We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great CBD location, pool,suna, spa and gym great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Ranked #14 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
TAURANGA NZ
Level Contributor
88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great CBD location, pool,suna, spa and gym great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

A good quality hotel, one of my preferences in Auckland. Reasonably priced & located in the central business district and very close to the harbour water front. Easy flat walk to many attractions and restaurants and bars. Hotel is reasonably modern and offers a comfortable and relaxed atmosphere, not to big. Parking over night $30.00 - reasonable for Auckland. The pool, suna and gym are great.
I think this hotel is suitable for business, couples & solo travellers.

Room Tip: End rooms are larger but all are of a reasonable size. Ask what their special offers are, they ofte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MEANDMEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryln G, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Hi MEANDMEX,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of our hotel with us.

We are very pleased that your enjoyed your stay with us so much and it sounds as though our hotel's location was perfect for you to explore all around Auckland city including our famous waterfront attractions and natural beauty in Auckland.

We're also pleased that you had some time to enjoy our Recreation Centre including our spa and gym.

We hope that you will be able to return to stay with us again very soon MEANDMAX.

Best regards,
Cheryln Goh
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    783
    647
    257
    92
    58
See reviews for
220
827
115
436
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thames, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

While Albert street itself isn't that attractive, the Stamford has great, large rooms, excellent fit out and service. Really can't fault it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ururoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryln G, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Hi ururoa,

It is such an honour to us that you think we are the "pick of Auckland hotels" - we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us so much.

We hope that we will be able to return the honour of welcoming you and your partnet back to stay with us again soon!

Best regards,
Cheryln Goh
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed here for three nights in January and the location is superb. It is close to the public transport hub including a short stroll to the ferries. The Hotel was clean and well appointed and the staff were really friendly and helpful. This is a great hotel if you want to be right in the centre of things. The gym was great and it had a pool spa pool and sauna up on the 10th floor over looking Auckland harbour.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oceanmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryln G, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Hi oceanmum,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us about your most recent stay!

We're very pleased to hear that our staff were friendly and were able to help you with your questions while you were with us so that you could explore our beautiful city to the fullest.

We are very proud of our Recreation Centre and we're glad that you and your family were able to find the time to relax and enjoy the views from up there as well.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to stay with us again soon oceanmum.

Best regards,
Cheryln Goh
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and really liked it. The concierge was very helpful and advised me of a great side trip. Loved the location. Very central fro touring the city

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dora F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryln G, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Hi Dora,

We are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so immensely and that our Concierge was able to enhance your stay even further by suggesting an extra side trip so that you had the unique opportunity to explore our wonderful country even more!

We are also very glad that you found our location convenient so that you were able to experience Auckland city while you were here as well.

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and we hope that you will return to stay with us again soon.

Best regards,
Cheryln Goh
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed the night at the Stamford Plaza on Friday night as my work had brought me a voucher as a gift for xmas (which I was absolutely stoked about) and had a great night there!

The hotel was amazing and the service was A+++ . . . Great staff!!!

The room was really lovely, modern and spacious we even were able to get an in room massage each, at the same time after dinner, which we found was a great service to have as it topped our evening off perfectly! We enjoyed our dinner at Kabuki restaurant, the staff there were great and our glasses were never empty ha ha ha also it was one of the most entertaining dinners I have been to and thank our chief for such a memorable evening!

I would recommend this hotel to everyone really made our stay one to remember : )

Thanks!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natiex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryln G, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Hi Natiex,

What a generous Christmas present from your work! We are absolutely thrilled that you had such a great time with us.

Kabuki is definitely an experience that everyone should enjoy at least once and we are delighted that you and your partner were well-entertained and most importantly, enjoyed the fresh, delicious food that Kabuki is famous for.

We hope that you will be back to stay with us soon and that you will be able to try our fabulous High Teas or have dinner in our Knights on Albert restaurant next time!

Best regards,
Cheryln Goh
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Generally the previous reviewers have provided all the positive information: this is a quality hotel with very good service and facilities. Location great, valet parking efficient, staff well-trained.
It should, however, be better for the price and to meet it's own market positioning.
Don't read on if you aren't interested in the picky details.The little things do count, such as the closet light not being able to switch off, and the magnifying mirror light in the bathroom not working. The room lights cannot be centrally controlled from the bed. No extra blankets are provided in the room (I don't want to have to call housekeeping in the early hours when I'm in my jammies and woken up cold). The air conditioning isn't controllable (the familiar fake controls belong in 3-star and below hotels only, in my view). I have not previously come across a television volume control which is 'governed' - then set too low. No, I don't want to disturb my neighbours, but in a quality hotel the sound should not have to be so soft to avoid that - the walls aren't that thin. Different channels are already set at different levels of sound compression and if the hotel sets its own sound bar, it had better take all channels into account. Bathroom accessories are only adequate - again, for the level of hotel this is.
Yes, I would stay there again, especially if it's long enough so there's 'time to sort out the details of housekeeping and maintenance as necessary.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwijj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryln G, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Hi kiwijj,

Thank you for your detailed feedback of your most recent stay with us.

We are glad that you found your overall experience with us enjoyable and that our team were able to display the high levels of customer service that we at the Stamford are well-known for.

Our success is of course measured in getting not only the big things right, but also the small details and I regret that there were some things that were overlooked.

Your comments have been followed up with all concerned and the maintenance issues you noted have been rectified - I am sorry that it took your comments to have these attended to.

Our hotel air-conditioning can be individually controlled in each accommodation room. It does take a few minutes to change once you have altered the settings but each room can be set to a different temperature depending on our guests’ comfort level.

Again, we appreciate your feedback and will work on the points that you have raised in your review. We hope that you will return to stay with us again in the near future to experience our improvements in product and service.

Best regards,
Cheryln Goh
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYork
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

The service here was friendly and great. The location is so so close to the waterfront that it is amazingly convenient. It is also near a park that was beautiful. Restaurants are all around. I loved the environment. Very easy to get around from here. I went with a group that all was paid ahead so I dont know the price per night. One thing I will say is that the buffet breakfast is good, but it appears that the scrambled eggs are powdered eggs. In New Zealand nobody wants to have dairy that is not the real deal, but all the places seem to have that.

Room Tip: Try to get a room high up with a view. Bath pressure is really strong
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smallbirdNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryln G, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Hi smallbirdNewYork,

Thank you for your helpful feedback about your most recent stay with us.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel location to be convenient to explore Auckland city and that the environment in the hotel itself was friendly.

We would just like to make a point of informing you that the eggs we use at our hotel are all fresh eggs. We do not use powdered eggs in any of our meals, including our breakfast buffet.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay at our hotel again in the near future smallbirdNewYork.

Best regards,
Cheryln Goh
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,410 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,068 reviews
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Auckland

Property: Stamford Plaza Auckland
Address: 22 - 26 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Auckland
#13 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#13 Business Hotel in Auckland
#15 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-class luxury in the heart of the city, just minutes away from the harbour and viaduct. Please note that construction on the city rail link project is underway on Albert St. Stamford Plaza Auckland remains accessible to vehicles and pedestrians, all day, every day. Albert St remains open in both directions throughout the CRL upgrade. However it is limited to one way in each direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Stamford Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Stamford Plaza Hotel Auckland
Auckland Stamford Plaza Hotel
Stamford Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing