We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Ranked #14 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

What a lovely hotel. Great big room. Lovely staff. Beautiful pool and spa. Nothing was too hard for the staff at the Stamford. We arrived early, 9am, but were able to check in which was brilliant. When it was raining they lent us an umbrella. After we checked out they looked after our bags all day. The cocktails were delicious and the okonomiyaki (Japanese pancake) at the bar was as good as we'd had in Tokyo. Definitely stay here again. Thanks.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Erin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Erin J

Thank you for your recent TripAdvisor review and for choosing Stamford Plaza Auckland.

Your complimentary comments have been shared with our team.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    869
    709
    272
    102
    64
See reviews for
241
896
123
501
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I booked a couple of nights at the Stamford Plaza on Albert Street Auckland for our wedding anniversary. Great room, kingsize bed which was oh so comfortable, great pool and spa and excellent breakfast. Close to the waterfront, where we took the ferry to Devonport and had fish and chips on the beach. Definately recommend and will be going back.

Room Tip: Look out for online deals where you can upsize your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Gail Linda N

Thank you for your recent TripAdvisor review and for choosing Stamford Plaza Auckland.

Happy Anniversary with the compliments of our team.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed at the Stamford Plaza on a recent trip to NZ. We were in Auckland for 2 nights upon arriving. The Stamford Plaza's lobby has the old elegance you might expect from an American hotel such as The Waldorf Astoria. However, the rooms and halls were very dated in terms of design and decor. The bathrooms were oversized with plenty of room for an entire family to comfortably get ready in the morning. While the accomodations were just so-so, the service was fantastic. We didn't plan too much in advance of our travels. We hoped that we could book a car upon arriving. Little did we know the summer culture of every Kiwi during Christmas was to do the same. We were unable to get a car (which I thought was going to ruin our entire vacation). However, the concierge on duty during our debacle was extremely resourceful and helpful in re-evaluating our plans for the next two weeks. Now, I know you're thinking that this is the job of the concierge. But, Arie helped with so much more. He literally redesigned our entire vacation to ensure that we had the transportation and accommodation necessary to see the best parts of both the North and South islands. He spent a few hours acting more as a travel agent than a concierge. This kind of service is what should keep people coming back. How much time do you spend in the room anyway?

As for location, it's great. The CBD has plenty of great coffee shops, bars and restaurants. We took a lovely morning run along the harbor, which is just a couple of minutes from the hotel. There's also great shopping nearby, including a luxury shopping gallery right next door.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Amanda W

Thank you for your recent TripAdvisor review and for choosing Stamford Plaza Auckland.

I am very pleased our Concierge Arie assisted with arranging your journey and holiday in New Zealand. I have ensured your feedback has been shared with the rest of our team.

Stamford Plaza Auckland commences our room upgrade programme in April and we look forward to welcoming you back soon in one of our redesigned rooms.

Best regards,

Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed two nights in this hotel and were very happy with the service and the facilities. We used the pool and gym on both days and also enjoyed the breakfast buffet. We couldn't a fault with any of it. The location is also very convenient, as it's only a couple of blocks away from the Sky Tower and from the waterfront where there are plenty of bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RusoAusTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear RusoAusTravler

Thank you for your recent Trip Advisor review and for choosing Stamford Plaza Auckland.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My husband and I are staying in the Stamford Plaza Auckland. This is our third night. It has comfortable, clean and large rooms. Great bathroom and comfortable bed. Good position, close to the wharf, CBD and transport.
Sadly for the hotel, there is a very noisy night club across the road in Albert Street that has been intrusively audible until 4am in the morning. So much so that we asked to be moved at 2.30am on our first night (Friday night).

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does NOT face Albert Street. The night club is very noisy until 4.00am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilhelminaCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear WilhelminaCanberra,

Thank you for your recent Trip Advisor review and for choosing Stamford Plaza Auckland.

Sincere apologies for the noise disturbance caused by the neighbouring bar, we have alerted the authorities as we deal to solve this issue.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed in room 925 for 2 nights 3rd to 5th of Jan. King size bed has a dipp in the middle which meant we rolled into the middle. Buffett breakfast terrible, cold porridge, poorly organised, staff constantly dropping cutlery on the floor and not having rewashed. Bacon dry and very fatty. On the second day tea bags not replaced nor soap. The bathroom has a rusty towel rack and the tiles on the floor are all rusty from it. Room was not ready on time either. At best 4 Stars.

Room Tip: None don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoanneDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear JoanneDown,

Sincere apologies for the lack of experience on your recent stay with us.

I will be contacting you directly with a detailed response.

Best regards,
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Two things make this hotel stand out! Location and the outstanding young man who managed the valet parking, unfortunately I can't remember his name. The location is perfect, it is close to the Viaduct and all other amenities. The valet guys in General were immensely helpful, courteous and very efficient. The rooms were ok.... Decor is a little dated, however roomy and comfortable. We really enjoyed our two nights in Auckland!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DiverTina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear DiverTina

Thank you for your recent TripAdvisor review and for choosing Stamford Plaza Auckland.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,469 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,752 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Auckland

Property: Stamford Plaza Auckland
Address: 22 - 26 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Auckland
#13 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#13 Business Hotel in Auckland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-class luxury in the heart of the city, just minutes away from the harbour and viaduct. Please note that construction on the city rail link project is underway on Albert St. Stamford Plaza Auckland remains accessible to vehicles and pedestrians, all day, every day. Albert St remains open in both directions throughout the CRL upgrade. However it is limited to one way in each direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Stamford Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Stamford Plaza Hotel Auckland
Auckland Stamford Plaza Hotel
Stamford Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing