We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Corporate Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stamford Plaza Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Ranked #14 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Great Corporate Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Our company recently changed hotel vendors to the Stamford Plaza. The staff are friendly and helpful, rooms large and tidy. The hotel is centrally located to the CBD and many restaurants. Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamBSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear AdamBSydney,

Thank you for your recent TripAdvisor review of Stamford Plaza Auckland.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    742
    622
    247
    85
    56
See reviews for
207
785
111
425
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Service is what makes this hotel a stand out. It can be really busy at breakfast but if you are patient and just take time to people watch the food is plentiful and fresh. Highly recommended the cocktails and tapas in the foyer pub at night. The pool area is excellent and our room was spotless. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank travelnutnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Travelnutnz,

Many thanks for your recent TripAdvisor review of Stamford Plaza Auckland.

I was pleased to read you found us to be great value for money and you enjoyed the new tapas offering. We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Staff has good customer service. Breakfast Buffet is just okay. Room was nice, could hear people talking, laughing when returning from being out. Right down town, walking distance to restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank savytravelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Savytravelz,

Thank you for your recent TripAdvisor review and for choosing Stamford Plaza Auckland.
We appreciate your feedback as we always strive to improve our service offering and product.

Our staff at Stamford Plaza Auckland look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

I trust you had an enjoyable trip back home to Salt Lake City.

Best regards,
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christchurch
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Great deal - used the wotif mystery deal and what a great rate. This 5 star hotel has location, service, room comfort etc.
Love the separate bathtub - that is the main reason we stayed here so will come back again next time for sure. Nice pool and spa area also.

Room Tip: King/Superking bed is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CheriAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assitant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear CheriAndy,

We appreciate your complimentary review of Stamford Plaza Auckland and we look forward to welcome you back again very soon.

Best regards,
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waitakere, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

I organised a special High Tea at the Stamford as a baby shower for a good friend and it was such a fabulous experience that I felt compelled to write a review. We were given a private function room, set up exactly as we asked, with wonderful attentive staff. Tania Snell from Stamford liaised with me from start to finish and even came in especially on our day to make sure everything went well. Nothing was a problem, no issue was too big or small, she was flexible, helpful, friendly and very professional. She went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed according to my budget. We were given a discounted price due to the large group of people we had, I had to change our numbers a few times due to cancellations, and I wasn't made to pay for no-shows like other establishments had told me would be the case. On top of that, the food was just sooo lovely! Beautifully presented, great tasting, and very filling - most of the ladies couldn't finish theirs and we were even given takeaway boxes to pack it all into. If you're looking for an awesome high tea experience, I would definitely recommend Stamford Auckland.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Stephanie F,

Thank you for your recent review of Stamford Plaza Auckland.

I was delighted to read that Tania took great care of your details in ensuring your private event was executed to perfection.

I have passed on your compliments to Tania who is very appreciative, thank you!

We look forward to welcoming you back at Stamford Plaza Auckland soon.

Best regards,
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed 3 nights and the location is excellent for exploring downtown Auckland. Service was very good, valet parking was included in the deal. Quiet, comfortable room although deco is a little tired and dated for this standard of hotel. Would stay here again for the location but would get a room with a better view, ours looked at another building! Wifi not included. Room service breakfast was on time and adequate for the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Barbara L,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor and for choosing to stay at Stamford Plaza Auckland.

We appreciate your feedback as we always strive to improve our service delivery and product offering.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

This was our second visit to the Stamford and while it didn't quite live up to the first, it was still good. Our (standard) room was enormous with a beautiful bath and I loved having the toilet separate. Location is brilliant for exploring the viaduct and Britomart and handy to Queen St. Two kwibbles - we ordered fries from the bar that arrived late and cold and we also received a note under our door advising us that they expected a breakfast rush and requesting that we try and get to breakfast outside of those times. This I objected to and we went elsewhere for breakfast (thank goodness for the 11am checkout!). I appreciate that they want to reduce serving times, but it could have been done in a more tactful way. You don't stay at a place of this calibre to be told when to have breakfast! But other than that, the whole stay was of a reasonably high standard.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jesseliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Jesseliz,

Thank you for your recent TripAdvisor review.

We appreciate your repeat visit at Stamford Plaza Auckland and the feedback as we strive to always improve our product offering and service delivery.

I do apologise you took the letter as request as this was only intended to be an advisory note to avoid any potential delays in the outlets and to avoid any disappointment.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon as I trust we will meet if not exceed your expectations.

Best regards,
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,364 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,085 reviews
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Auckland

Property: Stamford Plaza Auckland
Address: 22 - 26 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Auckland
#13 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#13 Business Hotel in Auckland
#15 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-class luxury in the heart of the city, just minutes away from the harbour and viaduct. Please note that construction on the city rail link project is underway on Albert St. Stamford Plaza Auckland remains accessible to vehicles and pedestrians, all day, every day. Albert St remains open in both directions throughout the CRL upgrade. However it is limited to one way in each direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Stamford Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Stamford Plaza Hotel Auckland
Auckland Stamford Plaza Hotel
Stamford Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing