We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Auckland(Auckland Central)
US$264
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$242
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
SKYCITY Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
CityLife Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$244
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Millennium Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Cordis, Auckland by Langham Hospitality Group(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Fitness centre
  • Free Internet
Hotel DeBrett(Auckland Central)
US$232
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rydges Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (2,714)
Filter reviews
2,714 results
Traveller rating
1,566
810
233
75
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,566
810
233
75
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssky towerpremium luxurybaby grand packagemacaroonsfederal streetharbour view roomnew zealandpillow menustar hotelvalet parkinglobby barthe heart of the citycentral locationrestaurants and barsbuffet breakfastlong flightqueen street
Filter
Updating list...
2,328 - 2,333 of 2,714 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We stayed two nights at SkyCity Grand and enjoyed it very much. The room was clean, modern and comfy. The bathroom was spotless and well maintained with quality toileteries provided.

The breakfast was excellent with lots of quality options. The service was great too. Being in central Auckland, it was very handy to go around and the valet parking was a bonus.

The only downside was that we were given a room with 2 beds (1 queen & 1 single) which we didn't need. As a result the room felt too crampy for 2 people.

Overall it was a very nice place to stay and would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carefree82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in the final stages of the sign off process for a full hotel room refurbishment – we are very excited about this and hope to welcome you back in the future to experience our new rooms. We are also pleased to announce that we offer complimentary WIFI access to all hotel guests.

Kind Regards,

Alison Borland I Guest Relations Executive | SKYCITY Grand Hotel
alison.borland@skycity.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2010

Stayed for two nights in November and again for two nights in December. Both stays were with out fault. Meals on site were good and reasonably priced, security between floors was good and incorporated your room key card with the elevator controls. The roof top pool and exercise area were topped off with a large sauna . Al staff were polite and eager to help out with any thing we needed. Location is well suited if you want to shop or use the harbor but this hotel is a distance from the airport if you are just using it for a stop over. The only negative would be the cost of using the internet. Hotels such as this must understand that not everyone is on an expense account and should provide limited free WI FI so that guests can check E Mail etc.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kincardinepair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2010

First things first - the location is excellent. Its right in the heart of the city, and one could walk to the bay area as well (10 mins). Its easy to find your way back to the hotel, as you only have to track the sky city tower!

The rooms were nice, and the amenities were great. If I remember right, it was cheaper than most other hotels in its star category, and so was value for money as well. We didnt eat at any of the restaurants, but did order from room service once. The food was ok (nothing great) but the surprising part was that they levied a 5% service charge.

The Casino is right in the complex, so it was a positive from that perspective. however, the service was nothing great. We realize that it was peak season and the hotel was full, so the staff may have been quite busy. However, we had made the mistake of not booking a car for our onward journey to Rotoroa and asked the concierge for help. He could not help us much, and finally we had to venture out into the city and book ourselves.

All in all, the hotel was quite nice. Good rooms, good ambiance and excellent location

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nirvaana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2010

We arrived at the sky city Grand on Thursday afternoon. On first impression it was just that - very grand. The service was immaculate from the start to the end. The girls on the desk i found a bit short though they were polite and very busy.

The room was fabulous. Very clean, tidy and the bed was huge. Everything we needed was catered for - and some.

Will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

The Hotel itself was amazing. Our room was clean and tidy with beautiful views. We booked a $209.00 package that included breakfast for two, which was delicious.
Unfortunately upon arrival at the hotel (which was just over an hour later than we had first intended) we had to wait for our room to be cleaned at 4.15pm in the afternoon when we had advised we would be arriving at 3.00pm. I also booked the room online with a debit card (eftpos) which caused so much hassle when it came to paying the bond on the room when we arrived. The man on reception gave the card back to me after a while and proceeded to click through the computer. I stood at reception for 10minutes while he clicked away. My partner then came up to reception and asked if there was a problem and the receptionist said "No I'm just waiting for the deposit," when he had just given my card back to me. Very stressful situation for 4.15pm in the afternoon. When checking out of the hotel, the woman receptionist then gave me my $500.00 bond back in $20.00 notes. That's 25 notes I had to try fit into my wallet. I was glad to get out of there. The staff were very helpful and efficient when we left a bag behind in our room. We phoned the hotel and they retrieved the bag straight away for us to pick up. The Hotel overall was superb, the best location. I would recommend to others for the quality of the hotel not the service of the staff.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natalatattack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelteamAuckland, Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2010

Dear 'natalatattack'

Thank you for your feedback on SKYCITY Grand Hotel and I am glad that you enjoyed 'The Terrace' Breakfast Buffet at the hotel.

In regards to your debit card (eftpos being used for check-in), requirement for proof of identity and credit card or cash guarantee/bond is standard practice within the industry and has always been a requirement at SKYCITY Hotel and Grand Hotel.

This would have communicated to you at the time of your reservation confirmation and is as per our standard process and a requirement for everyone staying in our hotels. I apologise if this was not communicated to you at the time of making the reservation.

The Visa Debit Card can only used for online, phone or mail-order purchases, as it utilises your bank account funds as opposed to using credit (please refer back to you bank for further information). Unfortunately it is unable to be used as a credit card and therefore your reservation required a cash guarantee/bond, which we used your Visa Debit Plus Card via EFTPOS for and reimbursed back to you upon checkout.

I have passed on your positive feedback regarding the staff being "helpful and efficient" in retrieving your luggage.

Kind regards
Caureen McAtee
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews