We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable rooms, great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Ranked #15 of 67 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 25 June 2012

After reading the latest reviews here, we were a little hesitant on choosing the Stamford Plaza. But we had a good stay, the rooms (7th fl, Albert St side) were clean, well equipped and not that dated (as per previous comments)! We booked directly through the hotel as they were offering a 'Melt into Winter' rate with a $1 breakfast and free valet parking. The communication to book was prompt and helpful. The location of the hotel is great, a stones throw from both the Harbour and the Sky Tower (we could see it from our room).

The pool (a tad on the chilly side!), jacuzzi and sauna, all great on the 10th floor with views. The gym also looked well equipped.

The staff (concierge, front desk) were all extremely helpful, efficient and friendly.

Breakfast was good but not amazing, when we arrived at 8.30am the dishes with bacon, hash browns etc. were virtually empty and what was left was a little soggy. The service here wasn't as efficient as in other areas of the hotel. There was a chef there cooking eggs to order which was good. It was a perfectly adequate breakfast, but nothing to write home about.

All in all, a very comfortable nights stay in a great location.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the Sky Tower from the Albert Street side of the hotel (7th fl) were great and...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mejo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Hi mejo09,

We are very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel and that you found our rooms well-equipped and comfortable.

Our "Melt into Winter" accommodation package has been very popular and we are pleased that you took advantage of it for your getaway stay with us.

We are proud that our staff were able to enhance your stay with their outstanding customer service both prior to your stay when booking and in our Front Office department in particular during your stay.

Thank you for giving us your honest feedback about our breakfast buffet as well and we will be sure to encourage our Chefs and restaurant team to be more observant of food levels and to be more attentive to guest needs.

We hope that you will come back to Auckland soon and stay with us again in the future.

Thank you again for your comments.

Best regards,
Cheryln Goh
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,136)
There are newer reviews for Stamford Plaza Auckland
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,645 - 1,651 of 2,136 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2012

The Stamford, it sounds like you should be impressed before you even walk into the lobby. And when you do you the service starts straight away. The service is definitely strides ahead of many hotels that I have stayed at in New Zealand. And at the end of the day, that all you really want, good service (and free Wi-fi).

This room was booked for me by my company, so I couldn't tell you what was paid for the room, but breakfast and Wi-fi was included. Wi-fi on it's own, is reasonable, I guess. Definitely a lot better than the Hilton or Novotel. There is even good signal on the higher up floors, which is something a lot of hotels don't consider.

The room itself was, as every review mentions in here, a bit dated. The room came with all of the usual amenities, but I found it could have used a few more power points. I struggled to charge all of my electronic devices without unplugging various lamps and the alarm clock. The room was very cold when I went to sleep and there were no extra blankets. I had to resort to using the air conditioning overnight, I don't usually as I feel dehydrated when I wake up in the morning. Another issue was the cupboard lighting. It never went off and you could see it through the cracks, very annoying, I had to unscrew the light bulbs to actually get to sleep.

From what I am told they are soon to undergo a refurbishment. This is obviously a priority for them and I look forward to staying here again, once they are completed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelmodeEngaged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Hi TravelmodeEngaged,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience at our hotel with us.

We are very happy that our team were able to provide you with the high standards of service that we are so well-known for and we are glad that you were able to use our wifi efficiently and easily during your stay.

We appreciate your comments regarding your room and again, we would like to assure you that we are looking into refurbishment plans that include more power outlets and new armoires that do not leave the light on when the doors are shut.

We regret that you had to use our air-conditioning overnight when you would normally not prefer to. Please note that we do keep extra blankets in Housekeeping and one of our Housekeeping or Concierge members would have been happy to bring an extra blanket up to your room for your use if you had called down to Reception at any time.

Thank you again for providing such valuable feedback TravelmodeEngaged, and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay at our hotel again soon.

Best regards,
Cheryln Goh
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

After having our room given away at another hotel in Auckland, we were welcomed at the Stamford at short notice. A great rate and excellent service made our brief stay very enjoyable.
Thank you for the great service.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BandD_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 June 2012

HI BandD_12,

Lovely to hear that we were able to create a great experience for you in Auckland from what could have potentially been quite disappointing.

Next time you plan a trip back up to Auckland, we would be more than happy to welcome you to our hotel first and be sure that you get another taste of our fantastic hospitality.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback!

Best regards,
Cheryln Goh
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We absolutely enjoyed our stay at the Stamford, right from when we pulled up to the hotel we found the service fantastic and all staff very friendly. We were offered to upgrade our room which we did, we found it very clean and comfy. The package we had included breakfast, there was a huge selection which looked and tasted great. Overall I would definately recommend this hotel and will be returning again soon.

Room Tip: Take the upgrade offer.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryln G, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Hi Kelly T,

We're so pleased to hear of your most recent stay with us and how much you enjoyed it!

We are very glad that our team were able to look after you right from the start and give you that extra special attention that we try to give all of our guests.

Great to hear that you had a comfortable stay in our rooms and that our food selection and quality of the buffet breakfast at our Knights on Albert restaurant topped off a memorable stay!

We hope to welcome you back to stay with us soon Kelly T.

Best regards,
Cheryln Goh
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I have mixed views on this hotel. I really want to give it a 3.5 so have given it the benefit of the doubt in giving it a 4. I stayed here for two nights in May/June 2012. As others have mentioned, the concierge and valet parking service is friendly and efficient. Reception can be a little slow though, and the person checking me in was very confused that I had pre-booked valet parking and had to phone colleagues to ask about that (I had booked on Stamford Plaza's own web site). Even then they charged the wrong rate, something I noticed on checking out.

The rooms as others say are dated. Yes we know from the hotel that there is a plan to do something about that, but meanwhile the rooms are still dated. The plumbing is also old, and it shows (shower runs hot/cold/hot/cold) The rooms are also noisy at night; not from within, but from activity out on the street. Take earplugs if you're anything but a very deep sleeper. You might think a 5-star could manage better insulation than this.

Happy hour at the in-house bar is well patronised, and the bar has a nice vibe. When I arrived there were already around 20 guests there, and the barman and one waiter were really struggling to keep up with demand. Then two or three more waiters arrived (they could have used them from the beginning) and the service improved.

Beware you get charged 1.5% credit card payment rate at this hotel. I settled my account by EFTPOS for this reason. However a week later I saw that the hotel had also helped itself to charging $10 to my credit card! When I questioned this they said I had drunk some water. Knowing I had settled my account in full I requested a refund of this which was promptly agreed to by the hotel. But how or why that happened remains a mystery.

In summary - I would probably stay here again, but it will be more interesting to return if it is every refurbished.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryln G, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Hi David E,

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a detailed review of your latest stay with us.

We appreciate the flaws that you have pointed out in our product and service and we would like to reassure you that we are continuously striving to better our product and service in order to cater for all of our guest needs.

We would very much like to host you again to stay when our refurbishments are completed. Please continue to follow us on our website, Facebook, Twitter and our various social media mediums to get the latest updates on our hotel's progress.

Once again, thank you very much for your comments David E.

Best regards,
Cheryln Goh
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

With a group of friends we decided to stay in town the night and chose the Stamford Plaza.
This is a wonderful hotel, service was fantastic and the people very friendly. Our room was great and the pool area was awesome. We booked the package that included breakfast in the morning and thoroughly enjoyed it (well worth the money). I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryln G, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2012

Hi Sharyn T,

It was our absolute pleasure that you enjoyed such a wonderful stay with us!

We are so glad to hear that you and your friends had time to enjoy our hotel facilities before heading out for what was no doubt a great night on the town. We are very happy that breakfast in the morning went down a treat as well.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us Sharyn T and we look forward to the next time we can host you for another memorable weekend in Auckland Central!

Best regards,
Cheryln Goh
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We had a really comfortable stay a few times here at the hotel. The decor is a little dated but it's obvious that it used to be very grand back in the days but everything is clean and comfortable so we don't really mind. Breakfast wasn't really great but we tried the Japanese and Thai restaurants and these were nice. All the staff were really nice apart from this one guy in the check-in counter that seems to always have a bit of an attitude and thinks he's above the concierge staff and we could see that he didn't treat the other staff really well, which for customers like us to notice was not really nice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 690JustinNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryln G, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2012

Hi 690JustinNZ,

We are always so pleased to hear from repeat guests who have enjoyed themselves at our hotel time and time again. We are even more pleased to hear that this most recent experience that you had with us lived up to all of your expectations yet again.

We're glad that you were able to try the cuisine in our Grasshopper Thai Restaurant and our Kabuki Teppanyaki Japanese Restaurant as well. We certainly hope that you enjoyed our Kabuki show during your meal!

We appreciate you bringing to our attention the negative attitude of one of our Front Office staff members. Our Rooms Division Manager has already addressed this with his team and we would like to assure you that our customer service is of utmost importance to us and we will continue to strive to give our guests the very best service we can offer.

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback 690JustinNZ and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon.

Best regards,
Cheryln Goh
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,858 reviews
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,522 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland Central
4,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,318 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland Central
4,309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Auckland

Address: 22 - 26 Albert Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#13 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#14 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#14 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £97 - £385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-class luxury in the heart of the city, just minutes away from the harbour and viaduct. Please note that construction on the city rail link project is underway on Albert St. Stamford Plaza Auckland remains accessible to vehicles and pedestrians, all day, every day. Albert St remains open in both directions throughout the CRL upgrade. However it is limited to one way in each direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Stamford Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Stamford Plaza Hotel Auckland
Auckland Stamford Plaza Hotel
Stamford Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing