We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Grand Windsor(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Grand Mercure Auckland(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel DeBrett(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
M Social Auckland(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
Rydges Auckland(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,347)
Filter reviews
2,347 results
Traveller rating
1,037
800
312
118
80
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,037
800
312
118
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseparate toiletalbert streetvalet parkingroad workshigh tealobby bardeluxe roombuffet breakfastroom servicegood sizesky towercentral locationwould stay againlate checkcomfy bedper dayqueen st
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,717 - 1,722 of 2,347 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Stayed in this hotel last year. An appalling experience, food was terrible, Special Asian Singapore Buffet evening. Breakfast was a disaster. I asked for poached eggs which I do in every hotel I stay at. They arrived looking like bullets!! My husband cut into his and the yoke shot across the table and all over his black trousers. Fortunately I was prepared!! The wait staff were not very helpful, patted him down with a napkin and that was it. First time ever had poached eggs cooked in microwave in any hotel let alone supposedly 5 star. We paid extra for an upgrade room, very tired and T.V. and other facilties very poor. Couldn't get out quick enough, and a couple of days later an email asking how our stay was, wasn't going to complain, just don't go back. This time I sent an email to the Manager and gave them the lowdown on the treatment we had received - didn't even have the courtesy of a reply, think that says it all!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Public Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Dear Gill B

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us here at the Stamford Plaza Auckland.

You will be happy to hear the we will be undergoing an extensive refurbishment of the hotel to upgrade a number of areas of our property including the guests rooms.
Your comments regarding service have been escalated to our Head of Operations to review our and make procedural changes if necessary and see where improvements can be made to ensure all of our guests receive 5 star service.
I would warmly welcome you back to experience our new and improved property.

Kindest regards
John Moffett
PR & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

The Stamford Plaza Auckland has plenty going for it: a central location, friendly service, and decent bathrooms (slippers provided; L'Occitane amenities). However, its strengths don't cover its fundamental issue, which is that its age is showing. The whole aesthetic - old carpets, tired rooms with ancient cupboards, traditional sheets rather than thick duvets - shouts out that its time for a refurbishment. It's a decent place to stay, especially if on business, but not more beyond that.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Public Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Dear William_N

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent repeat stay with us here at the Stamford Plaza Auckland.

It is always great to read that we have ticked all the right boxes for our guests. Our unique central location and fantastic facilities are always appreciated and I am glad you appreciate these as well.

You will be happy to hear that the hotel will be undergoing an extensive refurbishment starting in July, so hopefully those issues regarding the aesthetic are vanished in tome for your nest stay.

Thank you again for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards
John Moffett
PR & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Good location, walking distance to most good scenes in Auckland, great service, we checked out at around 9 am, but they still offer us free luggage keeping till 5pm, that is really thoughtful for tourists. The decor inside is kind of old but very tidy and clean, all facilities are nice and convenience. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leederomeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Public Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Dear leederomeo

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent repeat stay with us here at the Stamford Plaza Auckland.

It is always great to read that we have ticked all the right boxes for our guests. Our unique central location and fantastic facilities are always appreciated and I am glad you appreciate these as well.


Thank you again for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards
John Moffett
PR & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This hotel is value for money, centrally located, abt 3 blocks from Quay St. It is an uphill walk to Sky City area and double the walking time of everything the concierge tells you, 5 mins would be 10 mins. Check in was fast and concierges was friendly. The hotel rooms have been updated, large room and bathroom. Love the auto bathroom lights and bulletin board in the room. They give you complimentary bottled water which was nice. We got a street/office building view room, while you can hear the cars outside it’s not so noisy you can’t sleep. When we came back late after dinner there were a few bums around the area and a few abandoned buildings across the street. Complimentary 30mins wifi in the lobby. The airport is about 30mins to the hotel. The hotel also has set fares with cooptaxi for NZD62 (to airport) and NZD67 (fr airport) which is really nice, otherwise it was about NZD80.

If you are looking for breakfast, check out Else on Imperial Lane for great coffee (small lane perpendicular to Queen St) and they have free wifi, or Federal and Wolfe across the street by the alley from the hotel (closed Sundays).

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amazingrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Public Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Dear amazingrice.

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent repeat stay with us here at the Stamford Plaza Auckland.

It is always great to read that we have ticked all the right boxes for our guests. Our unique central location and fantastic facilities are always appreciated and I am glad you appreciate these as well.


Thank you again for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards
John Moffett
PR & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed at the Stamford after leaving a cruise. It is well located, easy to get to from Princes' Pier, close to downtown and close to the ferries. The hotel is spotless, service excellent (they have wi-fi in the business center), and the staff very courteous. Good restaurants and coffee shops nearby.

Room Tip: I suspect they are all pretty good.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellercanada2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Public Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Dear travellercanada2

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent repeat stay with us here at the Stamford Plaza Auckland.

It is always great to read that we have ticked all the right boxes for our guests. Our unique central location and fantastic facilities are always appreciated and I am glad you appreciate these as well.


Thank you again for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards
John Moffett
PR & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews