but certainly nice), and a 1pm checkout which was wonderful rather than rushing out in the morning! The city view luxury king room was gorgeous, with 2 large plasma screens, large windows, modern bathroom, and extremely comfortable bed!

The lap pool was quite cold but the spa and sauna were lovely, the gym was small with a few treadmills and weights, but didn't trial it! Worth asking for a room on a high floor as well - the view from the 18th floor was stunning!

Staff were friendly, facilities clean, modern and impressively designed. The only complaints I could make would be cold tea at breakfast and staff walking into our room at 12pm on checkout day when the 'do not disturb' sign was on the door. Otherwise very impressed and wish we could have stayed a week!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwidreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

Everything you would want from a city centre five star hotel - clean, grand, and modern. Rooms are spotless, staff are welcoming and helpful, hard to find fault. Hosts "dine" by Peter Gordon, an award winning restaurant, and is around a 15 minute walk away to "The French Cafe" - arguably the best in Auckland and well worth a visit for fine food.

I would suggest the hotel is more aligned to convention attendees and those on business, the size of the hotel does leave it lacking the vibe of a boutique property, but that's as expected and not the fault of the hotel. Easy walking distance from the harbor, domain, museum and many other attractions. Heading out to more interesting parts of the city for the evening like Ponsonby does need a cab.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4,053 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 66 in Auckland
1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland
2,138 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
2,183 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Grand Hotel

Property: SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Address: 90 Federal St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Auckland
#1 Business Hotel in Auckland
#2 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#5 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — SKYCITY Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an oasis of luxury in the heart of Auckland’s vibrant city. Beautifully appointed, modern and spacious rooms are just the start of this 5-star experience. Stunning views, award-winning dining, the iconic Sky Tower and the tranquil East Day Spa await you. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your SKYCITY Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky City Hotel
Skycity Grand Auckland
Hotel Skycity Grand
SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing