We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Ranked #14 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A bit dated”
Reviewed 21 June 2011

I was disappointed with this hotel. It was not up to the normally high standards of Stamford hotels.
The first thing that "got me" was on checking in I noticed there was a 1.5% surcharge if paying by credit card. Surely, in this day and age, that should be incorporated in to the tariff.
We decided to dine at "The Grasshopper" Modern Thai restaurant which is part of the hotel. No complaints about the food or service. All wonderful. But when we got the bill I asked for a pen so I could sign it to our room. The , very apologetic, waitress advised us that there was a 5% surcharge to charge it to our hotel room !!!! I understand that maybe the restaurant is a separate entity from the hotel but it is still "in house" I paid by credit card and withdrew the 10% tip I had intended to give. That was a shame as I know the waiting staff are not to blame for the restaurants polices.
Finally the room itself. We had a room on the 5th floor facing the main street. We even had a view of the tower. Very nice. But very noisy. Around 3.30 - 4.00 am a group of "very happy " people had gathered outside the hotel. I think a nightclub must have just closed and they had nowhere else to go. But they stayed there for nearly 2 hours. I'm not blaming the people. They were enjoying themselves, but the soundproofing of the hotel might need an upgrade. Or request a room on one of the higher levels.
Finally the bathroom. This is what really let the hotel down. It was badly in need of refurbishment. The shower enclosure had cracked tiles, and very visible mold growing quite extensively. Not up to the Stamford quality I have come to know.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tommyfromsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StamfordPlazaAkl, Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
Dear tommyfromsydney,
Thank you for your feedback.
We levy a surcharge only on credit cards but not on cash or eftpos transactions. Most of the hotels in Auckland charge a surcharge for credit card transactions.
We are working with Auckland City Council regarding the noise on the street which as you know is beyond our control.
We apologise for standard in the in the bathroom and this has been taken up seriously with our Maintenance & Housekeeping department.
We look forward to welcoming you back and hoping you have a pleasant stay.
Warm regards,

Edwin Saldanha
Guests Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,027 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    875
    714
    272
    102
    64
See reviews for
241
899
124
508
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

I had a fabulous time at the hotel. The lady that checked me in was very friendly, in fact it was the first time I have stayed at a hotel where the staff actually smile & talk to you...have an actual conversation with the guest. I was very impressed & it made me feel welcome. The valet team were so friendly & welcoming too, greeting me by name & asking about my day. For room service I had the Steak Burger and I would just like to say it was amazing! Cooked perfectly and the flavours were great, and love the crinkle cut fries. Overall it was a perfect stay, and enjoyed the harbour view from my room too. Will definitely stay again :)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissParisO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StamfordPlazaAkl, Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
Dear MissParisO,
Thank you for your feedback and your valuable comments have been noted.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Stamford Plaza Auckland.
Warm regards,

Edwin Saldanha
Guests Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

I stayed @ Stamford for work. The location is in the heart of Auckland CBD. The rooms are nice and clean - modern decor. The layout of the work desk is a bit awkward. The buffet breakfast had few selections. The staff were friendly and helpful (especially the giy @ reception who looked for a scissors as i needed one). Overall a good hotel and would recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prescymae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StamfordPlazaAkl, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
Dear prescymae,
Thank you for your response and your feedback has been passed to all our staff members who take great pride in their job.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Stamford Plaza Auckland.
Warm regards,

Edwin Saldanha
Guests Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

We booked in for a weekend overnight package that included King sized bed, complimentary valet parking, chilled bottle of champagne, 2 Red Bulls and buffet breakfast.
The checkin staff were really friendly and welcoming, the valet staff were also friendly and the porters were polite also. The room was small but comfortable and had everything we needed for a lazy 24 hours......
The champagne arrived chilled in a bucket to our room and the Red Bulls were a great pick up! The breakfast was yummy and there was a lot of it and the coffee was great.
Altogether this was just such a great package for 24 hours away and I would highly recommend it for couples who want a great short getaway.

Room Tip: Make sure you book well in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayneA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StamfordPlazaAkl, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
Dear JayneA1,
Thank you for your feedback.
You were booked in our popular Night on Town package which is a great package with locals and leisure travelers.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Stamford Plaza Auckland.
Warm regards,

Edwin Saldanha
Guests Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Have stayed here plenty times. Always go for a suite if you can its not much more money wise and so worth the extra pennys, especially if you have little ones. Seperate lounge is such an added bonus with the suites. Usually get the suites away from the road frontage, got one this time facing Albert St, although it looks classier and has a dining table you do get street noise. Toss up on whether you prefer quietness over look.

Great pool & gym facilitiies. Good food selection for Breakfast Buffet. Generous servings for in-room dining.

Great location, Queen St shopping on other side of block, few mins walk to viaduct waterfront, 1 min walk to DFS Galleria.

Has everything you need at good prices. Will always come back

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidSubritzky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StamfordPlazaAkl, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
Dear doogiehowser_md,
Thank you for your lovely comments.
We are proud of our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to your second home in Auckland.
Warm regards,

Edwin Saldanha
Guests Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Its a solid but aging 5 star hotel. The rooms are good (except 1101), the gym is very good and the location is good. Breakfast in the hotel is overcrowded and unspectacular, and the in-house Thai restaurant is very good but very slow.

Its a mall gripe, but having stayed perhaps 15 times in a year, I just wish the desk would have my details already printed out when I check in...

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanMarco2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StamfordPlazaAkl, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
Dear SanMarco2,
Thank you for your valuable feedback.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We have noted your comments regarding filling your details every time you check in and hoping to get it right the next time your arrive.
Warm regards,

Edwin Saldanha
Guests Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The location of this hotel is great for siteseeing and shopping - the waterfront is an easy 3 or 4 block walk, and the main shopping district is the next block over- the Auckland Sky Tower is within a 10 minute walk. Hotel amenities include a lovely pool and gym area (both with great harbor and skyline views). The rooms are large and well ventilated - good A/C with temp controls in the room. Large bathrooms with separate toilet faclilities. Very clean, with comfortable beds and plenty of soft towels. The usual complimentary tea/coffee set up and mini bar.

The breakfast buffet in the lobby is wonderful and a good value. There are numerous small restaurants within an easy walk from the hotel and the hotel restaurant food is very good too!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redwrangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StamfordPlazaAkl, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
Dear redwrangler,
Thank you for your comments.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back at Stamford Plaza Auckland.
Warm regards,

Edwin Saldanha
Guests Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,474 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,269 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,753 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
2,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Auckland

Property: Stamford Plaza Auckland
Address: 22 - 26 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Auckland
#13 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#13 Business Hotel in Auckland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-class luxury in the heart of the city, just minutes away from the harbour and viaduct. Please note that construction on the city rail link project is underway on Albert St. Stamford Plaza Auckland remains accessible to vehicles and pedestrians, all day, every day. Albert St remains open in both directions throughout the CRL upgrade. However it is limited to one way in each direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Stamford Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Stamford Plaza Hotel Auckland
Auckland Stamford Plaza Hotel
Stamford Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing