We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Ranked #14 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
412 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 566 helpful votes
“Location Location Location”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Recently I went with my family to Auckland for our University 25 year reunion. It necessitated us getting on the ferry to Waiheke Island at the crack of dawn. So terminal was only a hop skip and a jump away. For it's price and location it is hard to beat.
The valet parking was a fantastic option when friends came for the day and can leave their car without any hassles. The only downside was having to pay for WiFi when it was advertised as free on the website I looked at.
Apart from this small nuisance it made our whole experience in Auckland more special.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhoebeNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear PhoebeNix,

Thank you for your recent TripAdvisor review, we appreciate you choosing to stay with us.

I am pleased you had an enjoyable experience and we look forward to welcome you back.

Best regards,

Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,015 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    869
    708
    272
    102
    64
See reviews for
241
896
123
500
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Travelled with friends to NZ to see a show, happened to be the same weekend Beiber and the santa parade was on so there was alot of children in town. Arrived early at the hotel (12 noon) and had booked two rooms. Was advised that ony one room was ready and that both rooms had been upgraded to suites and that the second room would be ready with in half an hour. We were offerred a drink on the house as we waited and before we had finished, we were advised our rooms were readty.

The suites were massive corner suites with seperate lounges which were huge. One had a mini kitchen which was great. Bathrooms were on a grand scale with seperate bath and shower. Lounge area was bright with full windows the length of the suite. The bed was so big I lost my partner in it which meant I had the best sleep in months!

While the hotel maybe a little old, she is still has a class act. The staff are amazing and cater to every need. I was impressed with the reception staff, one of which was having a joke with a family checking in beside me (the teenage daugther asked if Beiber was staying in the hotel. Steve smiled and said that the lobby would need to be cleared at 730 for a VIP which made the girl squeal). I did not see the Beibes so assuming he was just having fun with the young lass which amused all including her parents.

The breakfast buffet had at least 50 different options and was wel stocked. One thing I found great was that even though it was a buffet, wait staff continued to check on us to ensure that our drinks were always full or hot.

We also stayed during the Auckland Santa Parade which was right outside the hotel. I thought this would be an issue as the road was closed however the hotel was able to secure a carpark across the road and had stff waiting to colect and marshall guests and their cars. Top service!!

The show was CHICAGO at Q Theatre (not the Beibs). I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for old school glamour and top service. Well done to staff and management.

Travelled from Australia.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JezzaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear JezzaNZ,

Thank you for your recent TripAdvisor review and for choosing Stamford Plaza Auckland.

I am pleased your had an exceptional stay and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

I trust you had a safe journey back to Australia.

Best regards,
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
373 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Being an Auckland resident I rarely stay in Auckland city hotels but we treated ourselves as we were having a night out in town. Check in was quick and easy and although all big hotels can be much the same the room itself was excellent with plenty of space and it was very clean.

Breakfast was also good and in general the staff were excellent though the valet parking did take quite a while to bring our car

Two problems we found - the hot buffet breakfast was cold and the worst issue - the check out queue - was enormous, right across the lobby and we queued for forty minutes for the honour of paying the bill. OK it was busy but only two checkout staff? That really put us off coming back next time we are in town.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Steve W,

Thank you for your recent review of Stamford Plaza.

I appreciate your feedback as we always strive to improve our service offerings. We aim to be better than average and your feedback will be used as a tool for us to address areas of concern.

Please contact me directly with your stay details as I would like to provide you with a detailed response.

We look forward to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Stayed here during the NZFW, the location was great and walking distance to the viaduct event center. The Valet service was great didn't have to worry about parking my car anywhere, car was ready for me in the morning. Gym facilities are just superb including a lap pool and spa. Grasshopper Thai restaurant is delicious ( and no need to walk out anywhere, entrance is from hotel) . Also a good range of breakfast meals and a nice atmosphere. Everything was very clean in the room, however the TV didn't go! didn't mind as there was no time for tv watching - can do that at home. Staff was very helpful and polite.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Nata0419,

Thank your recent TripAdvisor review of Stamford Plaza Auckland.

I was pleased you found our staff, service and offering to exceed your expectations.

Please contact me directly with your stay details so that I can look into why the TV did not work during your stay.

We look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards,
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Thank you Stamford. Look after your employees they are truly an asset to your organisation. The service was outstanding. I do hope those at the frontline of your organisation are well compensated for their genuine efforts to enhance the reputation of the Stamford Hotel. Once the rooms have been refurbished I do believe the Stamford will be the complete 5 star package. The Stamford is now my choice of accommodation in Auckland. I look forward to returning to experience the Stamford service in conjunction with the refurbished rooms in the near future.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebel6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Rebel6

Thank you for your review of Stamford Plaza Auckland. I was pleased to read you had an excellent stay with us and have rated our staff so highly.
I have shared your feedback with our team.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stamford Plaza is amazing! A beautiful hotel, central location, and absolutely stellar service. Was blown away by the attentiveness of the staff from the moment I came in the door-- actually before that when they whisked my bags away for me when I arrived.

At one point, I needed to run an errand nearby. Staff called out to me BY NAME, and escorted me to my destination. Just above and beyond.

Food was good, room was clean and pleasant, and I highly recommend this hotel to any Auckland travelers!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caitlin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Caitlin E,

Thank you for your reiview of Stamford Plaza Auckland.

I am very pleased your stay exceeded your expectations and we look forward to welcome you back.

I have ensured your feedback has been shared with the rest of our team.

Best regards,
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResearchTraveller
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Spent only a single night here while travelling with a friend. Thought it would be fun to have a city centre hotel with a pool to chill out in before going out. SP is a lot like other city centre hotels I've experienced before - the character is all in the lobby and once you're out of the lift, it's the same endless corridors and very smart but generically decorated room. That said, the views are good from a lot of windows, our room was extremely clean and comfortable, and a bit smarter than other hotels have been, particularly the bathroom. The staff were really helpful, the location is great and there was almost no road noise in our room. So we got a great nights swim. The pool and fitness suite are pretty good, although the spa tub is a bit lacking in gusto. Really annoying that you have to pay for wifi. I don't see why this can't be free these days, as we are not all business people with expenses accounts. Nice to have real milk for coffee! Didn't try the breakfast. In all, it's just what you expect from an inner city four star - won't blow you away with originality or style, but very comfy, clean and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ResearchTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear ResearcherTraveller,

Thank you for your recent review, I am pleased you had a good experience and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards,
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,469 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,752 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Auckland

Property: Stamford Plaza Auckland
Address: 22 - 26 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Auckland
#13 Business Hotel in Auckland
#13 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-class luxury in the heart of the city, just minutes away from the harbour and viaduct. Please note that construction on the city rail link project is underway on Albert St. Stamford Plaza Auckland remains accessible to vehicles and pedestrians, all day, every day. Albert St remains open in both directions throughout the CRL upgrade. However it is limited to one way in each direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Stamford Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Stamford Plaza Hotel Auckland
Auckland Stamford Plaza Hotel
Stamford Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing