We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very central”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Ranked #15 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“very central”
Reviewed 18 November 2012 via mobile

Have stayed here before and found it great hotel, a good sized room, bathroom with bath and walkin shower, self control on the aircondition, hotel set volume on the TV which is set a bit to low, good breakfast, and friendly staff.No restaurant menus in room only room service menu.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryln G, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Hi Michael T,

We're very pleased to hear that you returned to stay with us again!

Thank you for your feedback on how to improve the information we provide our guests inside our rooms and we will definitely look into this for the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again.

Best regards,
Cheryln Goh
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    805
    666
    262
    96
    61
See reviews for
226
847
116
456
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

I did not expect to have the same minor problems as the last time I visited (see my previous review). Despite staying in a different room the magnifying mirror light was again defective. Which suggests they don't routinely check them. In addition, the mirror extension arm was faulty so the mirror falls forward. This is a quality hotel, I don't expect details to be shabby. Again, the television sound is set stupidly low. Concierges very good again (especially valet services), and reception desk very good, BUT a request from guest services for Panadol was met with a curt "We are not prepared to medicate." Wow. That could have been better put: "I'm afraid we can't supply those, but there is a medical centre next door, and pharmacists at the corner and a dairy across the road, if that could help?" But no, when actually asked about where we might go the person on guest services suggested there was a pharmacy several blocks away on Queen street. Again - ok in a 3-star, just bad in a 5-star.
Valet parking was good again.Room service not tried as prices are silly and there are some great places nearby. Excellent breakfast, great coffee at the funky and famous Federal and Wolfe across the road. Don't like the joined-together beds, but that's an individual thing.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwijj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryln G, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Hi kiwijj,

Thank you for your review.

We are most disappointed to note that you still experienced the same minor flaws in our product and service on your repeat stay with us. We have already passed your comments onto our Housekeeping and Maintenance team so that we can ensure that our product is continuously of the highest standards in the future.

We're very pleased that our Concierge team and our Reception team were able to enhance your stay by being friendly, helpful and efficient.

We appreciate the time you've taken to give us your feedback again. Please be assured that we take your comments very seriously and we are commited to improving our product. We hope that you will return to stay with us again soon.

Best regards,
Cheryln Goh
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

I have stayed at a number of hotels in Auckland whilst traveling for work. I have preferred this hotel the most so far. The room is very comfortable, with a large bed and bathroom (though the automatic lights are a bit temperamental). The staff were also very friendly, in particular the guy that works at night Desmond who was very friendly and helpful when the wifi wasn't working for me and also when I checked in. One thing that was odd was that they withhold $900 off your credit card when you check in and keep it for five days, still not sure why this is done as it has never happened before (an imprint yes, but not money) but it was refunded to me so no issues from that.

The food was delicious especially the breakfast waffles plus you get a lot of food! I also had a few meals from the Thai restaurant downstairs which you can have as room service too and that was also great :) This was a nice surprise as the hotels I have stayed in have had AWFUL room service food so I usually eat out.

Like all hotels in Auckland, the net was quite expensive ($100 for a week) though they have a business centre you can use internet for free in.

The only downside I found was that the walls are pretty thin so you do hear noise from other guests from time to time and also I could hear traffic noise and construction outside (I was staying on the 8th floor in a Deluxe room).

No idea about pricing of the rooms as work paid for it but the prices of the room service food and also minibar stuff was about the same as other hotels I have stayed at. Minibar is just ok, would be nice to have some more snacks in it though :)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryln G, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Hi Sarah S,

We're thrilled to hear that out of all the hotels you've stayed in when visiting Auckland for work, ours has been your favourite!

It's important for us to provide a large range of breakfast food for our guests, particularly our guests who stay with us for business, as we are aware that with such busy schedules, it's often challenging to have a proper meal later in the day. The same goes for our Room Service selection because we understand that our business guests often return back to our hotel after a full day of meetings and just want to dine in their room while finishing paperwork - thus, we believe that the quality of the meal should not be sacrificed just because the guest is dining in their room.

We will definitely take your feedback about our minibar selection into consideration and evaluate widening our minibar range.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again the next time you visit Auckland.

Best regards,
Cheryln Goh
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
186 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Overall, the Stamford Plaza Auckland is a good hotel. I have not stayed at other Stamford branded hotels, so I can't make a comparison. I agree with many that the hotel is a bit dated and tired. It does need a face lift. However, the actual functionality of the rooms and facilities are fine. It is not a 5 star hotel which it does try to portray and when that expectation is not met, there are ought to be disappointments. I guess when they don't charge a 5-star price, it should have given a hint. It seems like many famous people have lived here before but it may be when the hotel was in its glamour days. I would recommend this hotel only if you understand that it is not a true 5-star hotel, but it is a nice one. The customer service is good and helpful. The pricing of wifi is expensive, but it does offer a good business centre with good computers. It's just a bit inconvenient. The location of the hotel is fantastic. Close to everything you need in the Auckland CBD.

Room Tip: Try to see if you can get an upgrade to a deluxe room on the 9th and 10th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank savvy_traveller175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryln G, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Hello savvy_traveller175,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

We are currently reviewing plans to refurbish our accommodation rooms and are hoping that these plans will be finalised and underway by the new year.

We're glad that you enjoyed the location of our hotel so that you were able to explore Auckland city at ease during your stay and we are pleased to hear that our staff were friendly and helpful as well.

We hope that you will return to stay with us again soon.

Best regards,
Cheryln Goh
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

A comfortable and convient hotel central to most places in Auckland. A bit on the pricey side, but service is very good. Wonderful fitness and swimming facilities. Rooms are a bit dated and could do with a refurb considering the cost of the room.

Only problem was with Mini Bar, charges kept appearing on my bill, although didn't have any mini bar items!

Room Tip: Higher floors for a quieter stay as is on a major bus route
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZL_Carl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryln G, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Hi guesswho1100,

Thank you for your review based on your most recent stay with us!

We're pleased to hear that our Stamford team enhanced your stay while you were with us and that you enjoyed our Recreation Centre including our state of the art gym, indoor swimming pool and whirlpool spa.

We regret the miscommunication that occured regarding your minibar items but trust that all was sorted upon check out.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon.

Best regards,
Cheryln
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Stayed here overnight after a long flight. The location is central and convenient. Staff was very helpful arranging an early check-in. The room was quiet and comfortable with a lovely bathroom and a little office space to get some work done. Good breakfast, just wish they served better coffee...

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryln G, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Hi Renee10,

We're delighted to hear that you had such a comfortable overnight stay with us!

We are especially proud that our staff were able to arrange a prompt early check-in for you, particularly after such a long flight. Great that you got some good rest in a quiet room as well and even managed to get some work done.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and we hope to welcome you back to stay with us again soon.

Best regards,
Cheryln Goh
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012 via mobile

Was biked in here on business. The Stamford brand is usually very good but I would rate this hotel quite average. The rooms are nothing special, location is fine but really it's a bit expensive for what you get.

Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank SmokeyRH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryln G, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Hi SmokeyRH3,

Thank you for your review.

We are disappointed to hear that our hotel did not live up to your expectations from your previous experience with our Stamford brand.

We do offer a range of packages and promotions throughout the year that offer you a better deal on both accommodation and food & beverage - you are more than welcome to enquire about these prior to your next stay with us.

Best regards,
Cheryln Goh
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,432 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,138 reviews
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,865 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Auckland

Property: Stamford Plaza Auckland
Address: 22 - 26 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Auckland
#13 Business Hotel in Auckland
#14 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-class luxury in the heart of the city, just minutes away from the harbour and viaduct. Please note that construction on the city rail link project is underway on Albert St. Stamford Plaza Auckland remains accessible to vehicles and pedestrians, all day, every day. Albert St remains open in both directions throughout the CRL upgrade. However it is limited to one way in each direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Stamford Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Stamford Plaza Hotel Auckland
Auckland Stamford Plaza Hotel
Stamford Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing