We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacks service and internet is crazy money !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 18 September 2010

Stayed at Sky City Grand in Sept for 8 nights, the rooms need a good cleaning and most are getting tired. One day I left the room at 10am and the room was uncleaned at 4pm when i returned ! I used a coffee mug to drink some orange and found the mug not to have been cleaned. Also ashtrays dirty and overall way below standard if checked by health dept.
Internet is $30 for 24 hours, and if you use Skype or need a higher speed they charge by the MB ! one of our party had a bill of $145 for 1 day's internet ! Also if you switch to a 2nd PC or device into the hard wire. They charge again ! It is insane and the mani reason we will not use it again. Opt for the Langham business deal if you need internet.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank benbee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,254 - 2,260 of 2,617 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2010

We booked the "glamour' package for $160 a night on Wotif. This was such a good deal included 2 cocktails and valet parking. The rooms are spacious and very quiet. The bathroom is really bright and clean. A really good choice for a night out in Auckland. Staff were friendly but not overly so. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laineyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelteamAuckland, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2010

Dear 'Laineyj'

Thanks for taking the time to write your feedback on your experience with the Grand Hotel, good news for you, we have just re-vamped our cocktail menu this week, with more new fabulous concoctions from our master cocktail blender 'Clyde Pereira'.

If you wish him to send you recipes for his cocktails, please let us know.

Warm regards
Caureen McAtee
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

Stayed at the Grand for one night this week on a quick one night trip to Auckland for a business trip. Whilst the experience was good I'm not sure it deserves its 5 star status. The concierge service (the one that stands out was called Ian) was fantastic and they were extremely prompt with the car service and any requests. My room was on the 18th floor overlooking Albert Street with a nice view of the city. The room was fine, functional but with a tiny bathroom. The highlight though was the bed, the linen and pillows were great and it was a very comfortable nights sleep. I ordered room service the night I was there (Grand Burger) and it arrived promptly and was delivered hot and tasty - pretty good for a room service option. All in all a good stay and would definitely recommend as hotel is very central.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessHBNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

I would reccomend this hotel as everything was very nice, not over the top WOW but just exactly what you expect/want. The hotel conferencing room was great too with a very nice lunch provided. Downstairs bar is good for a drink, rooms are standard high quality and the location is very convenient. The internet however was WAY too expensive - not sure how they can justify the charges.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SezzieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Stayed o/n in a city view luxury room...the room was of decent size, however, for a 5 star hotel you would expect 5 star room amenities. The television was outdated. You would expect to have atleast newer kind of television such as LCD or Plasma but instead the old 21 inch tube tv. The toilet & shower is spacious altho' water from shower floods the rest of the toilet. There was no toothbrush/toothpaste or even 1 complimentary water which is expected from any 5 star hotel. I dont recall any sound system, they could have atleast change their ordinary bedside clock to those with radio already, which is common in most hotels overseas. Lastly, there isn't much to see and do at the lobby which is a shame and parking isn't free for hotel guest.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crb0906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2010

Stayed for one night on a package (included bottle of methode, chocolates, valet parking and breakfast). If you combine the value of these items then effectively you are getting the room for $150 which is great value.

We were upgraded to a Harbour View room. Room was super-quiet, roomy and well laid out with a nice view over Auckland marina and Harbour Bridge. We got the concierge to make dinner reservations at Wine Chambers (had a great meal here and wine list is superb).

Breakfast was good, lots of variety and a chef to cook fresh omlettes or eggs to order. FOH was also awesome, excellent service all round.

Only (very) minor point is that the room still had a CRT TV. I've stayed in other rooms where they have upgraded to 32" LCDs so must just still to be done.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZiggyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

We live in the far north of New Zealand and are down in Auckland fairly regularly so have stayed in rather a lot of hotels! This is the first time I have written a review of one so it shows how much we've liked it. When we arrived, there were fire engines, police and ambulances surrounding the place and there was no way of driving in. They had stationed the concierge in an obvious spot at the road so you could ask him for help. We managed to stop and find out where we could go, he radioed another member of staff who met us at a gate and took our car and let us in. Turned out their whole electricity 'thing' for the hotel had 'exploded' so it was all a bit chaotic for them, but they dealt with us perfectly, under fairly unusual circumstances.
Check in people were nice and friendly. We were on the 19th floor over looking the city. The room was beautiful. Very tastefully decorated, lovely crisp bed linen on a superbly comfortable bed and a beautiful bathroom, incredibly well stocked minibar and great artwork on the walls. We came on the "Glamour Package" through "wotif" this is very reasonable and includes 2 free yummy cocktails from the bar. The bar area is nice and funky.
We very much enjoyed our stay so will stay here again next time.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LloydnLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,967 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,435 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#5 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#10 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,012 reviews
0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#12 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,848 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKYCITY Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKYCITY Grand Hotel

Address: 90 Federal St, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#1 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#2 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#3 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £132 - £333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SKYCITY Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an oasis of luxury in the heart of Auckland’s vibrant city. Beautifully appointed, modern and spacious rooms are just the start of this 5-star experience. Stunning views, award-winning dining, the iconic Sky Tower and the tranquil East Day Spa await you. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your SKYCITY Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky City Hotel
Skycity Grand Auckland
Hotel Skycity Grand
SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing