We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Great Hotel....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Ranked #14 of 65 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“What a Great Hotel....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

I have a one week break between business in Australia and decided to fly over to Auckland and rent a motorcycle and go zoom zoom. I checked into the Stamford based on a great rate of $132. Checking in was fantastic, super friendly and efficient. They upgraded my room $40 bucks and I got a deluxe room with internet on the top floor.

Everything was great. The internet was super fast, the hotel is beyond clean and everything happens on time. We Americans must have ice and it showed up in less than 5 minutes with a big smile. Elevators were fast, internet was fast, smiles were fast and overall this hotel delivered perfectly; not something that happens often enough. Great value and price. I will recheck in after my hugely wet, stormy nasty trip...it is winter and I hit the brunt of that for sure. Oh, and location is fantastic too..minutes from everything.

Room Tip: Ask for what you want and they will make every effort to get it for you. The internet is expensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dg3225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryln G, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Hi dg3225,

It's always so uplifting to hear such fantastic comments about our hotel - both product and service and we are incredibly pleased that you enjoyed yourself and were so comfortable staying with us.

Here's hoping we see you again very soon after your adventure!

Best regards,
Cheryln Goh
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    784
    649
    257
    92
    58
See reviews for
221
828
115
436
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

Stayed for two nights. Booked on Wotif. Have stayed in excellent hotels in USA, Europe, Japan and Asia. This was the best value- not the best hotel but definitely the best value.
The staff was wonderful- the restaurant and bar staff rate with the best of Hong Kong for friendliness and efficiency. The car parking staff was also terrific. Our rental car was parked and waiting for us in the driveway when we signed out.
The two-for-one Tuesday dinner and happy hour in the hotel restaurant and bar were unbelievably good value for money. The standard of the food, particularly, was significantly higher than I expected for hotel food.
Stayed in a deluxe room. Yep - could do with a "freshen up" as the hotel is planning but the bathroom was certainly of excellent standard.
The king bed was two singles pushed together as others have observed. This is the case in many hotels. However, it was very comfortable.
The position of the hotel could not have been better.
We loved it and have no hesitation recommending it.

Room Tip: We chose a deluxe rooms which other reviewers have pointed out, and the hotel has agreed, can do wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank olderfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Hi olderfolks,

Your around-the-world trip sounds amazing and we are so pleased that you found our hotel the best value!

We pride ourselves on exceeding our guests expectations and it is very encouraging to hear that we exceeded yours in terms of both service and product, especially in our Knights On Albert restaurant.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and we hope that you will return to stay with us again soon.

Best regards,
Cheryln Goh
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Had two nights here with two rooms for family of four. Got a great 'wotif' deal with accom., valet parking and breakfast all included. Greeting from hotel staff was excellent, especially the valet parking guys. Rooms are large, comfortable and pleasantly quiet but are showing their age a little. This hotel is a great base for exploring Auckland as you are pretty much straight out the door and into the heart of the city.
We were a little disappointed with the breakfast buffet, food was ok (not great) but the service was pretty poor - almost impossible to get a refill of coffee.
Overall I would consider staying again if I got a similar deal - wouldn't pay full price.

Room Tip: Higher floor if possible - away from city traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fourkiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Hi Fourkiwis,

Great to hear that you and your family enjoyed your overall experience with us!

We're very happy that you were able to make the most of exploring Auckland city from our handy location and that you were all comfortable in our rooms. As we have stated previously, we are currently working on refurbishment plans for our accommodation rooms and hope that your whole family will be able to return for another weekend getaway at a later date.

Thank you for informing us about your buffet breakfast experience here. We will definitely be looking into expanding our buffet options and have already taken steps to ensure that our customer service in our restaurant is delivered to the high Stamford standard that all our guests deserve.

Thank you again Fourkiwis and we hope that you will all come back and stay again soon.

Best regards,
Cheryln Goh
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012 via mobile

Recently had a business conference and the Raffles room was good with all the electronic facilities needed for your presentations and staff were very attentive to time schedules for morning tea and afternoon breaks.
Breakfast buffet is beautiful eggs any way you would like.
Lunch was a bit limited in choice on the buffet but the deserts especially the cheese platter and fruit beautiful.
Rooms are a little dated but bathrooms are great and the shower pressure is brilliant.
Would love to spend more time here on my next visit and of course the very stylish bar.
Great gym and pool on the 10th floor and a good workout room for the fitness enthusiasts and a quite place to think.





  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davos33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Hi davos33,

It's always such a pleasure for us to read such positive comments from a guest who has experienced so many aspects of our product on the one stay!

Your great feedback about our conferencing is definitely very encouraging and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast in Knights On Albert and our lunch options as well. We have an ever-chaging lunch menu in Knights On Albert that updates every two weeks so please feel free to come through and have a look at our different options on a regular basis.

We look forward to hosting you for a longer stay next time davos33.

Best regards,
Cheryln Goh
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
207 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights, Wednesday, Thursday.
No parking nearby, so was expected to use Valet, which we did. A lovely man (Nu), very polite and curtious. Nothing was a problem to him. A credit to this hotel. Everytime he saw us, he remembered our names and said hello etc.. a nice touch.
Rooms, clean and tidy, seperate bath, shower and toilet, 5 star quality.
Did ask for a morning paper both days, that never came either day.
Would have been nice to have a spare blanket in the room.
We ordered breads and drinks in bar area for a snack, drinks arrived, but breads took 45mins, not good, when complained they told us there were trainees on, ( thought someone should have been training / supervising / checking on them ). But we were given them complimentary after complaining it took so long,
Food in Asian restaurant next door for dinner 1st night was great, nice and handy with a walk thru to hotel reception.
2nd night we went to Japanese restaurant in the hotel, wonderful and the staff cooking were great and very talented to watch. Recommend this if staying in.
Checking out Friday morning at 8.30am was so slow, 2 staff on at first, then another came along, At this busy time, you would think all hands on deck, but no, this could have been so much better, a shame our stay ended this way, as that's what we will remember.
I even filled in a comments card, that said on it, you get a choc bar for taking the time to fill this in, but that didn't come either, so don't bother filling this in, if you stay here.
A nice classy hotel, a pity of the poor service in certain areas.
Should be looked at, and improvements made.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on road side, night club across the road, very noisy during the night. Ask to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank male4sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Hi sandraNewZealand,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such detailed feedback on your most recent stay with us.

We're very happy to hear that our Concierge Supervisor Nu, left you with such a great impression. We are immensely proud of our team and always strive to provide exemplary customer service to all of our guests.

We appreciate you letting us know about the issues that you did experience during your stay with us such as not receiving your newspaper and the service pitfalls in both Food & Beverage and Front Office. We would like to assure you that our Heads of Departments in both areas have been informed of your feedback and have already developed plans to our staff to better our service.

On a parting note, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experiences and the food in both our Grasshopper Thai Restaurant and in our Kabuki Teppanyaki Japanese Restaurant. The show in Kabuki is indeed unique and interactive and it's always nice to hear our guests recommend us from personal experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us soon again sandraNewZealand and thank you again for sharing your comments with us.

Best regards,
Cheryln Goh
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suva, Central, Fiji
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

A little glitch on arrival that was sorted in a timely manner and professionally. My room was ready, clean and very impressive. Stamford is ideally located in Auckland city for business or vacation and in walking distance to anything and everything. Stayed an entire working week and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Looking forward to returning :))

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shereen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Hi Shereen A,

We are incredibly pleased to hear that you spent a whole week with us and enjoyed yourself so immensely.

We are also happy to hear that the issue you had on arrival was sorted in an efficient and friendly manner by our team.

We are absolutely looking forward to welcoming you back on your next stay with us Shereen A.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback.

Best regards,
Cheryln Goh
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

My friend and I booked a night on the 30th of June. The rate included valet parking and a buffet breakfast.
When we arrived the room was not yet ready but that didn't bother us as we wanted to have a walk around town.
When we checked into our room our bags were forgotten so we rang reception who promptly sent them up. The valet parking porters were very friendly and helpful.
The room was super clean and quiet, the bedding was crisp, the towels were fluffy, it would have been nice to have an extra blanket in the room but not completely necessary.
We had buffet breakfast at 9 the next day which was 10/10! Great selection and well stocked, I really couldn't fault the breakfast it pretty much made the stay perfect!
All the staff were lovely, I wouldn't hesitate to come back.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alilevana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Hi Aloweta,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us.

We're very pleased to hear that after a few initial mishaps on your arrival, you were able to enjoy the rest of your stay with us in a comfortable, clean room and that our staff were able to look after your needs.

We appreciate your suggestion to place extra blankets in our rooms, especially during the colder months and we will certainly look into doing so.

Great that you enjoyed our Knights On Albert buffet breakfast so much! It's always good to hear that your stay was made perfect by all these factors.

We look forward to hosting you again soon Aloweta.

Best regards,
Cheryln Goh
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 65 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,410 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 65 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 65 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,068 reviews
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 65 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,842 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 65 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Auckland

Property: Stamford Plaza Auckland
Address: 22 - 26 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Auckland
#13 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#13 Business Hotel in Auckland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-class luxury in the heart of the city, just minutes away from the harbour and viaduct. Please note that construction on the city rail link project is underway on Albert St. Stamford Plaza Auckland remains accessible to vehicles and pedestrians, all day, every day. Albert St remains open in both directions throughout the CRL upgrade. However it is limited to one way in each direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Stamford Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Stamford Plaza Hotel Auckland
Auckland Stamford Plaza Hotel
Stamford Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing