We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Devine comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Ranked #16 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Really enjoyed my stay at the Stamford, the staff were wonderfully welcoming and accomodated our every need. the rooms were delightfully furnished with a very homely feel. thoroughly recommend...ps. the food is sensational

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrantRBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryln G, Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2011

Hi GrantRBell,

Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your feedback is greatly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon!

Best regards,
Cheryln Goh
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,906 - 1,912 of 2,298 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2011

I felt that the Stamford Plaza Auckland was in a good location which made it easy to navigate my way around Auckland. I would recommend catching the skybus to and from the airport to get to the hotel versus a taxi. The skybus stop is just a street over and much cheaper than a taxi or a shuttle. My room was large. The bathroom was large too with a separate shower and bathtub and room for the toilet. I love when hotels allow you to opt out of room cleaning and offer you a discount at the hotel restaurant. This was an option at the Stamford. I found the food in the main dining room to be quite disappointing. I felt the breakfast was overpriced, especially the continental one. When I had dinner in the dining room, the waitress was unable to answer what I thought was a basic menu question. The dinner was quite disappointing. The dessert options were very limited and the "dessert bar" not worth half of what they charged. Because of my experience there, I didn't try any of the other restaurants in the hotel.
The concierge at the hotel was quite nice and helpful, but I noticed there wasn't a concierge on staff all day or in the evening. I would have loved to have been able to ask questions when I needed, not just during certain hours. Overall I had a great stay and would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malakialj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryln G, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2011

Hi malakialj,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with us and appreciate that you took the time to offer your constructive feedback regarding your dining experience.

Please be assured that we work hard on the quality and quantity of our food in our Knights on Albert Restaurant and we do regret that our food did not meet your expectations this time.

Our Executive Chef is currently designing a greater selection of sweets for our dessert buffet. We hope that you are able to return to our hotel to sample our delicious selection soon.

Best regards,
Christian Pulley
Director of Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Very comfortable large rooms, great bathrooms.
Excellent service, at reception, bar lounge and restaurant.
Great location,walking distance to first class shopping areas, to ferry's, to the new Viaduct area with bars and restaurants.
Only disappointment was the relative early closing of the lobby bar,they did still serve us a drink at 11.30 pm.

Room Tip: be charming
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbee55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryln G, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2011

Hi travelbee55,

Thank you for your great comments about our hotel location, rooms and services.

We hope that we will be able to host you for another drink in our Knights Lobby Bar soon.

Best regards,
Cheryln Goh
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We have just spent a wonderful time at the Stamford Plaza. It was faultless with our car being valet, to the meet and greet on arrival. The reception staff were very pleasant and fast with our check-in.

Our room reservation had been upgraded to Junior Suite, which was well present and very, very spacious with it's separate lounge area to the bedroom. And the lovely amenities were a treat.

We dine at the Thai Grasshopper for dinner and enjoy the flavours of the food, the ambience of the restaurant was delightful. In the morning we enjoyed the buffet breakfast, with a very wide selection available.

We will definitely be back to enjoy another special occasion.

Jeffery & Caroline, Auckland

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAROLINE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryln G, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2011

Hi Jeffery & Caroline,

Thank you for your enthusiastic review of our hotel.

We are delighted that you were both able to celebrate your special occasion with us in luxury, style and comfort.

Please let us know when you will be returning and we will strive to make your next special occasion extra special with us!

Best regards,
Cheryln Goh
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Stayed over a weekend. Staff were always helpful and smiling, very attentive and the lobby bar is great for drinks or afternoon tea.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StamfordPlazaAkl, Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

Dear Sheryl H
Thank you for your kind feedback. Truly appreciate it.
Regards
Edwin Saldanha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

My husband booked a suite for our wedding anniversary - the last time we visited this hotel for our honeymoon it was known as "the regent " -
Right from the start with the valet and arrival reception there were great vibes.
The room was presently beautifully, A large suite on the 10th floor, candles, rose petals, music and chilled moet upon arrival - exquisite handmade pastries and savory nibbles added to the already near perfect atmosphere.
The facilites are wonderful, bed extremely comfortable and lots of little extras throughout the suite.
The location is great , a short 5-10 min walk to the viaduct and the new "Wynyard Quarter"
If I were to be honest I wouldn't bother with the later for evening, the Viaduct has far more choice and hugely more experienced staff/ and service however Wynyard is great for a stroll on a sunny day and possibly a coffee.
We really enjoyed our stay in The Stamford and hope they enjoy the extra business that the RWC 2011 will bring them - Having spent time overseas we believe that The Stamford matches and in cases exceeds many other establishments and thank them and their staff for truly understanding the value of great service :-)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StamfordPlazaAkl, Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

Dear Pip
Congratulations once again on your Wedding anniversary. Thank you for your positive feedback.
Look forward to welcoming you and Steve back at Stamford Plaza Auckland.
Regards
Edwin Saldanha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

On the positive side, this is in a good location and the staff do try very hard. On the negative, the hotel is very tired, the pool absolutely freezing (I was told by a frequent guest that this is common for winter!); and the Thai food microwaved. Further to this the Wifi in the busines centre did not work.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusieatLigar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StamfordPlazaAkl, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2011

Dear Suzie

I was very concerned to read your comments and am sorry that you did not enjoy all aspects of your stay with us.

Unfortunately you do not mention the dates of your stay, however you will note in our response to a review that was posted on 21 August that the problem with the pool has been addressed and I can advise that when it was checked first thing this morning (26 August), the temperature of the pool water (which does cool a little overnight)was 23 degrees and that of the spa 35 degrees

Although you mention you would not be keen to return, should you change your mind please contact me directly and I will ensure you are well looked after.

Yours

Peter Gee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.8 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,627 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#12 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,872 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
3,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,478 reviews
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,645 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Auckland

Address: 22 - 26 Albert Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#13 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#14 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#15 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £115 - £619 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-class luxury in the heart of the city, just minutes away from the harbour and viaduct. Please note that construction on the city rail link project is underway on Albert St. Stamford Plaza Auckland remains accessible to vehicles and pedestrians, all day, every day. Albert St remains open in both directions throughout the CRL upgrade. However it is limited to one way in each direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Stamford Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Stamford Plaza Hotel Auckland
Auckland Stamford Plaza Hotel
Stamford Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing